We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (636)
Filter reviews
636 results
Traveller rating
234
232
91
35
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
234
232
91
35
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews samir fayek barrel bar british officers agatha christie faded elegance ancient elevator egyptian museum unique hotel metro stop call to prayer breakfast room tour operator heart of downtown doss switchboard alfi schindler
Filter
Updating list...
336 - 341 of 636 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2010

In Cairo Downtown in a calm small street there the "Windsor" is located. Surrounded by numerous tea-houses and shisha-bars mostly visited by Egyptians, the Windsor is an island in time and space. Entering through the more than 100 years old elevator the dark wooden wainscot and dimmed light transfers the visitor back to the beginning of the 20th century. The rooms are also in that style and unfortunatly the beds also seem to be the first set. The bar is well equipped and the drinks always cool. The meals are sometimes a little bit small for the hungry one, but of good quality. The waiters are of thier own old-english quality - one of them was the "Mister Egypt 1957 and 1958" in Bodybuilding and today looks in good shape and, like all the personnel, very friendly. It´s a house where I love to have some drinks with friends when we returned from our desert trips. It´s really worth to come here!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaddesCGN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2010

No for those looking for international hotel chain standards and facilities but an excellent historic period piece.

Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank M33Minerva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2010

The windsor hotel is like a step back in time, absolutely fantastic and full of charm. Samir was amazing, he organised my airport collection, booked my room and arranged my guided trip to Giza which was excellent. The hotel is perfectly located 10 minutes walk from the Egyptian museum and the nile and has a lovely restaurant and bar. The staff were so helpful and nice. Had a very nice stay here.

Lynsey

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynsey_fitzpatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2010

Cairo is one of the biggest cities in the world so it is importent to get a hotel which is near the city or near the sites / places you want to visit. Windsor is centrally located and my wife and I had planned to go for a dinner cruise on the Nile pharoh, for that it was very conviently located.

The hotel itself, like most things in Egypt is quite old. It has a great history though. In the restraunt was partially burnt down a couple decades ago and was rebuilt.

The owners of the hotels are very nice people, I had around $3,000 dollars with me and didnt want to carry it around Egypt so left it with them. They were very friendly, which is a very rare occurence in Egypt.

I paid $60 dollars per night, i'm a cheapskate and really looked around for the best value hotel. Hotels genrally are quite expensive in Egypt, so this one was worth it.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muruh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2010

The Windsor is a gem of a hotel, located in downtown Cairo in the heart of things. Very 1930s era with beautifully maintained period furniture and an antique (and working) lift and switch board system. The bar is very atmospheric and reminds one of the glamour days of old-fashioned travel.

The staff are very attentive and helpful. The desk staff in particular are very professional and efficient about handling any and all traveller problems and go out of their way to make the stay a comfortable and hassle-free one. Mr. Samir arranged a tour of Giza and then refunded the money when one of us got sick at the last minute, without us even asking. Mr. Erian was endlessly patient in arranging all our various travel itineraries and answering endless questions. The guide provided for Giza, Ms. Lydia was also really committed and I would recommend her.

The hotel provides good old fashioned service with endless charm. It was a real pleasure to stay there.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NanJ_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews