We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renovate This Hotel, Please!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Windsor Hotel Cairo
Ranked #24 of 143 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2010

Let me first say the service at this hotel was excellent: From the Tourist Policeman, to the front desk staff, the barman, the servers and the housekeepers - all of them were great. The free wifi worked well. The main problem we saw was the facility itself.

"Faded Glory" - right! Make that "Worn Out". Everything here, from the creaky elevator, to the boilers (both of which gave up the ghost shortly before we arrived, and were not put back into service until 56 hours after we arrived - given this was our first stop, we went 80 hours between hot showers), to the AC (knobless, can't read the nameplate veteran that it is - should you really have to call the front desk if you want to adjust the temperature?) needs replacing.

I saw the word "calm" used to describe the surroundings in one review; that must have been a different Windsor than we encountered. Our Windsor was surrounded by all manner of cacaphonous noise at night: I could swear the Calls to Prayer were issuing from within the hotel (no disrespect intended); not to mention the clanging of garbage container lids and doors, and perish the thought Cairo drivers should use their horns less than their brakes. I believe this is the noisiest hotel in which I've ever attempted to sleep.

Then there are the aging British Army Officer cots: Combine "board" and "half pipe" and you'll be close. They definitely need new beds and new mattresses here.

We paid about $75 per night, to include the meager continental breakfast (featuring yesterday's Fruit of the Day ground into juice - cheese omelets were extra at 22.50LE per copy). For downtown Cairo, that's probably not bad.

Know before you go.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ferd62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (607)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

317 - 321 of 607 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2010

In Cairo Downtown in a calm small street there the "Windsor" is located. Surrounded by numerous tea-houses and shisha-bars mostly visited by Egyptians, the Windsor is an island in time and space. Entering through the more than 100 years old elevator the dark wooden wainscot and dimmed light transfers the visitor back to the beginning of the 20th century. The rooms are also in that style and unfortunatly the beds also seem to be the first set. The bar is well equipped and the drinks always cool. The meals are sometimes a little bit small for the hungry one, but of good quality. The waiters are of thier own old-english quality - one of them was the "Mister Egypt 1957 and 1958" in Bodybuilding and today looks in good shape and, like all the personnel, very friendly. It´s a house where I love to have some drinks with friends when we returned from our desert trips. It´s really worth to come here!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaddesCGN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2010

No for those looking for international hotel chain standards and facilities but an excellent historic period piece.

Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank M33Minerva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2010

The windsor hotel is like a step back in time, absolutely fantastic and full of charm. Samir was amazing, he organised my airport collection, booked my room and arranged my guided trip to Giza which was excellent. The hotel is perfectly located 10 minutes walk from the Egyptian museum and the nile and has a lovely restaurant and bar. The staff were so helpful and nice. Had a very nice stay here.

Lynsey

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynsey_fitzpatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2010

Cairo is one of the biggest cities in the world so it is importent to get a hotel which is near the city or near the sites / places you want to visit. Windsor is centrally located and my wife and I had planned to go for a dinner cruise on the Nile pharoh, for that it was very conviently located.

The hotel itself, like most things in Egypt is quite old. It has a great history though. In the restraunt was partially burnt down a couple decades ago and was rebuilt.

The owners of the hotels are very nice people, I had around $3,000 dollars with me and didnt want to carry it around Egypt so left it with them. They were very friendly, which is a very rare occurence in Egypt.

I paid $60 dollars per night, i'm a cheapskate and really looked around for the best value hotel. Hotels genrally are quite expensive in Egypt, so this one was worth it.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muruh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
1.3 km away
City View Hotel
City View Hotel
#27 of 143 in Cairo
342 reviews
1.3 km away
Osiris Hotel
Osiris Hotel
#31 of 143 in Cairo
403 reviews
9 km away
Baron Hotel Heliopolis Cairo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#86 of 143 in Cairo
142 reviews
1 km away
Hotel Grand Royal
Hotel Grand Royal
#40 of 143 in Cairo
259 reviews
0.3 km away
Paradise Boutique Hotel
Paradise Boutique Hotel
#41 of 143 in Cairo
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Hotel Cairo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Hotel Cairo

Address: 19 Alfi Bey Street, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Cairo
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#18 Business Hotel in Cairo
Price Range: €27 - €46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Windsor Hotel Cairo 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Windsor Hotel Cairo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairo Windsor Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing