We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Bar in Town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Windsor Hotel Cairo
Ranked #24 of 143 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 December 2009

Dark parquet floors, French doors, polstered sofas and deep armchairs - the Barrel Bar welcomes and intrigues. It offers free internet connection, Egyptian wine and cuisine, a British colonial ambiance, while posting a Boston College pennant on the wall.....

The rooms, at least the ones I have stayed in - ALL with a small wooden porch facing the street cafe are pleasant and clean . So are the beds and the towels . True it can be noisy, if you choose to sleep with the doors open - as I did. And the ancient bathrooms can use a shape up, but for the price the hotel location and the services are wonderful.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MISUBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (607)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

397 - 401 of 607 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2009

We stayed here for 3 days and we had a great time. The hotel was clean, the staff was very friendly, and the location was very central (only 15 min walk to the Egyptian museum). Whenever we needed anything, from keeping our luggage at the hotel, to restaurant recommendations, to what we should be paying for things, the staff was ready to assist us. In particular, Samir Fayek was extremely helpful. He gave us great recommendations when we went to Alexandria and was very helpful whenever we needed anything.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dudeman127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2009

We just got back from three days in Cairo and it was amazing. The Windsor Hotel is a charming, older hotel set in an authentic Egyptian neighborhood away from all the tourist traps around the Nile. You can literally walk around for hours eating at the Egyptian restaurants and smoking hookah without seeing a single Westerner. Our Tour Guide while we were there was Samir Fayek and I would highly recommend him. As college students, he understood that we had a tight budget but Samir still showed us everything we wanted to seeing in Egypt. We saw a mosque in the Dead City, rode camels around the Pyramids at Giza, went through the Egyptian History Museum and much more. Overall great stay!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travler51051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2009

This hotel is amazing. It's ancient, yet still caters to the modern traveler.
Unlike other hotels that are situated on the edges of town, this one puts you right in the heart of it all.
The staff is very friendly, great service.

We hired a tour guide for our trip named Samir Fayek. He put together an absolutely fantastic trip and made sure we were happy at every moment. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fluffothesheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2009

This was my first time of staying at the Windsor Hotel after using a number of hotels in Cairo and I won't be going any where else. To me this is what a hotel should be about. Friendly, effecient service, helpful staff and a bar with great atmosphere. Is it as clean a stuffy five star hotel; of course not. Stay in the Marriot etc if you want a spotless room in a hotel with the atmosphere of a morgue. If you really want to experience Egyptian hospitality, go to an Egyptian run hotel. Mr Phillipe provides an excellent driver service, should this be required. My drive was also extremely polite and so patient when meetings dragged on. Enjoy the Hotel, enjoy the bar, then step outside and enjoy Cairo

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
1.3 km away
City View Hotel
City View Hotel
#27 of 143 in Cairo
342 reviews
1.3 km away
Osiris Hotel
Osiris Hotel
#31 of 143 in Cairo
403 reviews
9 km away
Baron Hotel Heliopolis Cairo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#86 of 143 in Cairo
142 reviews
1 km away
Hotel Grand Royal
Hotel Grand Royal
#40 of 143 in Cairo
259 reviews
0.3 km away
Paradise Boutique Hotel
Paradise Boutique Hotel
#41 of 143 in Cairo
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Hotel Cairo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Hotel Cairo

Address: 19 Alfi Bey Street, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Cairo
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#18 Business Hotel in Cairo
Price Range: €26 - €46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Windsor Hotel Cairo 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Windsor Hotel Cairo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairo Windsor Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing