We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Book now, pay at stay
US$146
Renaissance Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
City View Hotel(Cairo)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$45
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Osiris Hotel(Cairo)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$27
US$24
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$249
US$180
Sofitel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$214/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Grand Royal(Cairo)(Great Value!)
US$48
US$42
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo(Cairo)
US$254
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$152
US$147
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$331
US$246
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$307/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (632)
Filter reviews
632 results
Traveller rating
231
232
90
35
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
231
232
90
35
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssamir fayekbarrel barbritish officersagatha christiefaded eleganceancient elevatoregyptian museumunique hotelbreakfast roommetro stopcall to prayerhotel ownerkhan eltour operatorheart of downtowntahrir squaredoss
Filter
Updating list...
282 - 287 of 632 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2011

A hotel with character, history and full of friendly staff, an all-day bar (so rare) at a good price in central Cairo that's three minutes away from a metro station and a bunch of bank ATMs - if you're not looking to stay 4*/5*, what more do you want?

This is where Michael Palin stayed whilst filming in Cairo for his original Around the World in 80 days TV series. There's a signed photo of the man in the lobby (but personally I think they should make more of a marketing deal of the fact).

Staff were very helpful, offering advice on where to go and what to do in Cairo. Ask for Samir for tours to the local sites and procurement of train tickets.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wodow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

This historic,clean hotel is well located in Downtown Cairo. It is being refurbished while keeping the ambiance of its history. Staff is thoughtful and professional. The rooms are very affordable and include a good breakfast (2 kinds of fruit, juice, several fresh breads, etc). The lower floor rooms are spacious; some have wifi. The top floor rooms, where I stayed are fine, no wifi, and a bit less expensive. Water pressure was excellent. The lounge is a wonderful peaceful oasis (with wifi). There is a small business center with internet access and copier. 2 blocks from the Ataba metro stop, many cabs available, within walking or short cab ride of many restaurants. Egypt is safe. Go!

Room Tip: If you want wifi in your room, book 1st floor room and confirm wifi access.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annegw200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

This hotel has character and atmosphere like no other that I know in this wonderful, sometimes frantic, endlessly fascinating city. I first stayed at the Windsor a couple of years ago on a work trip. My hosts wanted to book me into an international hotel in Heliopolis. But I wanted somewhere more central and that did not fit the generic, formulaic hotel model and so made my own arrangements and stayed at the Windsor. I loved it and having decided to take a family holiday in Egypt including an initial 5 nights in Cairo, there was only one place I wanted us to stay.

As on my previous visit I booked a "deluxe room", they are spacious, clean, have old furniture, wooden floors and just have a homely, relaxing and rather timeless feel to them - yes, they are not pristine but what you lose in a bit of wear and tear, you gain in so many other ways. Of course, the famous barrel bar oozes atmosphere and is somewhere we always looked forward to spending a little time in at the end of a long day. The breakfast room was always a pleasant place to start the day and the food plentiful and of reasonable quality.

The staff are very friendly and could not have been more welcoming. From the first moments "welcome back to the Windsor, sir", to the fond farewell, everyone was personable and very warm. And, of course, my 9 years old daughter was treated with extra care and attention. From the refined gentleman who owns the hotel, through the manager, front desk staff, the room cleaner and not forgetting, the wonderful ladies at breakfast all were civil, polite and hospitable.

Airport transfers are reliable and we arranged one trip through the front desk to wonderful Saqqara and Dashur (Samir or his colleagues provide a good and fairly priced service).

Just one other thought, I did notice that a few guests appeared to come with a rather "defensive" attitude - which perhaps if they had had bad experiences elsewhere is excusable. But it's a shame and one of the charms of this hotel is that the staff are very decent people and trustworthy and goodwill, respect and a few deserved tips will be more than returned in helpfulness and care.

So if you dont' mind not having all the mod cons (though wifi works well!) and are tolerant of "imperfections" but want to stay somewhere steeped in history and that helps you feel that you are living in Cairo (which is why you came in the first place, right?), you will probably love the Windsor as much as we did!

Room Tip: higher rooms are probably a bit quieter
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon-UKCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

There are a lot of negative reviews on the Windsor and granted, it isn't the Marriot. But the fact of the matter is that down to the telephones and the old framed travel posters of the White Star line ships, they haven't changed a thing and there is something to be said for that in a world where everything gets updated to a generic decor that could be anywhere. Add to that an incredibly helpful and friendly staff, and this place is a gem. The first thing they said when I walked in the door was: "This is your home in Cairo." and that's how it felt. As for the particulars, beds were comfortable, sheets clean, a/c worked fine, enough hot water, towels clean. They are remodeling some of the rooms. Don't expect new furniture, I doubt they would do that, but the floors and carpets are getting done and they are scraping and painting earnestly during this downtime in the tourist season. Old buildings don't survive without support. A stay at the Windsor is a step back in time, and a vote for preservation of beautiful places. And the Barrel Bar is as good as it gets!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank providenceTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

I Stayed there for a week, The Windsor Hotel is well-situated in downtown Cairo, Location was good, several points of interest are within walking distance. on the second day I walked to the Egyptian Museum and strolled around Tahrir Square.
the staff of the Windsor was Great, particularly Samir Fayek. we took a 1 day tour to Saqqara and Giza that was arranged by Samir. We really appreciated the quality of guide provided, Mina was our Guide, He was great, so friendly, very cultured & knowledgeable.
I decided to check out the bar and restaurant. The food was absolutely delicious and nutritous.
It feels like staying with friends. It is a wonderful place. I would wholeheartedly recommend the Windsor friends and family.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Resina255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews