We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique, without trying too hard to be so”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Windsor Hotel Cairo
Ranked #24 of 144 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2011

Whenever I go to Cairo, I always stay at Windsor. It is situated a bit away from the rest of the hotels and is perfect if you want to live in a more popular area but still central. With its quirky elevator, high ceilings, decayed furniture and original switchboard it feels very authentic and boutique but without trying too hard to be so. Make sure you get a room with a balcony onto the quite backstreet so that you have the clatter of backgammon bricks as your background noice. The real gem, though, is the staff, which is genuinely friendly and begins to feel like family once you’ve stayed there a while.

Please visit Egypt these days and support the revolution. Its safe, more welcoming to foreigners than ever, and you have a unique chance of visiting all the historic sites without being in a swarm of tourists.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rasmus_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (608)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

277 - 281 of 608 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2011

Since many years I come with German friend (teachers and family members) to Cairo - and stay at the WINDSOR Hotel for the period of 14 days. In the Moloch of Cairo you need a place to calm down every day and to feel safe. Mr. Wafik Doss and Mr. Wasfi Doss and all the staff of their Hotel provide us with all convenience. Insha'Allah we will come again next October with another group of German and American friends.- All rooms are clean. Beds are comfortable. Renovations of several room are progressing rapidly: new bathrooms, new floor covering (wood instead of fitted carpet)...

Room Tip: Ask the receptionist !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drgunterMoers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2011

We stayed for three nights and really loved it. The rooms are plain and unexciting but clean - and ours had twin beds - if that matters to you. But the hotel is utterly charming with a really strong 19th Century vibe. The elevator looks like it has walked straight out of an Agatha Christie Novel - with an attendant to match. It also has a great lobby/dining room with WiFi and a wonderful bar - where you can comfortably hang out read a book.

The hotel staff were also super friendly and organised any trips we wanted easily, cheaply and with little fuss. The day we had visiting the sites was great fun and very good value for money and the guide - Mina - was very friendly and informative without being obtrusive.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grwelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2011

This hotel is resting on its laurels and sorely lacks upkeep and investment. Although the Barrel Bar is well-kept and charming, the rest of the hotel is quite shabby and grubby. We were given the hard-sell on tours as soon as we checked in by the reception staff and told we had to make our minds up within half an hour about them. I felt the staff became markedly less friendly when we didn't sign on to their tours. Of the two rooms we were shown, neither had a proper ensuite bathroom, but rather enclosures - one with a folding screen instead of a door and the other ("deluxe") with walls not reaching the ceiling. The breakfast was adequate (bread, sweetened orange drink and Nescafe) but not particularly fresh, and it seemed cheap to charge extra for eggs. Overall this would be okay for a low-budget option but not remotely worth the money for a mid-range hotel. It's a shame because with some care and upkeep it has the potential to be a really lovely old-fashioned hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 186338Catherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2011

I can see the potential in an old ornate building that the Windsor occupies, but the existing conditions are fairly decrepit. We upgraded to a large room but the conditions were pretty vintage. Our two windows overlooked lots full of trash and the call to prayer speaker seemed to be directly across from our less than soundproof window. Our bed (actually two separate small twins) was tiny and one of the most uncomfortable I remember at a hotel. The antique furniture would have appeal (other than the bed) if restored. The bathroom was large but in need of renovation with paint peeling off the wall next to the shower.

The service was very attentive and helpful. A staff member walked us to a local restaurant and even ironed a shirt of mine. I can't say the same about the service at the bar where the entire staff seemed more concerned with watching a television show than taking our order. The breakfast was pretty bad as well - in fact I took a pass on most items after noticing the tablecloth full of old food and hair.

The location is near the busy downtown shopping district but at first sight the immediate location may appear somewhat intimidating. It appears that reviewers either love or hate this hotel but next time we would opt for a more modern option in Cairo.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rjc260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
1.3 km away
City View Hotel
City View Hotel
#27 of 144 in Cairo
342 reviews
1.3 km away
Osiris Hotel
Osiris Hotel
#31 of 144 in Cairo
404 reviews
1 km away
Hotel Grand Royal
Hotel Grand Royal
#41 of 144 in Cairo
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9 km away
Baron Hotel Heliopolis Cairo
0.7 km away
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#83 of 144 in Cairo
142 reviews
0.3 km away
Paradise Boutique Hotel
Paradise Boutique Hotel
#40 of 144 in Cairo
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Hotel Cairo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Hotel Cairo

Address: 19 Alfi Bey Street, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Cairo
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#18 Business Hotel in Cairo
Price Range: €27 - €48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Windsor Hotel Cairo 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Windsor Hotel Cairo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairo Windsor Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing