We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Book now, pay at stay
US$146
Renaissance Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
City View Hotel(Cairo)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$45
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Osiris Hotel(Cairo)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$27
US$24
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$203
US$180
Sofitel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$212/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Grand Royal(Cairo)(Great Value!)
US$48
US$42
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo(Cairo)
US$221
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$152
US$132
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$296
US$230
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$288/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (632)
Filter reviews
632 results
Traveller rating
231
232
90
35
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
231
232
90
35
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssamir fayekbarrel barbritish officersagatha christiefaded eleganceancient elevatoregyptian museumunique hotelbreakfast roommetro stopcall to prayerhotel ownerkhan eltour operatorheart of downtowntahrir squaredoss
Filter
Updating list...
291 - 296 of 632 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2011

Since many years I come with German friend (teachers and family members) to Cairo - and stay at the WINDSOR Hotel for the period of 14 days. In the Moloch of Cairo you need a place to calm down every day and to feel safe. Mr. Wafik Doss and Mr. Wasfi Doss and all the staff of their Hotel provide us with all convenience. Insha'Allah we will come again next October with another group of German and American friends.- All rooms are clean. Beds are comfortable. Renovations of several room are progressing rapidly: new bathrooms, new floor covering (wood instead of fitted carpet)...

Room Tip: Ask the receptionist !
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drgunterMoers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2011

We stayed for three nights and really loved it. The rooms are plain and unexciting but clean - and ours had twin beds - if that matters to you. But the hotel is utterly charming with a really strong 19th Century vibe. The elevator looks like it has walked straight out of an Agatha Christie Novel - with an attendant to match. It also has a great lobby/dining room with WiFi and a wonderful bar - where you can comfortably hang out read a book.

The hotel staff were also super friendly and organised any trips we wanted easily, cheaply and with little fuss. The day we had visiting the sites was great fun and very good value for money and the guide - Mina - was very friendly and informative without being obtrusive.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grwelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2011

This hotel is resting on its laurels and sorely lacks upkeep and investment. Although the Barrel Bar is well-kept and charming, the rest of the hotel is quite shabby and grubby. We were given the hard-sell on tours as soon as we checked in by the reception staff and told we had to make our minds up within half an hour about them. I felt the staff became markedly less friendly when we didn't sign on to their tours. Of the two rooms we were shown, neither had a proper ensuite bathroom, but rather enclosures - one with a folding screen instead of a door and the other ("deluxe") with walls not reaching the ceiling. The breakfast was adequate (bread, sweetened orange drink and Nescafe) but not particularly fresh, and it seemed cheap to charge extra for eggs. Overall this would be okay for a low-budget option but not remotely worth the money for a mid-range hotel. It's a shame because with some care and upkeep it has the potential to be a really lovely old-fashioned hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 186338Catherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2011

I can see the potential in an old ornate building that the Windsor occupies, but the existing conditions are fairly decrepit. We upgraded to a large room but the conditions were pretty vintage. Our two windows overlooked lots full of trash and the call to prayer speaker seemed to be directly across from our less than soundproof window. Our bed (actually two separate small twins) was tiny and one of the most uncomfortable I remember at a hotel. The antique furniture would have appeal (other than the bed) if restored. The bathroom was large but in need of renovation with paint peeling off the wall next to the shower.

The service was very attentive and helpful. A staff member walked us to a local restaurant and even ironed a shirt of mine. I can't say the same about the service at the bar where the entire staff seemed more concerned with watching a television show than taking our order. The breakfast was pretty bad as well - in fact I took a pass on most items after noticing the tablecloth full of old food and hair.

The location is near the busy downtown shopping district but at first sight the immediate location may appear somewhat intimidating. It appears that reviewers either love or hate this hotel but next time we would opt for a more modern option in Cairo.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rjc260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2011

This is my third trip to Cairo for business this year. The first time I stayed in Zamalek and thought it was pretty much like every other ex pat neighbourhood in any city in the world. I opted for the Windsor on the recommendation of a friend and have loved it. It's a wonderful family-owned hotel with a manager who cares if you're getting the service you need, and a staff that is always friendly and helpful and remembers your name. I have a deluxe room which is huge, with big shuttered windows, wooden floor and antique furniture. The decor is not fashionable vintage but authentic. The whole place has that feel. Authentic. The bar especially.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elizjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews