We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A great hotel in a 'real' part of Seoul” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Seongbuk Seoul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Seongbuk Seoul
Ranked #123 of 459 Hotels in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
South East England
Level Contributor
67 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“A great hotel in a 'real' part of Seoul”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2010

Having read some good reports on this hotel we decided to book it through Expedia. How pleased we were!

The hotel is situated in the North Eastern suburbs of Seoul. It looks quite a hike to the main tourist areas but they are really easily accessible. As soon as possible purchase yourself a TMoney ticket and charge it up (card available at the little shop in the subway station then use the machines to add cash to it). This is similar to a London Oyster card and can then be used on all the subways, city buses and some taxis. The hotel is three bus stops away from a subway station. Buses run up and down constantly, no probs there. The subway network is super with announcements and signage in English. The real benefit of the hotel vicinity is its so much more ‘proper’ Korean than the tourist areas. There are loads of little shops and restaurants around. The Koreans are amazingly helpful so it’s easy to be adventurous and try shopping and eating as the Koreans do. We saw hardly any Westerners in the area (other than in the hotel) which was just what we wanted. It’s a great place just to wander around and see how Seoulites live. Unlike some British cities, you are unlikely to feel threatened in any way, even late at night. Taxis are readily available if you prefer not to use public transport.

Our hotel room was very good indeed. Beautifully clean and comfortable. Immaculate crisp white bedding. Excellent soundproofing. Super bathroom with state of the art toilet. Small fridge which was stocked with complimentary water. Tea making. Internet access. Satellite TV. Self operated air conditioning/heating.

Without exception, staff at the hotel were really great. OK their English may not be perfect but they went to great efforts to help when help was needed. If they noted anything that might help us, then it got done even without asking. When we did ask for something and they said they would action it, that gone done as well. There was a perfect mix of friendliness and efficiency.

The Airport limousine bus stops across the road coming from the airport (there is a traffic light controlled pedestrian crossing right by the stop) and outside the hotel for the return journey. Airport buses come at about 20 minute intervals but the hotel will give you the timetable.

I would most definitely use this hotel again without hesitation. Don’t use it if you like to be in the centre of up market tourism land, if you want a taste of the real Seoul based in a superb hotel, don’t wait book it now!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnnieB08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    124
    36
    5
    1
See reviews for
39
47
41
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2010

I chose to stay at Holiday Inn Seongbuk, since I have some Priority Club Rewards points to be redeemed. I must say the service at Holiday Inn was marvellous! Being a Priority Club member, I had the privilege to request for early check-in (depending on availability), and guess what? I reached the hotel at about 9am to find that my key was already prepared for me! I just needed to hand in my passport for verification and I was shown to my room within minutes. Bravo!

You know what is impressive at the hotel? There was a PC for us to go online for free! So awesome right?

Even the toilet bowl was so high-tech! So many functions available other than just the normal flushing. There was cleaning function and even massage function!

The only gripe I had with Holiday Inn Seongbuk was the distance from the subway. It was at least 20 minutes walk away, which could be really tiring especially after a day out.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iamthewitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2010

I stayed in that hotel 2 nights during my trip to South Korea and it was so clean and practical, as well as perfectly located. Lovely staff who had basic English, enough to communicate easily. We didn't sleep too well because we could not control the A/C which was going full blast. The setting is not managed by yourself as a room occupier, and we were cold. We got blankets from the reception desk so it helped a bit. Maybe by now they have this sorted out. Nothing fancy (food just regular, no special facilities, etc) but clean, friendly and well located on a reasonable budget.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClemFR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2010

I was very impressed with the service at this hotel - the staff were extremely friendly and went out of their way to help us organise our itinerary, and gave us great advice on restaurants and places to visit on our extremely limited stay in Seoul. We were very pleased with the service, and the breakfast buffet was quite good. I would stay here again should I ever return to Seoul.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyChocolateGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
74 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2010

Stayed here twice, both times upgraded to corner suite (PC Platinum member). Service here is excellent, one of the best. Location may be the only downside. Airport bus stops outside the hotel. Local bus links to the subway. The hotel's own website gives very good information on how to reach the hotel - much better than the info on the Holiday Inn chain website. Despite not being downtown I would stay here again should I return to Seoul.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tobegold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Benikea Hotel KP
#155 of 459 in Seoul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Samseongdong / COEX
Grand InterContinental Seoul Parnas
Shilla Stay Seodaemun
#93 of 459 in Seoul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Seongbuk Seoul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Seongbuk Seoul

Property: Holiday Inn Seongbuk Seoul
Address: 3-1343 Jongam-dong, Seonbuk-gu, Seoul 136-090, South Korea
Phone Number:
Region: South Korea > Seoul
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Business Hotel in Seoul
#68 Luxury Hotel in Seoul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Seongbuk Seoul 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Seongbuk hotel is an excellent location for providing easy access to all areas of the city. It is the only international hotel in both eastern and northern Seoul. Within 5 km from the hotel, there are 15 major universities and 7 national institutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Seongbuk Seoul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Seongbuk Hotel Seoul
Holiday Inn Seoul
Seoul Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing