We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“can't go wrong with ann guesthouse”
Review of Ann Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seoul
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ann Guesthouse
Ranked #62 of 580 Speciality Lodging in Seoul
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“can't go wrong with ann guesthouse”
Reviewed 22 May 2011

Stayed here for 8 nights, and what a great 8 nights it was!

The rooms were very clean and spacious enough to fit in 8 of us (at times, 10), the beds were comfortable, the location was excellent (right smack on the inner circle line 2) and so accessible by train or bus from Incheon Airport. There's free wifi/computer to use in the room, and Ann supplies bread for you to toast if you so wish.

The only drawback I can see is that there's one bathroom shared between everyone in the room, so if your room is at full capacity, you might have to time your showers strategically. But if you're looking for something affordable, no-frills, and you don't mind sharing with and meeting other travelers, this is the place for you.

Tip to all: when traveling by train from the airport to Hongik Univ Station, I'd recommend exiting by exit 2 instead as there are escalators there (exit 1 is a flight of stairs). Come out of exit 2, walk in the direction against traffic to find the Dunkin Donuts, and that's your building.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank insideaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    22
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
4
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2011

Spent two nights at Ann's, would have stayed longer but a friend with a spare room insisted I should stay at their house.

Rooms are clean. Breakfast, adequate. One setback is that if the dorm rooms are full (ie eight pax), the one bathroom/toilet gets used very regularly and you had better time yourself right should nature calls!

Other than that, I was totally pleased as Punch. Location is perfect. Easy to get to/from Incheon or Gimpo.

Lots to do/see/eat just across the main road and if you're an urban animal, you'll fit right in.

And oh, the other dorm roomies are mostly friendly too.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carpediem1605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2011

I booked Ann's dormitory for my brother-in-law, who has his own standard for accommodation, and we were both blown away by this Seoul's best kept guesthouse secret.

Firstly, you couldn't get any location better this - right smack near the main roads, bus stations (easy access for airport limousine) and subway station (Line 2 is the circle subway line, a prime line in Seoul). The nearest station - very, very near in fact - Hongik University stations now also has access to Airport Express Service (AREX) so that's a +1 for public transport accessibility.

Second, easy access to entertainment, cool cafes/bakeries, and other unique food establishments. I'm a resident of Seoul for 4 years and half and Hongik University area is definitely one of my favorite. Imagine wandering all those little cafes and eateries just few walks away from Ann's guesthouse, any time of the day at your comfort sans worries of having to commute with subway/bus.

Third, Ann is charming and her hospitality is a class of it's own. I originally booked a night of stay at Ann's but we were blown away by the room (modern, comfy and clean) and requested for 4 more nights. Ann quickly accommodates us but since her place is fully booked we only get 2 more extra nights, which is more than enough to recommend this guesthouse to everyone visiting Seoul.

I can't speak in details of the amenities since I didn't stay here, but my future guests is definitely staying here.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank tunaontrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2011

Stayed for 9 nights at Ann's. The room is airy, bright and very clean. Ann and her husband clean it every afternoon. There's free WIFI, free laundry service, fresh bread everyday. Centrally located, it's right above Hongik University underground station (no kidding!) and within walking distance to Hongdae's famed artistic neighborhood with evening street performances and happening club scene. I booked for 4 nights initially and was supposed to move to another guesthouse at Myeongdong area but decided to stay on for another 5 at Ann's. I will definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Always book early through Ann's official site!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jollyjunie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2011

It's our first time to Seoul & we just get more than what we expected during the trip with excellent stay! Location wise- to subway & airport & shopping! The room is clean and comfy! Laundry is free! PC is at every room and it's free to use! Bread, butter & jam for breakfast, coffee and green teas, drinking water are all there for you! I love Ann and her husband, they just so nice and friendly even we trouble them to walk up and down to check on the door lock ( this can be challenging for kids and senior citizens as it is password auto-style of lock)...Definitely and Absolutely, I will stay there if I visit Seoul again, very soon! :)

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NCNG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Hongdae
Hotel The-ore
Hotel The-ore
#183 of 493 in Seoul
21 reviews
Hongdae
Benikea Premier Marigold Hotel
Hongdae
Rio House Hongdae
Rio House Hongdae
#5 of 955 in Seoul
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hongdae
NJoy Seoul
NJoy Seoul
#137 of 955 in Seoul
14 reviews
Hongdae
Dustin Guest House
Dustin Guest House
#43 of 580 in Seoul
64 reviews
Hongdae
Hongdae Guesthouse
Hongdae Guesthouse
#29 of 955 in Seoul
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ann Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ann Guesthouse

Property: Ann Guesthouse
Address: 514 Paradistel 5th floor, 159-6, Dongkyo-Dong, Mapo-gu, Seoul 121-200, South Korea
Region: South Korea > Seoul > Hongdae
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 580 Speciality Lodging in Seoul
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Ann Guesthouse Hotel Seoul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing