We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very dark corridor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Imperial Palace Boutique Hotel
Ranked #105 of 500 Hotels in Seoul
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Stayed 2 nights in July 2011. Cool and chic hotel in the Itaewon. Good size room with modern bathroom. I found the room decor a little cold for my taste. I didn't quite understand why the corridor was extremely dark, one couldn't see anything.
Quite a few nice restaurants in the neighborhood and airport bus stop was just in front of the hotel.
Very good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BPK123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (640)
There are newer reviews for Imperial Palace Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

403 - 407 of 640 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2012

Stayed here one night in December 2011. The hotel is near the Itaewon area, which is full of bars and restaurants of all kinds. No worries to go find a place to eat at a walking distance. They have the Korean Airlines shuttle bus stopping right outside the hotel as well. Best way to go to Incheon airport.
The room is of a good size, a bit on a small side if, like me, you stayed at the Grand Hyatt the night before but it's still a comfortable size with a big bed, a small window and nice bathroom. Though it's all glass so I would not recommend this if for example you're sharing the room with your parents or just a friend... There is curtains that can be drawn...
Location is not in the middle of the action but close enough for the price paid.
The staff could be a tad bit friendlier though.. very impersonal and cold.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enelym1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

I stayed here with a friend -- first trip to Korea for both of us. We found the hotel nice, clean, and well located. My room had a nice bathtub and was quite spacious. The beds, although ostensibly for two people, were quite narrow, so get a room with two beds, if you and your partner are not small people. The heating worked well and the covers quite cozy. It was a great room to come home to after a day in the cold!

The brunch at the resto was adequate, but I would not eat there every day as there is a limited selection of items. It is a good place for coffee before starting off for the days' adventures. Be prepared to pay cash in advance for purchases, which we found to be a bit odd.

The staff were very helpful and eager -- we really enjoyed them and, overall, their English was great. Our trip was quite spontaneous and we did not do a great deal of research on what to see/do in Seoul. We found that the staff was a bit limited in making recommendations in terms of sightseeing and restaurant recommendations. Not that it is their responsibility to plan our trip, but we expected local people to have a better handle on the city. In the end they came through, but it took a bit of pushing.

I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a tub, if that is important to you as some rooms have showers only.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chinakimberly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Good price for a pretty darned comfortable and luxurious hotel - in a really easy location for a foreigner just starting out in the city. Itaewon is a multicultural area of Seoul near a US military base so everything is in English etc. Very easy to get to from Incheon on either the 6060 bus or a KAL bus (15,000 won per person). Room was very modern and sophisticated in style. The staff at the reception were exceedingly helpful in explaining things to cab drivers.

Room Tip: Higher is more atmospheric :-)
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TangerineCaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

My husband and I spent Christmas and New Year's in Seoul and we thought to pick a hotel that would offer us a decent place to stay for the 9 days we were in the city. The pictures of the lobby and room on the internet intrigued us, and upon arrival, we were not disappointed. The lobby were quirkily decorated with swings and the Christmas decor warmed the visitors entering the hotel after being out in the cold. This was in contrast to the very dimly lit corridors - which isn't a big issue, but abit puzzling especially when you have hallway decor pieces that might get in your way on the way to the elevators.

The rooms were rather small and very stark except for a huge "Warhol" Marilyn Monroe that graced the wall above the bed. The necessities were provided - towels, Crabtree and Evelyn Toiletries. They were alittle stingy with the dental kit and replacement of the bath gel. We had to call the front desk for replacements on several occasions. The saving grace was that the front desk I/C would speed up to our rooms with our request within 3 minutes.

The staff spoke English, limited, but it was helpful enough to get onto the Airport Express buses and directions to our starting point for the DMZ tour.

Itaewon is a good base for visitors who are most comfortable with English, as we realized that the cafes and shops around the area all had menus and staff who could speak the language. It is abit of a relief to come back to your base after navigating a city which requires energy spent on sign language and smatterings of Korean and Japanese. Everything you hear about Itaewon being sleazy is probably true, but the hotel is away from that part of town. There are also alot of recommended restaurants and cafes in the area for great food - Maple Tree House for BBQ, Macaroni Market for brunch, La Bocca for dessert, Across the road is a tiny "health" cafe that serves the best coffee I've tasted - Cafe Gome Home. We had breakfast and coffee almost everyday after stumbling in on our first night for a quick bite post a long flight.

The hotel is also about a 5 minute walk away from Itaewon train station and across is the road from IP is the global communications agency, Cheil Communications. This is definitely a plus when you hop into a cab and need to give directions. Otherwise, the room key holder contains a map + address + telephone number that allow cabbies to call for directions.

All in all, we had a great trip, and choosing IP hotel certainly contributed to the pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mosee07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Itaewon
Hamilton Hotel Seoul
Hamilton Hotel Seoul
#142 of 500 in Seoul
403 reviews
Itaewon
I.T.W Hotel
I.T.W Hotel
#260 of 500 in Seoul
47 reviews
Itaewon
Grand Hyatt Seoul
Grand Hyatt Seoul
#68 of 500 in Seoul
2,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Itaewon
Crown Hotel Itaewon
Crown Hotel Itaewon
#356 of 500 in Seoul
241 reviews
Myeongdong / Namdaemun
Hotel ShinShin Myeongdong
Itaewon
Dodam Guesthouse
Dodam Guesthouse
#95 of 586 in Seoul
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Palace Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Palace Boutique Hotel

Address: 221, Itaewon-ro, Yongsan-gu, Seoul 04349, South Korea (Formerly IP Boutique Hotel)
Region: South Korea > Seoul > Itaewon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 500 Hotels in Seoul
Price Range: €89 - €154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Palace Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well-placed in the nightlife, culture, restaurants area of Seoul city, Imperial Palace Boutique Hotel provides a most conducive spot for you to take a break from your busy days. The hotel lies 2.Km from the city center and provides accessibility to important town facilities. For those of you who want to venture out, Itawon Street, Leeum, Samsung Museum of Art, Itaewon Subway station are just some of the attractions available to visitors.IP Boutique Hotel also offers many facilities to enrich your stay in Seoul. The hotel offers access to a vast array of services, including safety deposit boxes, car park, airport transfer, meeting facilities, 24hr room service.All guest accommodations feature thoughtful amenities to ensure an unparalleled sense of comfort. Besides, the hotel's host of recreational offerings ensures you have plenty to do during your stay. With an ideal location and facilities to match, Imperial Palace Boutique Hotel hits the spot in many ways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Imperial Palace Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing