We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Korean course meals”
Review of Jihwaja

Jihwaja
Ranked #8 of 124,286 Restaurants in Seoul
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$55 - US$167
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Description: Important Intangible Cultural Property No.38 " Royal Cuisine of Joseon Dynasty " is one of the healthiest cuisines in the world. Experience Korea's traditional food culture at Jihwaja operated by "Korean Living Treasure for Royal Cuisine". Jihwaja is a high-class traditional Korean restaurant located in the center of downtown Seoul. It has enjoyed a high reputation as the finest Korean restaurant that offers royal cuisine, the essence of the Korean food culture. Jihwaja reflects the sophisticated ambiance of the neighborhood that features a 600-year Joseon Dynasty history, and it provides an antique interior inspired by royal palaces.The royal dishes offered by Jihwaja are very healthy and nutritious, as they are prepared with only natural ingredients and royal culinary techniques, without using any MSG, artificial flavors or additives. Jihwaja has been and will always be committed to promote Korea's authentic traditional food culture across the world through the generations.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Top notch service by staff, delicious traditional Korean dishes with detailed explanations. The course meals are thoughtfully designed and each dish is presented beautifully as well.

Thank Ryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jihwaja_Seoul, General Manager at Jihwaja, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Ryan H

Thank you very for your compliment !

We, all staffs in kitchen and hosts, will do our best to show The legitimacy of Korean Royal Cuisine in The Real Traditional Korean Dishes with explanations and Korean table courtesy if guests want to.
We always keep these mind that this job is our duty to help guests understand one of Korean Cultural Assets.

Say again, appreciate your comment on Tripadvisor.

Jihwaja Seoul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having taken a semester in Korean cuisine, I took my family to Jihwaja for a traditional culinary experience. We had been looking forward to this meal for a couple of weeks and were very impressed at the end of our meal. Each dish was artfully arranged and thoughtfully presented. The flavours in each course were carefully orchestrated leaving us wanting more. Our host took the time to explain the history of each dish and reminded us the importance of having a meaningful connection at the dinning table. That evening, the family and I slowed down the pace of our typical eating habits and shared many laughs.At the end of the meal, I told to our host that I was looking for a literature by Korean Food Foundation. After listening to me, our host excused himself and returned moments later to give me a copy of the said literature. I was extremely touched by the kind gesture and am truly grateful. Thank you for sharing the Korean food culture and for the hospitality.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank cmaddyinseoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jihwaja_Seoul, Owner at Jihwaja, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear cmaddyinseoul

I exactly remember your group that would enjoy our dishes with nice talking each other cheerfully.

You made us more happy to serve dishes and hospitality. It was pleasant time with your delightful family.
Also third successor (Living Treasure) of Korean Royal Cuisine, Ms. Han, was very happy to hear how much you enjoyed experiencing real Korean Food Culture and Jihwaja Seoul. What she said "This is the reason we exist".

Hope you have good times to make some Korean dishes(Not difficult one ?) at home based on the cooking book I presented.

Please deliver Jihwaja's best regards to all of your family.

Many Many thanks ! ! !

Jihwaja Seoul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was really impressed by Jihwaja. They are very focused on preserving tradition, which is very evident in everything from the decor (ask about the hanging stamped papers with accompanying Chinese characters!), through the cuisine and the staff’s passion. The decor really depicted Joseon based on what I had seen in the palaces. The menu reflected traditional dishes, and the staff excitedly answered questions (and when we asked about some of the preparation methods, they shared that they’d done research but it still remained unresolved- which clearly showed their passion). Staff were SO friendly and genuinely interested in their customers’ experience.Reasons it’s not 5*: (1) very empty, especially for Friday night , (2) food preparation was very slow.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank Irena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jihwaja_Seoul, Owner at Jihwaja, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Irena K

Really appreciate your comments for Jihwaja.

From our data since 3 years ago Friday is the most slow day in a week.
Maybe high-classed Korean life style has been changing.

Yes. our service is slow. Because Korean Royal Cuisine is slow and natural fresh cuisine needed more sophiticate hand works with warmness.
The average time to stay here is 1.5 hour to 2 hours.
As you indicated, we are trying to fit the serving speed for each table.

We are sure that our foods and hospitalities are going to be more perfect by your sincere comment !!!!!!!!!!!

Thank you very much from all of Jihwaja Seoul


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went to Jihwaja with my wife after making a reservation a while in advance for dinner at 6pm. The restaurant was quiet on arrival and only a few more guests arrived during the evening.

We went for the royal banquet set menu, inspired by a menu served at a meeting between the North and South around 20 years ago. The owner of the restaurant is a Korean “national treasure” in keeping Korean food alive.

The menu consisted of twelve different courses. Of note were the abalone in soy sauce, the wrapped kimchi and beef ribs. There didn’t seem much variety in the dishes as the same ingredients were used multiple times throughout, and as there was a focus on letting the ingredients speak for themselves, not much variety in flavours.

Service was excellent, however.

We enjoyed the experience but after spending KRW420k (including a tip), I expected the food to be a bit more mind blowing; it simply wasn’t.

Thank DMSCAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018

We went to Jihwaja during our trip to Seoul because we found their vegan menu on the website. The service went beyond our expectation with Mr Han explaining us both the history and making of our food. As a vegan eating out I am always skeptical of what I will be served but they understood very well the concept of veganism and made a separate menu.

We did not notify them before regarding my dietary requirements and they were still able to make all the courses.

The quality of the food is amazing and all the flavors as well. There were 10 courses in our menu and we were really full when we went out.
I would highly recommend Jihwaja to any vegan and non-vegan as they deserve a higher rating than five

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SaemaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jihwaja, Owner at Jihwaja, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

Dear Saema R

Thank you for your big applause to Jihwaja Seoul.

We are very happy that you are very satified our vegan menu, quality, and hospitallity.
We absolutely know many people have troubles to enjoy qualified dishes in foreigan countries.

For solving this kind of problem we serve vegetarian friendly, vegan, dietary menu also in Korean Royal Cuisine.
With these kind of dishes and best hospitality we wouldlike to serve you again in the future.

It was a nice time serve you.

All of our wishes,

Jihwaja Seoul


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jihwaja also viewed

Seoul, South Korea
Seoul, South Korea
 
Seoul, South Korea
 
Seoul, South Korea
 

Been to Jihwaja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing