We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 04:00 - 22:00
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Shwedagon Pagoda
from US$28.00
More Info
from US$97.20
More Info
from US$51.00
More Info
from US$45.00
More Info
Reviews (12,477)
Filter reviews
12,477 results
Traveller rating
9,935
2,112
356
50
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9,935
2,112
356
50
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews plastic bag late afternoon bare feet remove your shoes gold leaf awe inspiring take your time entrance fee visit yangon walk around rangoon sunset pagoda buddhist complex dusk locals
Filter
Updating list...
547 - 552 of 12,477 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

It took us an hour to get there before going to the airport. Lots of walking and overnight bus from Bahan. Pagoda is very beautiful. Probably. We didn’t get in because they wanted us to pay 10 thousand. It is not such a big sum of money but if to think more, it is regular temple for locals who of course don’t pay. But because we are foreigners everywhere we go locals want us to pay money, which makes us feel stupid as we arrive and they see us as dollar signs. It is a beautiful religious site but you won’t clean your karma there.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank tinalevyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

We visited in late afternoon when the sun was setting. It was a good time to view the Pagoda but many visitors and locals there at that time of the day so not good for photos.
Entrance fees we found to be high compared to other tourist places in Myanmar. We were not allowed to put our shoes on to enter the toilets!! so left earlier than anticipated.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank MnD7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

If U want to Visit in Myanmar, you must go to Shwedagon pagoda.
U will feel peaceful,amazing and beautiful of Myanmar .
U will also feel myanmar’s Culture and agriculture.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Aungminhtet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Looking up at the 76 carat diamond on the spite of the pagoda was surreal. It looked like a bright star against the dark sky. The guide made it all the more interesting taking us to the days it was plundered and then rebuilt! It’s a must see especially on the nights of a full moon. It is magical.

Date of experience: February 2018
1  Thank Minoo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Went in the evening (actually 8.30pm) as suggested by a local - apparently more beautiful at night when temple is lit up as compared to in the day, and also less hot so you don't have to worry about your feet getting burned as you are not allowed to walk the temple grounds with your footwear. You pay the 10,000 kyats at the foreign visitor entrance, deposit your footwear at the footwear counter, go through a turnstile, then security detectors, and then ... well the rest you have to figure out yourself like I did cuz that's where they stop "guiding" you. Elevators to the right will take you to the second floor which is where the temple grounds are. Vast and lots of local and foreign visitors, many of which can be seen meditating/chanting quietly. Place closes at 11pm. Taxis waiting as I exited but I wanted to walk to get a view of the temple from a distance, and before I knew it, was already pretty much at Junction City mall (about 2km easy breezy straight down walk).

Date of experience: March 2018
3  Thank allseeing_i313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews