We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Treasure hideaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hideaway Island Resort
Ranked #13 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Little Treasure hideaway”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

I am about to visit Hideaway Island in Vanuatu for the fourth time. This tiny island is a marine sanctuary and has the most amazing snorkeling i have seen. We often stay in the 5 bedroom bungalow and they are clean and comfortable. Most people i speak to have never heard of Hideaway in Vanuatu (not to be confused with Hideaway in Fiji) but of those who have been to Port Vila and were not impressed do not be put off with making the effort to get to this beautiful island which is perfect for both snorkelers and divers . You can kit up in dive gear on the beach and head straight into the water 50 meters out you come to a ridge which drops 300 meters and the marine life is amazing. There is plenty to see and hours of fun viewing a sunken ship and underwater post office, it really is a little treasure.

Room Tip: Depending on the group and how many people travelling together the private villa is amazing but more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OverseaTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    340
    215
    35
    19
    9
See reviews for
160
240
47
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Albany, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We came here for part of our honeymoon, and we wanted to stay longer. We stayed in the oceanside villa and it was AMAZING. It was such a beautiful place that we could relax in, whether it was sitting in the spa looking out to the ocean with a cool breeze, or swimming in our private pool, or relaxing on the deck with some cocktails. We had some great adventures, there is amazing snorkelling and great tours. We could not stop taking underwater photos! We really recommend staying in the villa at hideaway island!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CaitlinJune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

I travelled here with friends in 2009, we had a fabuloius time. We stayed in one of the dorm rooms on the island, and the bathrooms were clean and big.

Really enjoyed the beach - so beautiful. Easy enough to get into Port Vila. We also hired a car one day (with the help of staff at the resort) and drove around Efate Island, which was really beautiful.

All the staff were lovely. The restaurant and bar were a little pricey, but Joe was a lovely bartender and the cocktails were as beautiful as the environment.

Would recommend to any group of girlfriends looking for a relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saraht1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

stunning coral and tropical fish as you step out of your room in this great resort. yet, you are only a short boat ride away from the shore, where local minibuses wait to take you to port vila and myriad other interesting places. warmly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikulahm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We stayed 5 nights in Jan 2012 and absolutely loved it. We had a private, secluded onceanfront bungalow with a hammock under a palm tree - perfect South Pacific cliche, and what more could you want?

Highlights:
- spectacular snorkeling!! - hundreds of fish and corals right there as soon as you step into the water, or you can hop on the free glass bottom boat for a snorkel safari 5 mins away on the reef
- happy hour cocktails on the beach, delicious fresh fruit and good coffee for breakfast, and above average cuisine for dinner
- wonderfully friendly local staff, who know your name by Day 2, seem genuinely pleased to see you, and will even show you around their village
- the size of the resort: probably sleeps around 50; there were maybe 30 when we were there

Downsides (minor):
- it's not 5 star, but as long as you're not expecting luxury, who cares that little things slip (eg the light on our porch didn't work and they never got around to replacing it; and the room was cleaned well enough but not exactly spotless)
- breakfast was fairly minimal, and the juice was fake (don't understand this given the abundance of fresh produce)
- cruise ship daytrippers - the only time the island felt a little crowded - plan another ativity for cruise ship days

Room Tip: ocean front bungalows have excellent facilities (including a double hammock!) and are very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
9.2 km away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
1,466 reviews
8.2 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 47 in Port Vila
662 reviews
13.9 km away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#3 of 47 in Port Vila
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 km away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
9.5 km away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
9.5 km away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hideaway Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hideaway Island Resort

Property: Hideaway Island Resort
Address: | Hideaway Island, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Port Vila
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#12 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#13 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hideaway Island Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hideaway Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hideaway Island Hotel Port Vila
Hideaway Island Port Vila
Hideaway Island Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing