We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise....and truly the happiest place on earth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2011

This was our first trip to Vanuatu, and it certainly won't be our last. From the minute we stepped off the plane, until we hugged our goodbyes, we could not have felt more welcome or more relaxed.

Erakor Island's best asset is undoubtably the amazing staff working there. Nothing is too much of problem, they are eager to help with anything, and I have never met friendlier people in my life. By the time we left, it felt like we were saying goodbye to friends. So here is a shout-out to some of the wonderful new friends we made on the island- Kevin "Perfectly Perfect", Willy, Mattius, Donald, Annie, Lita, Blanca, Peter, Lydia, Nicky, Aaron , Nixon and everyone else we met.

Erakor Island Resort is in the middle of a gorgeous lagoon, a quick ferry ride from the mainland. The ferry is operating at all hours, and we used it to go into town almost every day. There are taxis or buses at the jetty all the time. Taxis cost 700 VATU and buses 150 VATU per person to take you anywhere in Port Vila.

The resort has a small beach with plenty of sun-lounges and umbrellas. You can order food and drinks to your beach-chair if you like, though the restaurant is close by. All of the rooms are waterfront, so you can spend the day lounging on your balcony or reading in a hammock. However I found that it was easiest to swim from the main beach. There is a lot of coral and a plethora of starfish in the lagoon, so reef shoes come in handy.

Our room was simple, but lovely, and was very clean. It had a queen-size bed with mosquito-netting canopy, and a large daybed, plus barfridge and tea-making essentials. The bathroom was slightly tired (as they can get in the tropics), but was large and clean and very comfortable. No phone and no tv- this was no problem at all. I had an important phonecall come in while we were staying there, and they sent someone to get me so I could take the call at Reception. There is no aircon, but the ceiling fan was all we needed at this time of year.

The Spa was great, my favourite was the 90 minute hot stone massage- pure bliss!

While you are in Vanuatu, make sure you go to the Cascades, the famous waterfalls. It was one of the highlights of the trip for us. Take reef shoes (for walking on stones) and your swimmers. If we knew how fantastic it was to swim in the cascades, we would have opted for one of the tours that allowed longer time for swimming at the end.

We ate at the resort's Aqua Restaurant many evenings, but can also recommend Chill and Mangoes in Port Vila.

We had such a wonderful holiday at Erakor Island, and we will be back again next year. Thankyou so much to everyone at the Resort for making our stay magical.

Noelle and Murray Thompson xx

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrMrsIslandHoppers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (717)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

679 - 683 of 717 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2011

We have just spent 4 days on Erakor Island with our daughter planning her wedding which will be held on the Island in August.

We have to say we felt so relaxed the whole time we were there even though we were busy meeting people and making wedding plans.

The staff are terrific "Let us know what you want and we can do it" ... and they can. We watched them do two weddings in 2 days and both were very different but terrific.

We visited a number of other resorts but none compared with Erakor. Yes the others may be better for young families because of the swimming pools and entertainment. They were certainly more "up market" if that is your thing.

However we were happy to return to Erakor which is peaceful, relaxing, the villas are georgous and the staff ... well what can we say. Can't wait to get back in August and hold the Erakor Olympics with Kevin 07 and the friendly, smiling staff.

Thank you Natalie, Lita, Abi, Linton, JD, Kevin 07, Nixon, Sam, Annie, Sheila (with the beautiful voice) and all the other happy staff on Erakor.

We live in paradise at Tea Gardens but Erakor Island is just perfect for a complete getaway.

We can't wait until August for the wedding and to party with you guys and our families and friends.

Room Tip: Chill out and don't sweat the small stuff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clubinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011

This island resort should definately be on the top of everyones lists to stay. I wish we could have stayed longer!
The lagoon was beautiful and safe (reef shoes should be worn as coral can be sharp). I have never seen so many starfish in my life!
The whole island is set out is perfect with paths everywhere and alot of greenery and history to be explored. The day spa is so relaxing and calming, i recommend the hot stone massage!
The staff are so helpful and friendly! Some names I wish to mention are: Blanca, Blandine, Lita, Linton, Annie, Nixon and many many more. Always asking if we were okay and if they could do anything for us and just having a chat in general. Everyone was so friendly always saying "hello, good morning, good evening and goodnight"
The food was awesome! The 1st night we were there I had the entree Calamari as a main meal and I have never EVER tasted calamari as good as theres! Sooo good I had it another night aswell!
Some Tours I suggest are: Big Blue Scuba Dive, Hideaway Scuba Dive or Snorkel, Buggy Fun Tour, Cascade Waterfalls and The Village Cultural/History Feast.
Thank-you to all the staff at Erakor Island Resort, Vanuatu for your help, friendliness and making our time there PERFECT! Special mention to Blanca, Thank You (hope your feeling better) Don't forget to add us to Facebook :)
Chantal xxx

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chantal90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2011

After conulting Trip Advisor we chose Erakor for an 8 night vacation on our first trip to Vanuatu. It exceeded our expectations with the clear calm lagoon water straight off our balcony for snorkelling. No need to take anything other than essential personal effects, leisure gear including reef shoes and beach towels are all available, free for guests. Vu boards are great for the non snorkellers like my partner to see the amazing underwater life. more soft live coral than I have seen elsewhere. Plenty of beach lounges for those who wish to socialise on the beach near the restaurant however we rarely felt the need to leave our private balcony and hammock for relaxation.
It would be unfair to single out any of the staff by name as all were very attentive as required. Newish young manager Lyndon is doing a great job in running the resort. Nothing seems too hard and all appears to run smoothly. Transport into Vila is easy to access with the help of the jetty staff and inexpensive.
We ate at Aqua every night and were never disappointed. Despite the number of recommended restaurants in town we did not feel the need to go anywhere else. Returning to the Island after a trip to town always made us feel special and just a little smug that we were amongst the ones who did not have to leave after a day trip to swim or dinner at the restaurant. We look forward to a return visit next year feeling sure that we will be received as old friends.

Room Tip: No 6, with the opening door in the shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brungleite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2011

The service and friendliness of the staff throughout the resort could not be faulted. Nothing was too much trouble.

The room was basic but very comfortable in its furnishings though the in-room spa tub had a fantastic private view over the lagoon. The rooms are serviced daily and are very clean.

The location of the resort on this small island is idyllic. There is a 24 hour,oncall, free taxi boat to the island. The food at the water's edge restaurant was delicious or you can have room service if you wish. The grounds and sandy beaches are extremely well maintained by a team of friendly, hard working gardeners.
The guests have free access to all non-motorised water activities and the coral reefs, starfish and fish which are just off the beach are easily accessible for snorkelling.

We have nothing but praise for the resort and are planning a return within the next year. Karen and Graham

Room Tip: Only 21 units on the island. Every room has views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 255068Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
0.7 km away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#10 of 47 in Port Vila
1,561 reviews
3.9 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
713 reviews
23.2 km away
The Havannah, Vanuatu
The Havannah, Vanuatu
#2 of 47 in Port Vila
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
CoCo Beach Resort
CoCo Beach Resort
#21 of 47 in Port Vila
222 reviews
3.3 km away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
1 km away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#6 of 47 in Port Vila
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Erakor Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erakor Island Resort & Spa

Address: P.O. Box 24, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#4 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#6 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#14 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range: €120 - €239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Erakor Island Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Erakor Island Resort is a beautiful unspoiled island paradise, situated in crystal clear waters on its own private 16 acre island surrounded by white sandy beaches. All bungalows are waterfront with the lagoon just steps away from your private veranda. Enjoy the beauty of staying on a quiet tropical island with easy access to everything off the island, Erakor offers all the facilities of a major resort, but in a relaxed and secluded atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Erakor Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erakor Island Resort And Spa
Erakor Island Hotel Port Vila
Erakor Island Resort & Spa Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing