We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveller rating
32
5
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
32
5
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 38 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2011

We recently had 9 wonderful nights at Pandanus Bay. The apartments are very spacious and extremely well appointed! Wifi for the kids, relaxation for us. Perfect pool facilities and bbq on the waterfront. Easy snorkelling from directly outside your room, or fishing too. Only approx a 10 min drive back in to central Port Vila and approx 5 minutes to the local supermarket. Would highly recommend. The owners/managers could not do enough for us. Having travelled the world - this is one of my highlight accommodation stays.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AngelaM2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2010

We stayed here with two family groups with small children aged 2-6. We occupied two ground floor side by side which was ideal. The apartments are spacious and well laid out with three good sized bedrooms and a modern kitchen and bathrooms. We enjoyed relaxing on the sun loungers on the front lawn or down at the beach while the kids played in the sand or in the pool (supervised of course) and dining at the outdoor table on the tiled deck.
We took advantage of the offer to stock out pantry prior to arrival and had no trouble catching local buses into Port Vila to go to the supermarket and out for day trips. James organized us a bus to go to Hideaway island and The Cascade Waterfalls but we easily caught buses to take the kids to nearby Erakor island (where there is a sandy beach and relaxed waterfront restaurant) and to Le Lagoon for Lunch.
I would recommend these apartments to anyone wanting a peaceful family holiday with the ability to self cater.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BollingerAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2010

We enjoyed this accom immensly. Large villa's, beautiful seafront views, excellent facilities. Kitchen was amazing and we cooked at least 4 meals here and dined on our beachfront. Bathroom was gorgeous. All for a very reasonable rate, would highly recommend. Buses to town available. Wifi available. Books to swap etc.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pinktori71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2010

We recently returned from a trip where we stayed 9 nights at these apartments. They are good value for money and certainly spacious, just as described. The view is pretty with some nice sunsets. A lovely place all in all. There were however a few downfalls. There is no real beach, you need reef shoes to even enter the water. The snorkelling is ok however it is a fair way out to the "good" stuff and as the water is shallow not much fun getting the couple of hundred metres out. Also sea slugs, these are somewhat snake like and are around 1-1.5m in length but totally harmless, just not nice. The pool area is nice but rather small so when you get 5 kids (our total) and a couple of others in the area it is quite noisy and congested. The apartments are right next to a village and this was noisy of a night with barking dogs and crying babies, however the other people in our party in other apartment didnt hear anything. The BBQ area is really nice and a great place to sit for afternoon drinks. The other downside is the bumpy dirt road that you must travel each way to get to the apartments. Apparently the chief doesnt want a lot of traffic so he wont have it fixed! It really is an absolute nightmare when you do it 2-3 times a day. Would have to say that I seriously would have to reconsider staying here again just for this reason.
We did a day trip to Lelepa Island which I would highly recommend, a spectacular spot with a great BBQ lunch and some of the MOST BEAUTIFUL snorkelling I have ever done. Again needed to have reef shoes. This is just the norm for Vanuatu as there is just no sandy beaches as such. If you are looking for a tropical "Beach" getaway I would say that this is probably not what you are looking for.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank possnscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2010

We spent 6 incredible days here in mid May
Every positive thing in all the other reviews is only half what you will find - this place is superb - we did not want "crass touristy resort stuff" - if you want that, put on an iPod and get a sun bed down the road - Pandanus way exceeded our expectations - fully self contained, pick up a few groceries on the way thru, at one of several roadside superettes - easier than backtracking maybe 4km to do so - a stunning gas kitchen to cook in.
Fresh veges and Dairy are expensive - as with most imported stuff - but rice, eggs, and beef are value - but, cooking "in" really saves a fortune over restaurants and Resorts, so Pandanus scored big extra points with us just for that alone. Bring yr max Duty Free as liquor prices will utterly cripple you - buy the mixers and juices at the superettes.

And buy a small can of flyspray on the way too - the very occasional moth

We rented a small 4wd - worth every penny as 2wd rental aren't allowed off the seal - and thats not gonna get you seeing Efate - for local tnspt buses are everywhere tho.
The staff were totally first class and refreshingly friendly, as with James & Claudia, the owners.
Peace, quiet, sun loungers, gently lapping waves - ice cold drinks with the in fridge crushed ice maker

Some humour in 2 women also there - their complaint - the freshwater pool wasn't heated...!!!! - True - they were serious !!! - - life must be perfect for some......

But, to really enjoy, respect that you are on the edge of Pango Village - a real village - not a tourist centre - the local Ni-Vanuatu are genuine when they smile and wave, so if very occasionally a wee bit of leaf burning smoke drifted by - so what.......they were most likely the leaves off our lawn they picked up before we woke.

Coral shoes are a must, and if you have the energy to swim, don't expect to dive into 10ft deep off the white sandy beach - we didn't see anywhere on Efate that happens.

We hated leaving - back to 4 deg C and gale forece southerly in Wgtn, NZ - - you can bet, WE'LL BE BACK......... for sure

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris_KiwiChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews