We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (504)
Filter reviews
504 results
Traveller rating
288
157
38
13
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
288
157
38
13
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bacchus restaurant dakota wing armed guards butler service bliss spa fountain lounge place to stay close to the airport papua new guinea business center international airport other hotels rooms are large great gym fine dining air niugini minutes from the airport
Filter
Updating list...
207 - 212 of 504 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2015

Before heading off to explore the culture of the remote parts of PNG, it is definitely worth a stay at the Airways Hotel. The rooms are large, but not inspired in decoration, but the service is good and the restaurant has a great buffet breakfast in its rooftop restaurant. My only concern was the glass walls and door on the bathroom. The room is large, but it was difficult to have a nightlight on without it shining into the bedroom.

The hotel has some very interesting and upscale shops inside as well.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Junebughiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sushil G, General Manager at Airways Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2015

Hello Junebughiker

Thank you for your comments.

There are three different wings and all differ in decor. The hotel was designed by an architect and furnished by a qualified Interior decorator. The style is ageless and minimalistic. I am sorry to hear that you did not like it.

Thank you pointing out the nightlight. We are having a look and in a process of rectifying. The glass doors are thick and shatter proof with clear marking on it for safety reasons.

I am pleased that you noticed the shops. Most prices are very realistic and cheaper that the stores outside.

Thank you again for your honest comments. I am sure it will help the other travelers.

We hope to see you again at the Airways Hotel very soon.

With Best Regards
Sushil Gordon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2015

Poor value in every respect -
Couldn't get a taxi to the yacht club so asked hotel to sort out a ride - this is 20 Kina at the most
They charged me 120 Kina -
Very poor form from the arrogant manager.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monshazal11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sushil G, General Manager at Airways Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2015

Hello Monshazal11

Thank you for your comments.

The facts are, we call the taxis all the time for our guests however can not guarantee the time they take to get to the hotel. They may charge as per their tariff. I don,t believe that its costs k20(may be in a unregistered car).

Our hotel provides a luxury car with a professional hotel driver who knows the safest way to the destination. We give the price to the guest upfront. Its up to the guests to take the service or not.

All are managers and staff are very humble and committed to provide our guests the best service at all times. We get many many good comments from our guests.
We do not appreciate aggressive and abusive behavior.

Thank you

Sushil Gordon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2015 via mobile

Dakota wing rooms are excellent, spacious, well appointed and very clean. Nespresso machine, good amenities and good bathroom fit out make this hotel significantly better than other Port Moresby hotels.

Bar is good, food ok and pricing comparable to other hotels in the area.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled on business
Thank njsmjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sushil G, General Manager at Airways Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2015

Hello njsmjs
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Airways Hotel and your comments.

All our rooms are served with fresh fruits on arrival, all the bathroom amenities and bottles of water. These are replenished daily. All rooms have tea and coffee making facilities. In Fountain and Dakota wing we also have N espresso machines and coffee. There is no extra charge for it.

I hope that we can see you again at Airways Hotel.

With Best Regards
Sushil Gordon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2015

We stayed here overnight before embarking on a cruise from Port Moresby. The first thing you notice is the very tight and comforting security with armed guards everywhere which says a lot for Port Moresby!
The hotel is sprawling and looks nothing from the outside. Reception and lounges are comfortable. Our room had wooden slats instead of curtains, no bathroom door and a security guard outside the window who whistled most of the night. However the room had one of the best showers I have ever come across!
The restaurant and food were good. The pool is well maintained but the poolside loungers are a leftover from the Spanish Inquisition being made of metal strips with paper thin cushions and horribly uncomfortable.
Staff were all efficient an friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sushil G, General Manager at Airways Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2015

Hello Peter.C

Thank you for your comments.

My apologies for the security guard who was whistling.

The security is very important to us for our guests and staff. The Airways grounds are very spread out with a cricket pitch, walking and jogging tracks, recreation park, a mini super mart with pharmacy facilities and an international bank.

We hope to see you again soon.

With Best Regards
Sushil Gordon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2015 via mobile

Had a 4 hour lay over at jackson airport Port Morsby jump in the shuttle bus to the Airways hotel great place to relax staff were freindly service was good enjoy a nice lunch good range on the menu i would recommend to all

Stayed: November 2015, travelled solo
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sushil G, General Manager at Airways Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2015

Hello Mike M

Thank you for your comments.

Our hotel is close by to the Airport and we have our FREE shuttle buses running 24/7 to and fro. I am pleased to hear that you got to relax between your flight connections.

We have a lovely Spa and a range of dining options.

We hope to see you again soon at Airways Hotel.

With Best Regards
Sushil Gordon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews