We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (232)
Filter reviews
232 results
Traveller rating
38
81
68
32
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
38
81
68
32
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop bar international airport night life restaurants and bars an overnight stay pleasant stay free shuttle a bit tired wi fi comfortable hotel jacksons enzos pom iron proximity transfer toiletries
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 232 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2015

Value for money.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms and private. Great outdoor pool for kids and adults. The food is great especially the dessert. The bars, pizza and conference facilities are great. Oh and did I mention excellent WiFi around the hotel and in the rooms.

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GatewayPOM, General Manager at Gateway Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2015

Dear Jane R,

Thank you for your recent contribution to TripAdvisor pertaining to your recent stay at the Gateway Hotel and Apartments.

The upgrade of existing and introduction of the FREE Wifi in the hotel and all public areas has been well received by guests and travellers alike, this certainly compliments the other services that we offer that are popular with hotel guests and visitors to the property.

We look forward to introducing new pizza concepts in the coming months with the introduction of three brand new food and beverage outlets.

Again Jane R, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Gateway Hotel and Apartments again in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2015

My stay at the Gateway was rejuvenating experience in port moresby. Great customer service and facilities that were very user friendly.

The hotel is close to the airport and linked to the new flyover which allows you to get into the city quickly without enduring traffic.

For business it is an essential requirement.

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GatewayPOM, General Manager at Gateway Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2015

Dear Carolyn M

Thank you for your recent feedback on your stay at the Gateway Hotel and Apartments which I am please to note was "rejuvenating".

The Hotel Management has worked very hard over the past twelve months to further improve our customer service delivery by ensuring we do go the extra yards to provide a complete and satisfying guest experience. I am glad you were able to experience such in your visit.

Carolyn M, we look forward to again welcoming you back to the Gateway Hotel and Apartments in the near future and again servicing all of your needs and requirements with a warm welcome and friendly smile.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2015

Stayed here for 2 nights when we did the track - Probably the best thing about this place is that it is only 3 min from the airport - It is an older hotel but the rooms are clean and comfortable - pool is quite nice and staff are friendly
Pool was booked as part of our package ..but I believe it costs about $200 Au a night

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phillip T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GatewayPOM, General Manager at Gateway Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2015

Phillip T,

Thank you for making the time to provide feedback on your recent visit to the Gateway Hotel and Apartments. The property caters for many different types of travellers, noting you were on a stop over while walking the Kokoda track.

The staff have a strong understanding of our guests needs, especially those returning exhausted from hiking the hills and valleys that make the trail the such an exciting adventure.

I am glad we were able to meet your needs during your stay and that your found our service friendly and efficient.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2015

I stayed here for a few nights and everything was great. Room was comfy, pool was cool and the food at the restaurant was pretty good. They'll pick you up from the hotel, and drop you off again, and arrange a taxi if you need one.

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GatewayPOM, General Manager at Gateway Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2015

Dear Wilfood,

Thank you for choosing the Gateway Hotel and Apartments during your recent trip to Port Moresby - PNG.

It is great to hear such positive feedback from our guests. All feedback is used for ongoing staff training purposes to assist staff understand the importance of excellent and consistent customer service.

Again, thank you for choosing the Gateway Hotel and Apartments.


Regards,


Matthew Cooper
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2015

Stayed here for one night before an early morning flight back to Australia. I'd rate it as a pretty decent place to stay. The food was not bad. We had the bbq, salad and dessert. For 70 kina it was simple but one of the better meals I've had in Port Moresby (and I've just had almost two months of hotel meals in Port Moresby). The pool was warm and very swimmable, and after two requests we were provided with some extra nice fluffy towels.
On arrival we were upgraded tho an executive room, which was adequate without being anything brilliant. Note that these rooms were up stairs - I knew we had to munch luggage and carrying out up and down those stairs confirmed it.
Thumbs down for the shower, which was a pitiful stream. And thumbs down for no tissues in the room. It was also pretty noisy. I think the staff had their break area just behind the room. Hey guys, we can hear everything you say. Thumbs up for the helpful check-in and check out staff, and the wait staff. Good job!
All in all, a good hotel very close to the airport and perfect for an overnighter. They also have apartments but I didn't get a chance to check them out. For the price it was very good value.

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 931bevp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GatewayPOM, General Manager at Gateway Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2015

Dear Bev P,

The Management of the Gateway Hotel and Apartments would like to thank you for your recent feedback on TripAdvisor. I have taken on board your feedback pertaining to the water pressure during your stay, with current dry conditions here in Port Moresby we are currently looking at improving our water tank storage as well as water reticulation to ensure pressure remains more constant. Your comment on tissues is noted.

For all of your favourable feedback I say thank you, management has worked very hard to improve a number of service points and it would appear that the guests are now benefiting from this staff training and development.

Bev P, we wish you all the best and look forward to having you stay with us again in the future at the Gateway Hotel and Apartments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews