We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Privacy guaranteed and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gateway Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Port Moresby
Reviewed 22 October 2015

Value for money.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms and private. Great outdoor pool for kids and adults. The food is great especially the dessert. The bars, pizza and conference facilities are great. Oh and did I mention excellent WiFi around the hotel and in the rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GatewayPOM, General Manager at Gateway Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2015

Dear Jane R,

Thank you for your recent contribution to TripAdvisor pertaining to your recent stay at the Gateway Hotel and Apartments.

The upgrade of existing and introduction of the FREE Wifi in the hotel and all public areas has been well received by guests and travellers alike, this certainly compliments the other services that we offer that are popular with hotel guests and visitors to the property.

We look forward to introducing new pizza concepts in the coming months with the introduction of three brand new food and beverage outlets.

Again Jane R, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Gateway Hotel and Apartments again in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 56 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2015

My stay at the Gateway was rejuvenating experience in port moresby. Great customer service and facilities that were very user friendly.

The hotel is close to the airport and linked to the new flyover which allows you to get into the city quickly without enduring traffic.

For business it is an essential requirement.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GatewayPOM, General Manager at Gateway Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2015

Dear Carolyn M

Thank you for your recent feedback on your stay at the Gateway Hotel and Apartments which I am please to note was "rejuvenating".

The Hotel Management has worked very hard over the past twelve months to further improve our customer service delivery by ensuring we do go the extra yards to provide a complete and satisfying guest experience. I am glad you were able to experience such in your visit.

Carolyn M, we look forward to again welcoming you back to the Gateway Hotel and Apartments in the near future and again servicing all of your needs and requirements with a warm welcome and friendly smile.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2015

Stayed here for 2 nights when we did the track - Probably the best thing about this place is that it is only 3 min from the airport - It is an older hotel but the rooms are clean and comfortable - pool is quite nice and staff are friendly
Pool was booked as part of our package ..but I believe it costs about $200 Au a night

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phillip T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GatewayPOM, General Manager at Gateway Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2015

Phillip T,

Thank you for making the time to provide feedback on your recent visit to the Gateway Hotel and Apartments. The property caters for many different types of travellers, noting you were on a stop over while walking the Kokoda track.

The staff have a strong understanding of our guests needs, especially those returning exhausted from hiking the hills and valleys that make the trail the such an exciting adventure.

I am glad we were able to meet your needs during your stay and that your found our service friendly and efficient.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2015

I stayed here for a few nights and everything was great. Room was comfy, pool was cool and the food at the restaurant was pretty good. They'll pick you up from the hotel, and drop you off again, and arrange a taxi if you need one.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GatewayPOM, General Manager at Gateway Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2015

Dear Wilfood,

Thank you for choosing the Gateway Hotel and Apartments during your recent trip to Port Moresby - PNG.

It is great to hear such positive feedback from our guests. All feedback is used for ongoing staff training purposes to assist staff understand the importance of excellent and consistent customer service.

Again, thank you for choosing the Gateway Hotel and Apartments.


Regards,


Matthew Cooper
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2015

Stayed here for one night before an early morning flight back to Australia. I'd rate it as a pretty decent place to stay. The food was not bad. We had the bbq, salad and dessert. For 70 kina it was simple but one of the better meals I've had in Port Moresby (and I've just had almost two months of hotel meals in Port Moresby). The pool was warm and very swimmable, and after two requests we were provided with some extra nice fluffy towels.
On arrival we were upgraded tho an executive room, which was adequate without being anything brilliant. Note that these rooms were up stairs - I knew we had to munch luggage and carrying out up and down those stairs confirmed it.
Thumbs down for the shower, which was a pitiful stream. And thumbs down for no tissues in the room. It was also pretty noisy. I think the staff had their break area just behind the room. Hey guys, we can hear everything you say. Thumbs up for the helpful check-in and check out staff, and the wait staff. Good job!
All in all, a good hotel very close to the airport and perfect for an overnighter. They also have apartments but I didn't get a chance to check them out. For the price it was very good value.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GatewayPOM, General Manager at Gateway Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2015

Dear Bev P,

The Management of the Gateway Hotel and Apartments would like to thank you for your recent feedback on TripAdvisor. I have taken on board your feedback pertaining to the water pressure during your stay, with current dry conditions here in Port Moresby we are currently looking at improving our water tank storage as well as water reticulation to ensure pressure remains more constant. Your comment on tissues is noted.

For all of your favourable feedback I say thank you, management has worked very hard to improve a number of service points and it would appear that the guests are now benefiting from this staff training and development.

Bev P, we wish you all the best and look forward to having you stay with us again in the future at the Gateway Hotel and Apartments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Moresby hotels
0.6 km away
Airways Hotel
Airways Hotel
#1 of 15 in Port Moresby
455 reviews
3.5 km away
Holiday Inn Port Moresby
Holiday Inn Port Moresby
#8 of 15 in Port Moresby
208 reviews
3.4 km away
The Stanley Hotel & Suites
The Stanley Hotel & Suites
#2 of 15 in Port Moresby
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Lamana Hotel
Lamana Hotel
#3 of 15 in Port Moresby
182 reviews
7.4 km away
Ela Beach Hotel
Ela Beach Hotel
#9 of 15 in Port Moresby
132 reviews
7.8 km away
Grand Papua Hotel
Grand Papua Hotel
#4 of 15 in Port Moresby
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Hotel & Apartments

Address: Jacksons Parade | (Overlooking Jacksons Airport), Port Moresby 121, Papua New Guinea (Formerly Flag Hotel Gateway)
Phone Number:
Region: Papua New Guinea > Papua Region > Port Moresby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Port Moresby
Price Range: €93 - €183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gateway Hotel & Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Due to its proximity to the airport and excellent facilities, the Gateway Hotel is an extremely popular conference venue, particularly for delegates visiting Port Moresby. A short drive and only minutes away from both, the international & domestic terminals in the hotel's free shuttle bus, brings you to its serene ambience surrounded by lush tropical gardens and impeccable service, which provide for a memorable and pleasant stay. All 130 modern rooms, some with Internet access, plus 63 serviced apartments surround a pool which is centrally located. 24-hour Foreign Exchange desk is located at Reception. The Wild Orchid Restaurant serves some of the finest International cuisine in Port Moresby and features a buffet from a different part of the globe each night. Alternatively, choose one of Enzo's Pizzas in the Rattle 'n' Hum Pizzeria & Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gateway Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Hotel And Apartments
Quality Inn Port Moresby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing