We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveller rating
67
68
24
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
67
68
24
3
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 167 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2014

I stayed here with family since it was recommended by a cousin who is on the frugal side.

Pros:
- Clean, no-frills place if you just need a bed to sleep in.
- Food in the area is cheap and good.
- Good place to stay if you already have friends and family in Bogota and aren't looking to be a tourist.
- The room and bathroom is private, not shared (in case you're comparing this to hostels in a similar price range).
- The hotel will arrange taxis for you, so you don't have to worry about hailing a random one on the street.

Cons:
- No credit cards accepted
- The clientele is a bit shady. I saw what I assumed were a couple ladies of the night in the place, but they stayed out of our way and I didn't feel unsafe within the hotel. Just a lil skeeved out! lol But everything in our room was super clean.
- Not really tourist-friendly in terms of the neighborhood. Don't expect to go for a stroll and discover the area on your own if this is your first visit to Bogota.

A few general Bogota notes. Don't be scared if you see gates on everything (including the front of this hotel), that is pretty standard in South America. If you're the type to wear brand-name everything, you're going to have to watch your back – just like you would in NYC or any major city. The more low-key you are in any part of Bogota, the better. Also, by NYC standards, taxis are ridiculously cheap in Bogota. So don't be afraid of booking something a little further North and cabbing it to the downtown area for the tourist attractions.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank yedilala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2014

This place is perfectly clean, has friendly and helpful staff and is very reasonably priced. I stayed in 3 similar places in Chapinero, this one was the best value. One other hotel insisted on me taking a 'mandatory' tourist insurance for COP 5.000 (which appears not to be mandatory at all); another one was not so clean & had grumpy staff at breakfast. Next time I will go back to Pauliina.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2014

Definitely good mid-budget option (40$ for double) or if you stay longer and need something more comfortable.

The location is about 20min by public transportation from the old city. And it is on very traffic road 63, which makes it a bit noisy for the rooms with windows to the street.

The rooms are super clean and bright with good and fast WiFi, cable TV and fridge (!) with good mattresses. They are nice with wooden floor. But, a bit noisy as the walls are probably quite weak. This is one of the weaknesses of this hotel.

There is a shared kitchen which is super clean. Also there is a free coffee/tea in the lobby. The hotel offers laundry for 2500/pound (just next to the hotel it is for 3000 and in the city center it's 1700).

The staff is very professional and helpful - one of the most I ever witnessed.

Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Zdekal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I found Hotel Casa Paulina to be a nice little hotel located in the Chapinero area. My walk to transmilenio station 63 on avenida caracas from the hotel was about five to ten minutes.

The hotel has cameras out front of the hotel so you enter by ringing a bell and they buzz you in. The hotel offers free coffee and tea for customers but no breakfast, lunch or dinner is available. You must leave your key at the front desk when leaving the hotel.

I did like that the hotel had a small kitchen,microwave, some utensils/plates to make small meals like breakfast (eggs and chorizo) or instant soup. No refrigerator is available in the kitchen. There is an Olimpica mercado near the hotel where you can do some shopping if you like.

The hotel does Not have a separate area for customers to use the internet (sala de internet) if you are traveling without a laptop and the hotel only accepts cash.

The room (number 18 on the 4th floor) was small but not claustrophobic. It had a nice sized dresser where I was able to store all my clothes. The room even had a small refrigerator to store food/drinks.

The bed was okay and I did notice that my linens (pillowcases and bed spread were not changed daily. I slept pretty well and noise levels were not a problem. Staff of about 3 to 5 women were helpful with basic questions. The full length towels were clean and the bathroom was arranged/decoratednicely..

The neighborhood was busy. Daytime exploring was cool and I felt safe since there were a lot of people around doing business and using public transportation. At night, the area was busy as there are clubs, billares, restaurants and bars that are open late but I felt safe.

I managed to get a rate of COP 60 per night.

Room Tip: Room 18, 19, 20, 21 are all on the 4th floor and its pretty quiet.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank bryant p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Kind of comfortable nothing to brag about. Service staff was somewhat help full if you are use to luxuary this is not the place. Cabs are available everywhere around this hotel. If you are on a budget this will do fine.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank DeaconVince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews