We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (421)
Filter reviews
421 results
Traveller rating
263
116
26
6
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
263
116
26
6
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews high season rooms are small indoor pool punta fireplace taxis maintenance sauna
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 421 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2016

We heard Punta del Este was a pricey, party town. We booked a room for one night towards the end of season (late-March) hoping to enjoy a bit of the town's charm at better prices and without the crowds. We were lucky to book this hotel for half price. Had we paid full price this review would have read a lot differently…

The positives… Everything but the room. We were given a welcome glass of champagne upon check in. The staff were pleasant and friendly. The dining area is next to the beach overlooking the peninsula and the small island in the middle of the bay. There are day beds on the beach for lounging and a pool. (It was storming when we were there and did not visit the pool area.) Breakfast is a full spread of fruits, meats, cheeses, yogurts and cereals with eggs available upon request.

Why we will not go back… The room was simply a room (bed, TV, bathroom) with nothing decorative (which is a shame given the Uruguayan love of art) and with a terrace facing the parking lot (and highway). Based on our room's proximity to the elevator (and stairway) we got all the sounds from reception downstairs. We also heard the guests moving around upstairs. It was also the small things... There was only one outlet in the room so my husband and I took turns charging electronics between this outlet and the only other outlet in the bathroom. One of the closet doors wouldn't open. The room (and really hotel in general) could use a paint job (see picture of chipping paint in bathroom).

The running joke of our stay in Punta was that the room was only $300 (meaning we went "cheap") so what more could we expect?!‎ I guess the rumors were true... You need to plan on spending a lot more to get a better quality room.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2016

It's a beautiful hotel !
Everything about this hotel is wonderful ! ..the service, the food, the ambiance , the large flower arrangements ..the owners and the view of the ocean from this private and very quiet little paraiso in Punta Del este ! Away from the noise , yet close enough to be part of it all ! The best thing about it , it foes NOT allow children ! Good place to really relax ! And ...p.s. Best pizza in Punta!

Room Tip: Just request whatever room you want ...they all look out over something pretty
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Silvie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2016

Serena Hotel in Punta del Este provided a much needed retreat from bustling Buenos and Aires. We planned our day/night between BA and Montevideo as a beach getaway and Serena Hotel was the perfect spot. The hotel is located a couple miles from the main area of Punte del Este so you feel secluded and can enjoy a very private beach. It is also very easy to drive ten minutes to town for restaurants, shops, and the marina if you want to explore. We were upgraded upon arrivel and greeted with complimentary champagne in the restaurant where we enjoyed delicious ceviche for lunch. If you are looking for R&R in Punte del Este this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank froulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2016 via mobile

Large clean rooms with very comfortable beds. The staff were brilliant, always there to help when we needed it. The pool is lovely and surrounded by beds and mattresses to lie on and right beside a quite beach. Pleasantly surprised. Food great. Very chilled. We went in high season and it didn't ever feel crowded.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2015 via mobile

Rooms were clean, staff was very friendly, and the view was great. Food was good and you are close enough to drive 5 mins and be at the harbor but far enough away to have a little bit of peace if you need. The pool and cabanas are picturesque. I would definitely go back.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
2  Thank Real-Vacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sergio G, Gerente at Serena Hotel Punta del Este, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2015
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por sus comentarios.
Los esperamos para una próxima visita.
Saludos cordiales
Sergio Gutiérrez
Gerente

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews