We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moving on up, it's complicated”
Review of Hyatt Capital Gate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Capital Gate
Ranked #13 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
United States
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Moving on up, it's complicated”
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Hands down one of the most luxurious and cutting-edge stays I have had at an executive/business hotel. From the building lobby, you travel to the hotel reception on the 18th floor. A second, separate elevator bank then whisks you to your floor (and possibly others for no apparent reason, you must often press your floor button several times). Room was Park Avenue posh, with contemporary decor, extensive use of marble and wood, beautiful glass lamps and vases, home theatre, bath fit for Caracalla. Vertical glass wall panels separate the room from the outer, tilted glass and steel frame of the building. Most every detail, down to shaving and dental kit, even electrical outlet in the room safe, was thoughtfully provided. For the uninitiated, the extensive and not quite obvious, control panels leave something to be desired. Much like navigating the controls of a luxury car for the first time, there is a steep learning curve, which should be better explained upon arrival to the room and in a manual. There are controls for curtains, sheers, dimmers, too numerous to count recessed lights, bed lamps, televisions, speaker volume in the bathroom for the bedroom television, bathtub television, bathtub itself, ventilation controls, home theatre, even under cabinet lights in the bathroom. Unfortunately, ventilation and lighting controls are the most vital, and most confusing of the bunch, and I never quite mastered them. I overheard other guests in the elevator with similar difficulties operating bath and shower controls. Overall, hotel management attempts to go above and beyond expectations in delivering an exceptional experience, and succeeds. If you have business at the adjacent ADNEC or nearby embassies, look no further. There is not much in the immediate area in the way of restaurants, shopping, or entertainment; however, taxis are plentiful and the hotel restaurant and ground floor snack facilities are excellent.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnotherOpinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    847
    252
    48
    27
    9
See reviews for
184
375
112
334
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Every aspect of this hotel exceeded my expectations—by a lot.

First the big picture: the building is awesome. This incredibly high standard, functional art, exists in every aspect of the hotel: the service, the interiors, the cuisine, the pool and spa.

I haven't been this excited about a hyatt since they built the Park Hyatt Tokyo.

Delightful, inspiring, comfortable, amazing value—I can't wait to come back and will stay longer next time.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gandaratravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desiree G, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Capital Gate, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
Dear Guest

We are deeply humbled by your wonderful review and comparison to Park Hyatt Tokyo. As we strive towards the goal of meeting and exceeding our guests expectations through the service we provide, its comments such as yours that encourage us on a daily basis – thank you.

We too look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Nicely build hotel, good service and excellent rooms. TV location out of whack and tap in bathroom leaves no room for hands to go under:)

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Idenburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desiree G, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Capital Gate, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to provide your valuable feedback.

While we do appreciate the TV’s in some of our rooms may be in precarious places, did you know the reason for this is every single room in our hotel is unique in shape and size? No two rooms are the same! As such, all fittings are custom built for each room and occasionally, we do encounter challenges with furniture placement. This just means that every time you stay with us, it will truly be a unique experience! We do hope it wasn’t placed to awkwardly and you were able to relax and enjoy your favourite programme.

We will take your feedback on board and see if we can perhaps improve the positioning in some of our rooms.

At this stage however, we’re not too sure how to assist with the sinks but we hope the beautiful design overcame any inconvenience caused :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We only had an hour to eat lunch in the signature restaurant 18* and instead of being putout the staff could not have been more accommodating. Our whole meal was flawless. The food was delicious and beautifully presented, and the attentiveness and knowledge of the waiting team was extraordinary. When it was time to go, we didn't want to leave. Having lived in the UAE for 4 years I have never encountered such high standards of staff training, they went above and beyond. We were truly impressed.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 1Leonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desiree G, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Capital Gate, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Dear Guest

Your feedback regarding the excellent service you received in 18º is truly humbling.

We appreciate the time you took to provide your generous thoughts and comments and we look forward to providing you exceptional service the next time to you visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Hyatt Capital Gate has a lot to offer. Stunning views, science-defying architecture, beds so comfortable they practically hug you to sleep, the highest swimming pool in Abu Dhabi. The list goes on. But what made our stay one of the best we have ever experienced is the staff. They are helpful, knowledgeable, friendly, professional, courteous and genuinely make you feel that your happiness and comfort is their priority. I hope Hyatt management are smart enough to realise how lucky they are and to hold on to these amazing people.

Yamama

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Yamama A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desiree G, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Capital Gate, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
Dear Guest

What a lovely positive review you have written for us, thank you! We’re delighted to know that all our staff, in all departments exceeded your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
12.2 km away
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
Jumeirah at Etihad Towers
#1 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,150 reviews
5.8 km away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
18.1 km away
Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi
Yas Viceroy Abu Dhabi
#5 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 km away
Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche
Sofitel Abu Dhabi Corniche
#9 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
2,720 reviews
12.8 km away
Emirates Palace
Emirates Palace
#7 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
3,215 reviews
5.2 km away
The Ritz-Carlton Abu Dhabi, Grand Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Capital Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Capital Gate

Property: Hyatt Capital Gate
Address: 1 Street | P.O. Box 95165, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Capital Gate 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Capital Gate Abu Dhabi is a premium business hotel located in the iconic Capital Gate building, which leans a record-breaking 18 degrees. The hotel is also a part of the Abu Dhabi National Exhibition Centre (ADNEC), the largest conference and exhibition venue in the Middle East.Hyatt Capital Gate Abu Dhabi offers 189 luxury five-star guestrooms and suites occupying the18th to 33rd floors of the Capital Gate building. It has a contemporary and luxurious design with panoramic views from floor-to-ceiling windows.Bringing a new focus to style and design in the city, the hotel invites guests to experience several dining options from the variety of Mediterranean flavours at the hotel’s signature restaurant, 18˚. For something more intimate, there is the residential-style Lounge located on the 18th Floor.Rayana Spa, Abu Dhabi’s only “sky spa”, is perched on the 19th floor overlooking the city. The Spa offers “a refreshingly elevated oasis experience” that complements the Fitness Centre, suspended outdoor pool and whirlpool.Hyatt Capital Gate Abu Dhabi is strategically located within walking distance of the UAE capital’s embassy and government district. It is less than ten minutes’ drive from the UAE Armed Forces General Headquarters (GHQ) and the twofour54 media zone. The international airport is a 15-minute limousine or taxi ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hyatt Capital Gate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing