We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just not worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Traders Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Ranked #35 of 128 Hotels in Abu Dhabi
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Just not worth it”
Reviewed 4 April 2012

I stayed at the Traders in Abu Dhabi for 5 days with my wife. I had chosen the hotel as part of the Shangri-La group and having stayed at other Traders properties in Asia and was expecting the same sort of treatment.

Maybe I was just unlucky as the stay was blighted by a variety of niggles which could be overlooked on a one off but cumulatively they added to a real irritation. We booked a club room to provide access to the lounge and accompanying benefits. The room allocated was on the 8th floor and was very large but wholly impersonal. It had a dining table in a corner that served no real purpose seemingly other than to fill up the wasted space. The lighting in the room was poor and only had a small window and balcony that opened up to a view of the building works several floors below. One shining light was the bathroom which was well lit and spacious and regularly topped up.

The lounge was disappointing. It was small in comparison to other properties and was not non-smoking which made it unpleasant particularly as the sofas and comfy chairs were all in the smoking area. Consequently you had the choice of sitting on hard chairs around the buffet area to avoid the smoke. The temperature was not right and often the air-conditioning was too cold. Breakfast in the lounge was adequate but the choice was limited. The happy hour in the evening attracted high numbers which left limited places to sit and the buffet frequently ran out leaving a poor choice if you were late in.
The beach area was pleasant and well-tended and all the lifeguards on duty for the days that we were there were very helpful which is more than can be said about others.

My experience of the other staff around the hotel was poor. Many, while fluent in English just didn’t understand what you were trying to ask. Maybe I was just asking the wrong questions! I had problems with the front desk in particular who I considered were just not good enough.

Travelling extensively I come across stays from time to time which have problems and this was one. Overall, my experience was poor and I would not stay there again and equally would not recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hudson0605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    937
    469
    100
    20
    32
See reviews for
346
561
125
301
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Muscat, Oman
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

i have spent a weekend in the hotel with the family. this hotel is under rated. the room is fabulous, the bathrooms are large, the view is great, the lobby is bright and beautiful and the staff are always smiling and very friendly. the breakfast is also very nice with lots of dishes to choose from. will defiantly stay here next time when i come here to abu dhabi

Room Tip: ask for a high floor room with a beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Omani_madridi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Traders for 8 days, we booked a Traders Superior room, had a sea/beach view and access to the lovely lounge throughout the day starting with an excellent breakfast, soft drinks whenever we wanted during the day and buffet snacks(meals) with free alcoholic beverages in the evening.

The staff throughout the hotel were always attentive, polite and helpful, exceptional.

We found that there was so much to do in Abu Dhabi and Al Ain that we ran out of time. Taxi's are cheap, so are buses and the hotel provides transport to various places in Abu Dhabi including Yas Island for Ferrari World and the Formula 1 race track. Take note though that the functions at the track take place in the morning (circuit tour) and the hotel bus goes in the afternoon therefore better to make your own way there in the morning.

We were also going to go to Dubai for the day by coach - don't go on a Friday, long queues.

Abu Dhabi was a surprisingly great place to visit, guaranteed weather and lovely people. We will definitely return.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

excellent hotel, great staff, spacious and gorgeous room, great bathroom. the dinner/breakfast all you can eat and drink package very convenient, specially if you want to drink some wine or beer, since liquor is very expensive in the Emirates

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myriam-Arroyave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

A wonderful place to stay with a very kind attentive staff. Great bed, great shower.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ForrestWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abu Dhabi hotels
0.6 km away
Shangri-La Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
15.9 km away
Sheraton Abu Dhabi Hotel & Resort
15.6 km away
Southern Sun Abu Dhabi
Southern Sun Abu Dhabi
#8 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
1,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
Fairmont Bab Al Bahr
#23 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
2,368 reviews
18.1 km away
Khalidiya Palace Rayhaan by Rotana
8.7 km away
Al Raha Beach Hotel
Al Raha Beach Hotel
#30 of 128 in Abu Dhabi
2,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Traders Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traders Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi

Property: Traders Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi
Address: Qaryat Al Beri Complex | Between the bridges, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Abu Dhabi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#24 Business Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#26 Family Hotel in Abu Dhabi
#34 Luxury Hotel in Abu Dhabi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Traders Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi 4*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a private beach overlooking the strait that separates Abu Dhabi Island from the mainland, Traders Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi is a contemporary luxury hotel in Abu Dhabi situated ten minutes' drive from the city's international airport, five minutes from the golf course and the Convention Centre and 15 minutes from the Corniche and city centre. The hotel features 301 well-appointed rooms and suites, all furnished to the highest standards in a modern and contemporary style. Rooms start at a spacious 32 square metres and for travellers requiring the highest levels of service and attention, the hotel also offers 93 Traders Club rooms and suites with a dedicated lounge on the 9th floor. Additional benefits of staying at Traders Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi include the ease of access to a whole complex, including cross-signing privileges for CHI, the Spa at Shangri-La and Shangri-La operated restaurants and bars. All areas can be accessed by club cars, while just a short stroll away is the Abras (Arabic gondola) waterway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Traders Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traders Hotel, Qaryat Al Beri, Abu Dhabi Hotel Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing