We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (10)
Filter reviews
10 results
Traveller rating
0
4
5
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
0
4
5
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 10 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2010

Nice Hotel , staff very nice , food a bit different one night we had cat on the menu a bit like rabbit but it was ok. I would give it 3 of out 5

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Latch1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2010

Stayed here for 3 nights in early March 2010. Prior to this we checked out the four hotels on tje Muttrah corniche which were cheaper but did not really meet our needs . Of the four we thought the Marina was the best, all were preety cramped and the Corniche had the old noisey in the window A/cs.

The Hala is located in the business area in walking distance of nothing so you will need your own transoprt or use buses or taxis. The surrondings are open but a bit grim with building sites close by . It seems to be used by quite a few short term business visitors . The lobby is big and impressive and the rooms comfortable but the funiture was showing signs opf wear with totn covers on the settee, bathroom fittings detached from wall and faulty taps ( which was fixed whilst we were there). The kitchen was poorly equipped and not really sufficint foif self catering ( no hob , pots or pans ), Breakfast, liunch and dinner were available in the restaurant for 2.5 RO per meal. Stay here if you want reasonably priced accommodation and have transport. If not you may want to try the corniche hotels . Internet available in the room if you have your own laptop at a charge . No pool

Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Taipo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2009

This hotel has just been refurbished so it looks excellent. I stayed in a one bed room apartment and it was really clean and spacious. The service was very good and for the price I thought that this was an excellent hotel. The only downside is that its located in a construction site, but that didn't effect us.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kayka80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2009

The saying you get what you pay for rings true about the Hala. We went to Oman to learn how to dive so spent 4 days out in the water and were not looking for a fancy hotel. The rooms were spacious and clean, although the fittings in the rooms were a little ineffective - such as the shower.

The breakfasts were terrible and if you were not down for breakfast before 9am there was nothing left. It was not such a big deal for us as they were truly quite bad. We ended up going to the supermarket and stocking up our room fridge with breakfast items (although no toaster or plates in the rooms).

The location of the hotel is not great - it is called the CBD but really there is not much around. You need your own car to get anywhere. There were a few restaurants within walking distance but nothing worth noting in this review.

If you are looking for a really basic place to stay then Hala is fine. We paid 30OR per night (during peak season) so I really cant complain as our main purpose for visiting Muscat was to go diving and we hardly spent anytime at the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sqweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2009

Room: The room was decent enough. Very basic, with sat tv, air con, small fridge to store items, but no safe. Huge closet, which is ample space for two people. Room was clean. I can understand that some might find it noisy, as the hotel seems to be in the middle of a construction site, but apart from a half hour period one night, never heard anything else. Rating:(3/5)

Staff: Staff was not very knowledgeable. I like to ask staff for tips on places where locals go to eat or where to get local food, and they really couldn’t suggest anything other than costa coffee or starbucks. As well, you need taxis everywhere in Muscat and they aren’t really able to give you a ball park figure of how much it might cost to get to places.
Rating:(2/5)

Location: There doesn’t seem to be an “ideal” spot in Muscat, as restaurants and attractions are all over the place. Hotel is on top of a hill, and the nearest thing is a Shell station about 5 minutes away. You can’t just stay and hang around the hotel and eat in the area as there is nothing around. Thus had to rely on taxis, and it can be costly, depending on your negotiating skills (taxis don’t have meters). Don’t ask hotel to call for taxis then you will pay at least double the rate you can negotiate if you hail one on the street. If staying in Muscat for more than two nights, would strongly recommend renting a car. It is easier and probably cheaper way to get around.
Rating:(2/5)

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizarazu20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews