We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveller rating
69
37
18
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
69
37
18
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the owner his son perfect location roman ruins bread top floor visiting jerash rooftop room room was spotless triple room two nights watching the sun go down a lovely family run hotel lower price brilliant hotel friendly owners low season
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 129 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2017

We spent just one night at this quaint, five-room family-owned hotel on our way through Jerash. But I can see why some visitors use it as a base in the area because:

1) the owner, Ismail Khasim, and his son, Walid, make you feel so welcome from the minute you step inside.
2) the location is right across the street from the ruins--you can't stay overnight any closer than this.
3) the rooms are spotless and the hotel has lots of outdoor communal space
4) breakfast is served on the terrace, although when we were there, it was cold, so we to eat indoors and were grateful when Ismail rolled the propane heater over to our table.
5) Jordan is a relatively expensive country, but this hotel is reasonably-priced
6) The free wifi worked great!

I mean, what's not to like? We ate one meal at the inexpensive shawarma place down the street and another meal (at Ismail's recommendation) at the Green Valley Restaurant, a couple of kilometers down the road. The Green Valley had great Lebanese food and service--and it was a lot less expensive than the better-known and fancier Lebanese House, which is also nearby.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank blueloon26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2017 via mobile

A lovely family run hotel directly opposite the Roman ruins. Very accommodating staff consisting of a father and son. Highly recommend....Jerash is a small town 50 miles from the Syrian border but it is very safe and the inn keepers speak English well enough to help you plan your stay. The ruins can take 2 days to go though...

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Tourist2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2016

This place is perfectly located and the owner and his son are very helpful. They are simply very nice people who run a nice little and very clean hotel. We stayed in the upstairs suite and had a huge balcony to ourselves. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank HarmonIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

Yes the rooms here are somewhat basic and certainly not to the standard in a large 5 star chain. However the warm welcome and convenient location to the ancient city of Gerasa more than make it for it.

My partner and I opted to stay in the King room which was a very generous size and had a huge outdoor terrace looking onto the ruins. The room had everything you would need- including a fridge, hairdryer, ironing board and hair straighteners! The linen and towels were good quality.

The owners were very friendly and gave us lots of helpful information about the area.

Best way to book this place is by telephone. Owners speak very good English.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank CandyB101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2016 via mobile

Ismail and Walib, father and son, run an impeccably clean hotel right across the street from the ancient city of Gerasa, in Jerash. Their hospitality is amazing. We had lessons in cardamom coffee brewing, and thoughtful conversations about the Middle East. Business is hurting due to the current mess in Syria, but we have found Jordan safe and eager for tourism.

In our triple w/ ensuite bath, there is a TV, fan, mini fridge, shampoo, soaps, ear buds, hair dryer, magnifying mirror and ironing board. Bath towels are thick and plush. Internet is fine in the lobby, and OK in the room. Hot water must be planned and heated, but stays hot for a while. Breakfast is simple: HB egg, cheese, tomato, cucumber, bread, juice, coffee or tea.

Ismail showed us all the rooms and they are spotless. The "penthouse" has air conditioning, Queen bed, and private rooftop patio with views of the ruins.

Stay in Hadrian's Gate Hotel and explore the north of Jordan... No tourist crowds.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
3  Thank m g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews