We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I like this Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramat Rachel Resort
Ranked #42 of 101 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 December 2011

It's not in the city, about 10 km from the city center, but it's a nice and clean Hotel.
The rooms are new renovated, medium size, most of them with a wonderful view to the south, Betlehem and Herodion can be seen on bright days.
The breakfast is simple but good, not a lot of variety, like many other Hotels in Israel, but enough to start the day.

Room Tip: Ask for view
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Israeltourguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
There are newer reviews for Ramat Rachel Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

164 - 168 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2011

We were totally overjoyed with our hotel. We had done an overnight tour through Thomson cruises and had no idea until the time we arrived as to what hotel we would be staying at.
The room was huge and the view overlooked the city of Bethlehem, it was an awesome view.
Our room was very modern, comfortable and had everything we needed to make our overnight stay as comfortable as possible. There was tea and coffee facilities in the room and the television had quite a few British channels.

We had our evening meal and our breakfast at the hotel and found the quality and choice available excellent.

If we were to visit this area again we would most definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blanche&DaveMcColl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights for friends wedding.
Well run large kibbutz hotel with wonderful views of Judean Hills. ,Rooms recently updated and include safe in every room so no idea why previous reviewer should have any money stolen from room!
Large pool area and own buffet restaruant.
Hotel caters mainly for tour groups and is a little outside Jerusalem but is certainly very good value

Room Tip: some rooms have Jacuzzi
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joe3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

This year I did not stay in one of the rooms but attende confrence in the different halls dailly from 29th september 2011 to 10th october 2011.
I found the whole environment breath taking and discovered the different gardens I did not get to see last year . I found them really beautiful.
The restaurant too is good.there is constant supply of whatever you want perticularly water. In preparation for Yom Kippur there was notice for all to see at the entrance and special lunch pack for anyone who would need.
I had special lunch arrenged for a group of us in one of the gardens.
It was nice watching the waiters trying hard to meet up with the demand.
They made a good effort and I must commend them for that.
Another group of workers who need commendation is the cleaners.
I watched how the come in intermitently. And clean up after unendind users of the toilets and replenish supply of tissue
They at reguler time close up one area so they can clean up properly.
The array of Sar er tour buses. In the spacious car pack was another thing that facinated me.
Here there was space to accommodate any number of buses unlike many others
They had shops internet facilities and currecy exchange center.
Their phone boot was very helpful to my friends and I
Am looking forward to booking my room earlier next year so that I would not miss staying here

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MgdaleneI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

I stayed at Ramat Rachel in August of 2010 with a colleague and a group of 14 of our students as part of a month long trip to Israel. We had planned on spending two weeks at Ramat Rachel while participating in archaeological research. We left after the first week. On the first day, while we were at the archaeological site, someone broke into one of our rooms and stole nearly $200. After that, we all took our valuables to the site each day. This was fortunate as some of our rooms were entered and our possessions gone through and things taken almost every day we were at the hotel.

While these daily break ins and thefts were disturbing enough, the response of the hotel was truly horrific. They did not take the break ins seriously, said that they trusted their staff, and said that it must be someone from our group. Our schedule was well known to the staff so anyone could have entered our rooms while we were at the dig site - and someone did. Additionally, part of our group was in the hostel, which uses typical keys to access rooms, and part was in the hotel, which uses magnetic swipe cards to access rooms. We had thefts from both areas. Finally, during the remainder of our travels in Israel, we did not have a single problem with security. Clearly, the problem was Ramat Rachel.

If you do stay here - something I would never recommend - at least be sure to stay in the hotel. The hostel is run down and ill kept - and I sometimes live in the jungle in a tent for months at a time, so it is not simply that I need luxury.

Please do yourself a favor and find somewhere else to stay. There are many, many options.

Room Tip: Avoid the hostel at all costs.
  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank omanskme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Hotel Yehuda
#8 of 101 in Jerusalem
774 reviews
Eden Jerusalem Hotel
#36 of 101 in Jerusalem
470 reviews
Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem
#19 of 101 in Jerusalem
2,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mount Zion Hotel
#20 of 101 in Jerusalem
1,138 reviews
Givat Ram
Ramada Jerusalem
Ramada Jerusalem
#62 of 101 in Jerusalem
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramat Rachel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramat Rachel Resort

Address: Kibbutz Ramat Rachel | D.N Tzfon Yehuda, Jerusalem 90900, Israel
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#30 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range: €79 - €266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramat Rachel Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ramat Rachel Resort offers first class accommodations and a kibbutz experience in the heart of Jerusalem. Situated in a tranquil garden, the hotel features large spacious rooms with views over breathtaking natural surroundings. The resort is surrounded by landscaped gardens, natural flora and large green expanses. The hotel staff offers dedicated personal service to guests. The resort is located just a 15 minute drive from downtown Jerusalem Nearby public transport offers bus connections to the city center every 20 minutes Free onsite parking for hotel guests Conferences and events are available and tailored to guest needs and requirements. Hotel Facilities: The hotel restaurant offers a buffet of Israeli and international cuisine for lunch and dinner, as well as a diverse Israeli-style buffet breakfast. A café and two shops are open to guests in the lobby. Due to scheduling changes in construction of Ramat Rachel's new Sports Center for summer 2017, only one swimming pool will be open this summer. The 1.20-meter pool has designated areas for laps and free swimming. Throughout the summer, guests can enjoy a new inflatable water playground, as well as Jerusalem's longest water slide. A children's pool will not be available for use this summer. Have a safe and happy summer! The Hotel Staff. The Sports Center is open to hotel guests from 6:00 a.m. to 10:00 pm. Entrance to Ramat Rachel's Sports Center-Country Club is free to all hotel guests. The facilities are modern and spacious, and the equipment is state-of-the-art. The Center is the perfect combination of utter tranquility and fitness activities of every type. The facility is equipped with the most advanced machines and equipment available, and experienced trainers are on site throughout the day. The Jacuzzi and dry and steam saunas, also open to hotel guests, are a great way to unwind while on vacation. Swimming Pools: A covered, heated pool is open every season of the year for lap swimming and any type of water exercise. In the summer of 2017, we will inaugurate new pools for the enjoyment of guests. Fitness Room: The fitness room at the Sports Center renews itself constantly to provide the most up-to-date, sophisticated machines and equipment available. It is open free of charge to guests in Superior rooms (age 16 and older), with a modest fee charged to other guests. Along with construction of the new swimming pools, begun this September2016 , we are renovating and upgrading the entire Sports Center. All activities will continue to take place during this time. We apologize for any temporary inconvenience. Adjacent to the hotel, guests enjoy access to diverse family-friendly kibbutz attractions: the Olive Park, Yair Lookout, an archeological site and 'Eyal Farm' - an eco-therapeutic farm that serves as an educational home in the disciplines of sustainability, ecology, environmentalism and animal rights. Nearby Attractions: Kibbutz Ramat Rachel overlooks Jerusalem's numerous historical heritage sites. It serves as the perfect base point for city tours and is also conveniently close to the city's lively nightlife and cultural sites, including the German Colony, The First Station, Chan Theater and Alrov Mamilla Avenue. Guests also enjoy the proximity to Yes Planet movie theaters, the Jerusalem Biblical Zoo, the Bloomfield Science Museum, the Israel Museum and the Hadar and Malcha malls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ramat Rachel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramat Rachel Jerusalem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing