We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful hotel and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem
Ranked #42 of 102 Hotels in Jerusalem
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Had to stay here for 2 nights for a conference. Ugh.

Dirty, not well maintained, and dingy rooms. Water in shower stayed hot for about 2 minutes. The staff were rude except for the concierge (Bennie). They charge 30 shekel to use the gym (about $7.50) but why do they charge at all? The breakfast was so-so. Overcooked hard boiled eggs, the usual cheese and yogurt, bread and salads. But it was poorly organized and there was always something missing from one's table. It is also pretty much out of the way from the Old City and most other tourist attractions. But the staff and their rudeness and inhospitable attitude is really what I will remember for a long time.

If you are thinking of staying here, thing again and again and go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travellingnurse50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,625)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,002 - 1,006 of 1,625 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2012

Pros:

Good and plentiful breakfast and dinners. Front desk concierge was very helpful in arranging tours.

Cons:

This Hotel had dirty stained carpets in the hallways, there were gaps between the carpet and the tile floor in the hallway, a cracked veneer on the door to our room (revealing the pressed wood core), no shower curtain - which made getting in and out of the shower dangerous, dirty and stained tiles on the bathroom floor (the grout was never cleaned away), no TV channels worth watching, and not the nicest dining room staff.

It was almost like the hotel got it 80% but gave up trying to fix the last details needed to make the place truly a 4 start hotel. It is too bad because the hotel could really pop with a little TLC.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Have stayed there with my wife in January 2012.
our room was partly renovated. The (only) chair in the room was broken. a few bulbs in the bathroom and the room itself were burned out. No radio except one local station from Haifa.
Breakfast was just ok.
The general feeling you get is that no body in the hotel really cares. The only person that tried to help was a young arab recepionist.
maintenance is very poor.
definately not " a home away from home".
not matching Crowne Plaza niveau.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benji433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Gues Relations Case Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2012

Dear Benji433,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us.
I invite you to come back when our renovation is complete to see how much we have improved.
If you need anything while you are here such as light bulbs, Just let us know and we will be
happy to fix the situation for you. Once again thank you for your review.

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Having stayed at the Jerusalem Crowne Plaza hotel many times in the past, I knew what to expect (it's in a great location, has an excellent Spa and free wi-fi but has only average facilities).
This time however, it was a terrible experience! My room was pokey, smelly and old; there was a hole the size of a cheque-book in the carpet; there were wires hanging out of the electrical socket on the desk; it took 8-10 calls on 4-5 different numbers to get a staff member to answer) and my room wasn't made up when I returned, tired, at 4PM! The breakfast was acceptable but on the last day it was like a circus - with literally hundreds of people jostling for food!
I won't be staying there again. Avoid it if you can!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cyberquokka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, IHGCare at Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2012

Dear Cyberquokka,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,
Brenda J.
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

It is difficult to love your run-of-the-mill chain business hotel: an industrial tower, carpeted halls, generic rooms, non-descript service. But maybe you don't have to. The Crowne Plaza Hotel in Jerusalem provides you with adequate accommodations and a working internet connection, and if you are in town for a business meeting that is, essentially, all you need. The hotel offers no charm, no personalised service and no tempting options for dining or drinking.

The only quirk is the number of ultra-orthodox young couples who seem to have their first, parentially supervised dates in the hotel bar.

On the plus side, the gym was very nice, but pls. note that access to it is not included in the hotel price. I hassled the receptionist until she gave me a free pass.

If on business, the Crowne Plaza covers the basics and is conveniently located close to several government agencies. If you are in Jerusalem for pleasure, I would recommend looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swixpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Givat Ram
Ramada Jerusalem
Ramada Jerusalem
#62 of 102 in Jerusalem
37 reviews
Dan Jerusalem Hotel
#34 of 102 in Jerusalem
1,156 reviews
Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem
#19 of 102 in Jerusalem
2,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center Jerusalem
#27 of 102 in Jerusalem
619 reviews
Jerusalem Gardens Hotel & Spa
#46 of 102 in Jerusalem
621 reviews
Dan Boutique Jerusalem
#18 of 102 in Jerusalem
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem

Address: Givat Ram, Jerusalem 91130, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#14 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#22 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#29 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range: €82 - €220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem 4*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Jerusalem hotel is ideally located at the entrance to the capital, half an hour drive from Israel's international airport and within walking distance from the Knesset - the Israeli parliament and Supreme Court with their unique architecture, also in the vicinity the museums district. the Crowne Plaza Jerusalem hotel is the tallest building in the city and an impressive land mark. All rooms have balconies and are over looking the panoramic views of the old city and new quarters with breathtaking scenery of Judea hills in their backgrounds. The hotel offers a variety of banqueting solutions from 30 to 900 participants in a theater style seminar at our modern and audio-video equipped conference hall or at a sit down gourmet function as per your request. Within a few seconds walk the biggest indoor convention complex in Israel The ICC. At the Crowne Plaza Jerusalem You'll find the most updated executive services, Club lounge on the top 21st floor, Wireless high speed Internet connection in all rooms & public areas. Covered heated swimming pool and SPA including 2 tennis courts, gym, wet and dry sauna and workout studio classes. From It's great location you are invited to walk or a drive to each of this holy city's specially characterized historic areas and get back to your home away from home at the Crowne Plaza Jerusalem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Jerusalem
Jerusalem Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing