We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stayed one week, should have stayed two.”
Large Salon with Carpeted Marble Floors and Double Doors to Your Balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Large Salon with Carpeted Marble Floors and Double Doors to Your Balcony
Hand-made Brazilian Ipa wood seating in private balcony Complete kitchen with plenty of counter space; undercounter fridge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
68 reviews
Large Salon with Carpeted Marble Floors and Double Doors to Your Balcony
Hand-made Brazilian Ipa wood seating in private balcony
Complete kitchen with plenty of counter space; undercounter fridge
Custom made swirling staircase to bed and closet with plenty of headroom
US queen size latex bed with high-count cotton sheets
Bed on mezzanine has plenty of standing room beside it
Upstairs closet opposite the bed
Full size built in shower gushes hot water and won't splash the rest of the bathroom
Downstairs closet in bathroom
Full sized bathroom sink
The square underneath your balcony
Don't stay in your room; go out and join the fun...
Strawberries for sale in the Machane Yehuda market just behind your building!
Live the life of downtown Jerusalem...
Ben Yehuda Pedestrian Mall Downstairs
Agippas Promenade Downstairs
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 68 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Russian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
darwin31
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Stayed one week, should have stayed two.”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is the best place to stay in Jerusalem for active people on a budget. The location was unbeatable. The area is full of great restaurants and shops. There is the new light rail nearby, but most of the time we walked everywhere in order to see it better. Every street is a different experience. This is also a great home base for seeing other sites around Israel. We arranged to go to Bethlehem, Mount of Olives, Galilee, Tiberius, and Herod's port on the Ocean all with Abraham Hostel, which was a few blocks away. The tours are cheaper if you spend one night at the Hostel when you make your reservation. However, having your own apartment was much nicer than the hostel and less expensive too. The weather had just turned nice when we arrived near the end of February, with temperatures in mid-60's to 70 degrees. Perfect for walking around and not nearly as many tourists. It was about a 20 minute walk to the old city, which takes many days to explore just by itself. About halfway to the old city is a great market with all the food that you can imagine. It is wall to wall people and great fun getting enough food for Shabbat, etc., a great experience.
The owner was wonderful and very helpful. The apartment has a great design and was extremely clean. The rooms with a balcony are a must in nice weather. The street is fascinating to watch. King George street does not allow passenger cars, only cabs and buses. We arrived by bus from Eilat and figured out how to take the light rail to within two blocks of the apartment. We were able to do a load of laundry in the common hall area. I think that there were 4 apartments in all through this owner on the third floor. We were able to arrange a cab to take us to Ben Gurion airport when we left, which was a nice luxury. There was a great bakery on the first floor of the Ottoman styled apartment building and a fantastic Shwarma place on the corner. We loved using wifi out on the balcony. We would definitely stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lloveisra...
Kenosha, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 25 March 2014 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

The design is charming, the location is great! Eliana is kind to let us borrow a washing machine and dryer, guitar and some extras for the kitchen from her office. We walked to the Kotel, there's Ben Yehudah Street half a block away, the market has everything! and it's only several blocks away. 24 hr store just down the street. Nice and cool airconditioning in summer. Outside balcony for watching city life. It was perfect for us!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve-n-B...
Chattanooga, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location in Jerusalem”
Reviewed 27 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed at KGS 10 days in February and the location literally couldn't have been better for us. 10 or 15 minute walk to the old city and less than 10 minutes to Davidka square, our meeting point for day trips with Abraham tours. Also many bakerys and shawarma shops around. Restaurants, groceries, market, pharmacy, souvenirs and ATMs were also a short stroll away. My wife felt safe here and the owner, Eliana was an absolute pleasure to deal with and to talk with whenever we saw her. The washer and dryer was a huge plus as laundry/dry cleaning is very expensive in Jerusalem! We were allowed to store our luggage here after an early check-out as we took a day trip before our late-night flight. There is no elevator and no TV but we came to walk around and do things, not watch TV :) Highly recommended and we would definitly stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N T
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Excellent location, excellent price, excellent host”
Reviewed 4 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014
3
people found this review helpful

I chose the King George Suites because of their TripAdvisor reviews and having stayed there I am happy to be able to recommend this property.

Location: 2 minutes walk to Jaffa Centre Light Rail stop. This puts you 3 stops from the Damascus Gate entrance to the old city, 4 stops from the Central bus station and offers a direct connection to Mount Herzl if you want to visit Yad Vashem. I found this to be very useful,especially when leaving with a heavy case -from the apartment to the departure gate of the bus station in less than 20 minutes for a little over £1.20. Even though I used neither, buses and taxis run past the front door constantly. There are numerous shops, restaurants, takeaway food outlets, banks and Bureau de change kiosks right on you doorstep, there's also a great food market, it really is the best location.

Price and amenities: for what you get the price is very fair. The apartment isn't 5 star luxury, but you aren't paying 5 star prices. It is very clean and we'll thought out and the host provides little extras like herbs, spices, oils and vinegars if you want to prepare a meal. It was very compact, but perfect for 1 and would be fine for 2. The shower worked well and the water was warm. The toilet was very clean as was the cooking area and sink. Basic cooking implements were provided, enough for snack preparation rather than a full meal - one hotplate and a microwave and kettle are available. There is also coffee and tea. My bed was up a small spiral staircase on a Mezzanine level and had a memory foam mattress which was SO comfy. In the Hall are a new washing machine and drier which you share with the other two apartments. You can hear the programme complete chimes go off so you know when they are free. Soap and full instructions provided at no extra charge. There was also an iron and desktop pc/phone which I didn't use. The wifi connection was good, secure and.
reliable. The street door has an entry code, however, I only found it locked one evening. There's an entry code locked door to the Hall area and then you ha e your own room ke. The window I had to the back of the building had bars, so was safe to leave open all day to keep the room aired. The aircon works well, which may be important as the area is bustling. There's a bar/club across the junction and on Thursday night around midnight it was fairly busy outside with people meeting up and queuing. Once I shut the window the noise was minimal. If you are not used to city noise it might be an idea to bring earplugs just in case, but noise didn't trouble me. Be aware that there is no lift in the building and there are about 50 steps (with landings) to/from Street level.

Host: In a word, 'Perfect'. Eliana was a pleasure to deal with through the booking process, replied very quickly and answered all questions openly and honestly. Her description of the property was accurate and there were no unpleasant surprises on arrival - everything matched her description and photos. She advised me to take a sherut from the airport and waited for me despite the trip taking longer than expected due to having to take detours to drop others off through heavy traffic. As advertised she had fresh pastries from the bank downstairs waiting for me and we had a good chat while she ran over the essential property and local information. She was scrupulous about checking the exchange rate to ensure neither of us was being scalped on the rental and when she couldn't make change for a trading amount she owed me she insisted she would add it to my PayPal deposit refund, which she did within an hour of me emailing her to tell her I had checked out.

I would recommend the KGS to anyone who wants a comfortable, safe and central apartment without paying for fancy features you'll probably not use, but with all the practical ones you'll be glad to have. It also is a reassurance to have an honest and communicative host who clearly cards about the service she provides. Would I Stay there again? It would be my first choice.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, facilities, convenience and host
Liked least: Stairs and occasional Street noise
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olesya S
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Accommodation”
Reviewed 20 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I cannot describe my stay here with any word other than "perfect." The location couldn't be better: we walked everywhere! Owner Eliana is ever so helpful and welcoming. The apartment is clean, cozy, and spacious (yes, spacious!) enough for two people. The bed is super comfy, and even the couch you see on the lower level is quite comfortable to sleep on. Every little detail is worked out here with lots of care put into it. For instance, the apartment is located on one of the busiest streets, but the plastic window is sound proof so you won't hear any of it. Unfortunately, it is not wheelchair-accessible being located on the 4th floor of an old building with no elevator.

Eliana welcomed us with some wonderful pastry from a local bakery. If you do not intend to cook much, there is a wonderful French bakery and some local fast-food (falafel, shawarma, etc.) places downstairs. There's also a grocery store, lots of cafes, and souvenir shops across the street. Enjoy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$65
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing