We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old city dinning, Istanbul”
Review of Hamdi Restaurant

Hamdi Restaurant
Ranked #310 of 15,515 Restaurants in Istanbul
Price range: US$0 - US$43
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Grand Bazaar
Reviewed 18 June 2018

It was late afternoon when we went to the restaurant, It was not very busy, but the customer service was bad.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Karim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamdiRestaurants, Yönetici at Hamdi Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for your comments. Our aim to take good care of our valuable guests. You can be sure that our staff has been warned. Please let us know when you come back to Istanbul again and you will more than welcome in our restaurant. We want our customers for the best.

Thank you

Şevket Arpacı
Board Member

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,786)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

116 - 120 of 3,786 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2018 via mobile

We visited this restaurant as it was on the roof of the hotel we stayed. It was Ramadan time and we were advised that we have one hour only as Iftar was coming. Half of menu was absent, and the staff was busy with serving tables for what they called “organization”. In 30 minutes time waitress became nervous telling us it was time to vacant the table. We did. 75 Euros for snacks was the price. No complaints. Another 12 were added to the receipt upon check-out. For service

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank serdita003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamdiRestaurants, Yönetici at Hamdi Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for your comments. Our aim to take good care of our valuable guests. We apologize for the unfortunate events that occurred on the day you visited. Could you please share us with the date thay you were at our restaurant? We want to search what and why was going on like this for sure. You can be sure that our staff has been warned. Please let us know when you come back to Istanbul again and you will more than welcome in our restaurant. Please contact me from here when you will come to our restaurant again.

Thank you

Şevket Arpacı
Board Member

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2018

We have been to this restaurant for lunch and got some contradicting feelings. It is located in the great location (just next to Egyptian bazaar) and close to tram route and ferries. Food is also quite nice, nothing super special, but tastes fine. However, as mentioned in previous revies service is bad. Staff isn't welcoming and helpul, they don't smile, and you can't even talk about recommendations from their side. Also their English is limited, I would maybe understand it in other parts of the city, but not so close to tourist attractions. I also had an issue with some additional items added to the bill, and I now regret that I didn't mentioned it then (as it happened to other people also as per reviews).

So I don't feel like recommending this place, unfortunately.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank katarinaassam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamdiRestaurants, Yönetici at Hamdi Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for your comments. Our aim to take good care of our valuable guests. We apologize for the unfortunate events that occurred on the day you visited. Our staff will be warned you can be sure about that. Please let us know when you come back to Istanbul again and you will more than welcome in our restaurant. Please contact me from here when you will come to our restaurant again.

Thank you

Şevket Arpacı
Board Member

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018 via mobile

We went to the Hamdi restaurant overlooking the Galata bridge. The view from the top floor was very nice. The food was very good compared to other turkish restaurants in Istanbul, please do try the Turkish pizza (lahmacun) here, we felt it was the very best version of the many that we experienced in Istanbul.
Kebabs here are of course tasty. Didn't get to try the baklava as we eat too much during the appetiser and main course.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank richardLKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2018

The restaurant changed service during the last two visits in 2018 and 2017 but on the first visit in 2016 the service was great

The staff were unfriendly and treated inappropriately and they added things that were not ordered on the bill. This thing happened twice in 2017 and 2018. When the question was asked they apologized and corrected the bill but slowly we had to wait another 10 minutes to get the remaining amount of
Good food and overpriced prices

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank torism1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamdiRestaurants, Yönetici at Hamdi Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for your comments. Our aim to take good care of our valuable guests. We apologize for the unfortunate events that occurred on the day you visited. You can be sure that our staff has been warned. Please let us know when you come back to Istanbul again and you will more than welcome in our restaurant. Please contact me from here when you will come to our restaurant again.

Thank you

Şevket Arpacı
Board Member

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hamdi Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Hamdi Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing