We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view and food”
Review of Hamdi Restaurant

Hamdi Restaurant
Ranked #299 of 14,829 Restaurants in Istanbul
Price range: US$0 - US$43
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Grand Bazaar
Reviewed 9 June 2018 via mobile

We went to the Hamdi restaurant overlooking the Galata bridge. The view from the top floor was very nice. The food was very good compared to other turkish restaurants in Istanbul, please do try the Turkish pizza (lahmacun) here, we felt it was the very best version of the many that we experienced in Istanbul.
Kebabs here are of course tasty. Didn't get to try the baklava as we eat too much during the appetiser and main course.

Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,682)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

73 - 77 of 3,682 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2018

The restaurant changed service during the last two visits in 2018 and 2017 but on the first visit in 2016 the service was great

The staff were unfriendly and treated inappropriately and they added things that were not ordered on the bill. This thing happened twice in 2017 and 2018. When the question was asked they apologized and corrected the bill but slowly we had to wait another 10 minutes to get the remaining amount of
Good food and overpriced prices

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank torism j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamdiRestaurants, Yönetici at Hamdi Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for your comments. Our aim to take good care of our valuable guests. We apologize for the unfortunate events that occurred on the day you visited. You can be sure that our staff has been warned. Please let us know when you come back to Istanbul again and you will more than welcome in our restaurant. Please contact me from here when you will come to our restaurant again.

Thank you

Şevket Arpacı
Board Member

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018

I went there after reading good reviews. Food was average, nothing special. Restaurant has an amazing view and nice ambiance but staff doesn't look enough friendly for a restaurant with this price level. I don't like to give negative comments especially for staff but if prices are so much higher than many restaurants in the city, I expect staff to be polite, positive and flexible. They don't smile or listen well what you say. They are very short in responses. They don't care if you are satisfied or not. Paid starters were expensive although they were served in a very small plates. I hope they increase their level of service.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Entrage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamdiRestaurants, Yönetici at Hamdi Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for your comments. Our aim to take good care of our valuable guests. We apologize for the unfortunate events that occurred on the day you visited. You can be sure that our staff has been warned. Please let us know when you come back to Istanbul again and you will more than welcome in our restaurant. Please contact me from here when you will come to our restaurant again.

Thank you

Şevket Arpacı
Yönetim Kurulu Üyesi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2018 via mobile

We visited this June the restaurant for dinner. The restaurant is very nice with a good view of Bosforus. We loved the local yougurt Ayran. The best ever we tried in one week in Istanbul. The meat quality was average, probably due to high load and many customers during Ramadan season.

Thank Idlir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018 via mobile

We tried some local food and we were very satisfied. Every plate was tasty and fine cooked. Big portions! The service is ok. Good prices.

Thank sariemme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hamdi Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Hamdi Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing