We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$110
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$141
US$112
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$148
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$204
US$193
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Basileus Hotel(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
US$70
US$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 36% below average rates

The price you found is 36% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$95/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Tomtom Suites(Istanbul)
US$146
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Yasmak Sultan Hotel(Istanbul)
US$148
US$127
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Neorion Hotel(Istanbul)
US$127
US$122
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,815)
Filter reviews
1,815 results
Traveller rating
1,179
391
140
49
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,179
391
140
49
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshagia sophiablue mosquegrand bazaarguest relationsstar hotelspecial thanksperfect locationthe hotel staffold citysteam roomwalking distanceturkish bathfamily roomturkeyhotel restaurantamazing hotelbasilica cistern
Filter
Updating list...
336 - 341 of 1,815 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2017

What is positive about this hotel is the excellent location and its friendly staff. The WiFi works well, too. Other than that, Sura doesn't live up to the standards of a 5-star hotel. Rooms are not clean enough and I even got, wrongly, a standard room instead of a superior, which I had paid for. The staff are polite and try to help, but there seems to be no system for registration and follow-up of the issues, so you are not guaranteed fast and effective action, if anything.
It all boils down to poor management.
All in all and not surprisingly, everything here is less glamorous than you see in their pictures and the commercial presentation, but you could be happy with your stay here if you didn't have great expectations. Think of it as a good 3-star hotel with excellent location, polite, yet not fully trained, staff and high-speed WiFi. It is not what it says it is, but it still is not unbearably bad. It is, however, definitely not a 5-star hotel.

Room Tip: Go for a standard room, don't pay more for other kind
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank EliasM52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sura Hotel Y, Guest Relations Manager at Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Dear Elias
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to describe your impressions.
We apologize for not having met your expectations and we are constantly working on the highest quality of service.
All those negative points you mentioned about your comments are carefully analysed and confirmed by our management.
We are looking forward to perfectly taking care of you again.
Best wishes from Istanbul,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

Fair hotel, clean but definitely not a 5 stars standards. Room is very small and breakfast quality could be better.Hotel is very well placed close to Aya Sofia, Grand Bazar and the restaurants of the down town.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Thank Derouiche M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sura Hotel Y, Guest Relations Manager at Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to describe your impressions.
We apologize for not having met your expectations and we are constantly working on the highest quality of service.
All those negative points you mentioned about your comments are carefully analysed and confirmed by our management.
We are looking forward to perfectly taking care of you again.
Best wishes from Istanbul,

Crm
Sura Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017

Very well located hotel for stay in Sultanmet locality. 5 minutes walk away from most of historical sights- Topkapi palace, Blue Mosque, Ayah Sophia. Closest tram Sultanmet stop, 2 mins. Rooms are small and cramped but very clean. Good spread of breakfast but no egg preparation options. Courteous and excellent staff service. Only drawback was the cab driver that we booked through the hotel for airport drop hiked the fare rates mid way to our journey.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jam0470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sura Hotel Y, Guest Relations Manager at Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Dear
First of all we would like to thank you very much for your extensive review of our hotel and we are very pleased that we could meet all of your expectations. In regards to your praise for the excellent service you received, this pleased our staff...
So we are looking forward to welcoming very much you again in our hotel.
Best wishes from Istanbul,
Crm, Sura Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017

This hotel is filthy. That's pretty much all you need to know. Make sure you read the 'poor' and 'terrible' rated reviews and give this place a wide berth. In similar area and for the same cost you can stay in the far superior Levni Hotel and Spa (look it up). After one night here we left and went to the Four Seasons Bosphorous.

The bathroom looks like it's never been cleaned properly, I've never really seen anything like it and have no idea how this hotel manages to get good reviews (or be rated 5 star?!) on that basis alone.

The staff are pretty ineffectual with zero service skills. I've never seen so many staff in a hotel. They seem to spend most of their time talking to each other so the excessive staffing does nothing to improve guest experience. Check-in was ridiculous: we were given drinks and told to sit and wait (fine, not unusual) but after 15 minutes I went to investigate and was told abruptly that I needed to pay now as though it was my fault for waiting. I'm not sure why they hadn't come to tell me this, I'd have sooner just stood at the desk and checked in quickly than sit down among all the suitcases and have another staff member act as a go between for guests and the check-in desk (ridiculous system that didn't work at all).

Further service fails occurred after the storm which forced the closure of the pool. This is obviously not the hotel's fault, but when I went to ask when it would open I was told they didn't know. So I asked if they could ask if someone else knew. They came back and told me it was open now. Except it wasn't, it was roped off. The guy spoke with his colleague and stared at the computer barely acknowledging me through this whole exchange. How hard is it to engage properly and give thorough information?

The whole hotel is chaotically busy at all times of day with the lobby strewn with suitcases and buggies. I have no idea why this stuff isn't in a luggage room but it made it feel like we were staying in a departure lounge or train station. Pool area was a mess and not overly clean, looks nothing like the pictures.

The only thing going for this hotel is the central location near Hagia Sophia and the nice garden. But it's not enough to overcome the multitude of problems. The breakfast was also reasonable with a good choice.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ner84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sura Hotel Y, Guest Relations Manager at Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Dear Ner
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to describe your impressions.
We apologize for not having met your expectations and we are constantly working on the highest quality of service.
All those negative points you mentioned about your comments are carefully analysed and confirmed by our management.
We are looking forward to perfectly taking care of you again.
Best wishes from Istanbul,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

Could not ask for a better location - right opposite Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, 5 minutes from Grand Bazaar.
Staff were extremely helpful, I had a minor issue regarding lost property (son lost his ring 'somewhere near pool')and they went out of their way to try to find it - and they did!!!
Gentleman named Akon was the most helpful chap I ever encountered - he really ensured we had a great stay.
Out door pool was brilliant - will book same the same hotel next time I go to Istanbul.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Jabbar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sura Hotel Y, Guest Relations Manager at Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

First of all we would like to thank you very much for your extensive review of our hotel and we are very pleased that we could meet all of your expectations. In regards to your praise for the excellent service you received, this pleased our staff...
So we are looking forward to welcoming very much you again in our hotel.
Best wishes from Istanbul,
Crm, Sura Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews