We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,073)
Filter reviews
1,073 results
Traveller rating
788
240
33
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
788
240
33
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop terrace turkey homemade jams guest house blue mosque quiet street topkapi palace free tea and coffee a great place to stay short walk breakfast was delicious home away from home restaurants and shops airport transfer within walking distance perfect location top floor
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 1,073 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2018

I had the great pleasure of staying at the Marmara Guesthouse during my recent two week visit to Istanbul. As other reviewers have noted, the location is fantastic ... easy walking to many sites (Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Cistern, Arasta Bazarre, Topkapi Palace), and a short walk to the tram which will whiz you all around the city in minutes. at a minimal cost. The guesthouse is located on a quiet street, but one block away from Akbiyik Street with its many restaurants, cafes, shops, and grocery stores. The guesthouse is clean, welcoming and relaxed, with free wifi and tea and coffee throughout the day. Breakfast on the outdoor patio with a view of the Sea of Marmara was enhanced by the homemade jams! Best of all, the staff were cheerful, friendly, welcoming and helpful at all times. i enjoyed chatting with co-owner Elif, who regularly asked me how things were going and if I needed anything. I found her advice very helpful when dealing with the countless efforts by locals to sell me a carpet! Gokhan spoiled me, organizing day trips, providing local information, answering all questions promptly, and chatting with me about my visit. I usually plan my day trips myself, and was completely pampered on this trip! Three 'don't miss' trips organized by the guesthouse include Cappadocia, Troy and the visit to the Hamam, and there are many others available. All in all, a lovely stay at my new Istanbul 'home' with my new friends. See you next year???

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kiwibuddy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018

I stayed in Marmara guest house for one night & one day before I left Istanbul. I'd been contacted by the staff well in advance to find out more about my stay. So when I checked in late, the kind receptionist was very accommodating. My room was clean and there was wifi. I liked the room decor too- the canopy beds. The rooftop view was pretty amazing. Loved the breakfast. The neighboring street is full of restaurants that are open until late so I was able to go get some really good food even in the middle of the night, and shop for souvenirs. The location is great- took me about 10 mins to walk up to Hagia Sophia the next morning. I arranged for my airport shuttle pickup through the guest house, and that service was right on time as well. So overall think it was a great choice for a pit stop in Istanbul! I'd recommend for a longer stay as well!

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c_krithika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018 via mobile

We have had a lovely stay at Marmara. It is in the perfect location close to everything but it is quiet because it is tucked away just behind the main restaurants and sights. The staff are very helpful and friendly, there is free tea and coffee and a beautiful view. This is one of the best value for money places I have stayed. Highly recommended

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank annahall2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018 via mobile

Tucked away in a quiet alley, Maramara Guesthouse is conveniently located close to the main attractions in Sultanahmet. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The terrace where the breakfast is served has a beautiful view and early risers can catch the sunrise. The breakfast buffet spread is huge and there are many sweet and savory options to choose from. Tea and coffee are available throughout the day and I enjoyed unwinding on the terrace with evening tea in the tranquil and peaceful atmosphere after being out all day.
The staff were extremely helpful with everything. Right from before the check-in (I had opted for the pre paid airport shuttle ) through post check-out, I received prompt replies to all email communications. through my stay with helpful tips and suggestions, with my heavy bags, Gokhan was always there to help without having to ask.
I had a pleasant stay and this place will be part of my fond memories of the visit to Istanbul.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Manasree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

Had a great stay. Exactly as advertised in a fantastic location. Close to any of the important sites. Arranged hassle free airport transfers in both directions. Would definitely come back again. Clean, friendly and a great breakfast

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Jeremy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews