We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (184)
Filter reviews
184 results
Traveller rating
57
63
30
10
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
57
63
30
10
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews blue mosque old city small hotel excellent location standard room historical sites recommend this hotel pros cons palace proximity sultan
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 184 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2011

The only thing going for this hotel is the location close to several historical sites, and the beautiful view from the breckfast balcony. The lobby of the hotel is pretty, and the staff are nice. We stayed overnight for about 190 Italian Lira, or 70 Euros. Be advised the rooms are not that nice. The room we had was barely sufficient, with a shower located in a tiny toilet. The room had airconditioning, but no way to turn it on. We had a room which was fairly quiet from the street traffic, but you could hear others in the surrounding rooms. Cleanliness is questionable. The point of staying in such a place, is to use the location. Close to restaurants & stores. Bring your own soap, the soap in the room is not sufficient. The breckfast was great, and we made friends at the hotel. The family we met felt their room was not sufficient either. Also, there is no elevator, and the breckfast balconly was 4 flights up from the lobby.

Room Tip: Check out the room first before you pay. There are other hotels in this area. Rooms are smalland the view we had was of a maintenance shaft.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shadya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Excellent location with the kind stuff! Very pleased to stay ..

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cdogruer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Apart from it being a lovely hotel and in a location that I loved the staff at the Hotel Sultanahmet really make it what it is and people make all the difference. We had a wonderful stay and I will only now stay at the Hotel Sultanahmet when I visit Istanbul, the room was beautiful and very clean, staff very good, very helpful especially the breakfast at the terraced roof with Istanbul scenery was priceless!!! Pricing was also reasonable for a great location hotel like this, even we were able to use free wi-fi in every room.

Room Tip: King suites have better scenery
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jessica c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Friendly, helpful, charming staff - great location and nice rooms. All front desk staff were incredibly helpful and accomodating. Night porter Ozgur had a wonderful dry sense of humor and attempted to teach us some turkish words. Super breakfast on rooftop restaurant with wonderful views of Aya Sophia and Blue Mosque. Can't say enough nice things about the accomodations, and staff. Wonderful visit.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karlve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

My frieng recomended this hotel. Because location and cleaning were very important for me and hotel was the best location in the old city and very clean hotel and all room staff was white color. A.C was quite, sheets changed everyday... My room was on the 3.floor (303) view with sea and Blue Mosque....breakfast was amazing on the terrace with very nice panorama...

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GULCENO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews