We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“very nice”
other travellers have booked this property
Stone floors, wooden ceilings, brick walls, the place looks like a picture!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stone floors, wooden ceilings, brick walls, the place looks like a picture!
Living room The 'Turquoise house'. Entrance and sitting area, TV/DVD. Place to unwind.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Stone floors, wooden ceilings, brick walls, the place looks like a picture!
Living room
The 'Turquoise house'. Entrance and sitting area, TV/DVD. Place to unwind.
Elegant style
The kitchen, dish washer, full oven, washer/dryer etc etc
Kitchen
Italian tiles for taste full breakfast
A tasteful place to dine
Single beds can be made if necessary. Two friends sharing or brother and sister?
Beautiful bedroom
Vibrant colour. Tasteful design.
Spacious living.Large bed All beds brand new. Air conditioning.
Orginal wooden ceilings and doors. A place to sit and read. Lot's of light.
Sweetest dreams after a hectic day touring the city. Quality linens.
Orginal design. Each peice individual. One of a kind.
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Second Bathroom
Gorgeous orginal Stairs, modern and antique furnishings
Top floor double bed  Antique wardrobe. ceiling fan. air con.
Slopped ceiling. Terrace giving lot's of light.
Slopped ceiling. Terrace giving lot's of light.
Second Bathroom
Second Bathroom
Hallways
Coffee or breakfast.Views over the rooftops down to the water of the Golden Horn
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Istanbul

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Portuguese first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Salim S
1 review
“very nice”
Reviewed 14 January 2018 for a stay in March 2017

The place is fantastic
My friend told me about the place soon I will visit him.
my wallet address SocialCoin
SiNgFro9M9sVJAq7ahYeYhzR1MSUa198PA

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gratefuli...
Dundas, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“In a City of Hills, This is a Charming One”
Reviewed 7 July 2017 for a stay in February 2016

If it weren’t for my confreres, I’d have missed this gem – and my trip to Istanbul would not have been as rich. I needed help managing the stairs and hills in addition to the walking sticks I use– and there were some challenges. One without the benefit of friends to help figure out the least number of hills or how to work the transit/taksi dance (brains) or to carry anything other than me (brawn) might struggle here. But oh, I was so glad we’d chosen the Turquoise House for our Home Away From Home in Istanbul.

It was fun to be in a real neighbourhood enjoying the rhythms of everyday: the sounds of children off to school, people going to work or to market.

Up the hill, it’s an Islamic community. The conservative dress, regular call to prayer from the neighbourhood mosque, shops with dark clothes for sale and no alcohol for sale gives an authentic experience. We were lucky enough to be there for a Wednesday market – and enjoyed the ambiance and the tasty treats we brought home. (pickled vegetables, dried fruit, fresh veggies….)

Down the hill is the former Jewish area. Today it’s more relaxed with wine shops, vintage and antique shops, 3rd generation cafes and places to shop and eat. Tuesday is the wonderful local market. Wandering through the shops at either end rendered some wonderful take-out that we enjoyed in the Turquoise House at the end of full days in more central parts of Istanbul. (easily accessed by transit once you go UP or DOWN the hills)

Inside the Turquoise House is the best jewel of all – lovingly renovated and absolutely charming! We found a bedroom/bath on separate floors to be great for two couples (the ones with the brawn went to the third!)

Oskan arranged transportation to and from the airport - a wonderful plus as the house is hard to find! A wonderful ambassador for Istanbul, Oskan’s lives in the neighbourhood and welcomed us warmly. In addition to his tips (before, upon arrival, anytime by email), the house has book, information and other visitors’ recommendations – as well as being a comfortable place to come home to in the midst of such a large and bustling city. If you’re fit and mobile, you’re in for a treat!

It is worth noting that in these times when Turkey features allot in the international news, we felt very safe throughout our stay in Istanbul. In fact, we found the people to be friendly, helpful and grateful that we were there - eager to share their love of city.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jplake11
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just as charming and lovely as it looks in pictures”
Reviewed 8 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I only stayed at this lovely house for a few days but it was absolutely charming. The kitchen was well equipped as were the bathrooms and sleeping accommodation. Ozkan is a great host who will take the time to sit with you and help you navigate the city. I loved that this was in a neighborhood. Taxi drivers were a little reluctant to take me to this small neighborhood. I am guessing because of the narrow streets, but I had no problem getting Uber drivers to take me. There are plenty of local dining options within a ten minute walk and a local grocery store just a couple of blocks down the hill.

The only difficulty I had was I kept forgetting things and had to go up and down the staircase quite a few times. Be careful if you have bad knees as these can be tricky. Other than that, the place was amazing with a true flavor of old Istanbul.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lourdes C
Puerto Rico
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great experience in a local neighborthood”
Reviewed 25 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

It is a beautiful home sit on the hill of the street for one who wants to experience live in a Turkish house. Is a wonderful place, right in middle of one of the most interesting neighborhoods. The apartment was fully equipped and very comfortable. We walked every day, around 45 minutes, to the center of the city and was a great experience. The area overall is safe and the neighbors are friendly. Peter and Oskan weren't in Istanbul but always were available to help us when we needed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan G
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Local hospitality....”
Reviewed 17 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We loved the neighbourhood of Balat - brought to life by our hosts Ozkam and Peter. We were greeted upon arrival, showed some of the local sights of the region and also given some suggestions for special parts of Istanbul to visit that we wouldn't have considered without their guidance. They were helpful and even dropped my stamped postcards into the post, which I couldn't do because the post offices were closed on the day of departure. They prepared a local map which helped us to navigate the streets in the neighbourhood.

The apartment was fully equipped and very comfortable for a two couples, although the stairs are quite steep so wouldn't be suitable for anyone with mobility concerns.

Thank you for your hospitality and for making our visit to Istanbul so special!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The personal greeting and neighbourhood.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$98
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing