We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm Turkish Hospitality at It's Best”
Review of Ada Hotel Istanbul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ada Hotel Istanbul
Ranked #14 of 1,149 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“Warm Turkish Hospitality at It's Best”
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I highly recommend Hotel Ada for those of you traveling either as a single traveler or family. Originally, we chose the hotel based on the delightful Boshophous views and ideal location to Hagia Sophia and the Blue Mosque. I was taken by the well run and high tech services provided from the onset. The owners were so attentive to our every need from airport transportation, tour recommendations, insights into the culture and ensuring an early buffet breakfast prior to the tour departures.

Having stayed at many hotels in the past, this was my first experience to a boutique hotel and the city. I certainly would return to the Hotel Ada for any future visit. Beds are comfortable and the room spotless. Breakfast has more options than you'd expect with savory and sweet dishes at your disposal with both Turkish and Western coffee and tea.

I appreciated the attention to detail and the high tech security features in the room. All the guests we spoke to enjoyed their experiences like us and we swapped stories on the recommended tourist attractions. The foyer permitted us some great conversations with the charming owners and other guests alike.

As a former travel industry professional, I cannot recommend this property highly enough. Having visted over 30 countries and countless properties in my lifetime, this is one that stands head and shoulders above the competition. You can book this hotel with confidence.
.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    739
    129
    23
    5
    3
See reviews for
250
400
47
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

I was super sick when we got to Ada hotel (got pneumonia hiking), and the owner was so very helpful and flexible with us. We changed our plans approximately 10 times, and he was helpful trying to work it out so we could change rooms as little as possible, etc. The bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was good. The showers were warm. Additionally, there is a computer with internet access (actually a modern laptop, as opposed to places that have a desktop from 1992 that can barely load google maps). Plus, there's a phone where you can make free phone calls to the US (super useful when you want to call the advice nurse like every day). Finally, it was conveniently located.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AStar1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

My sister and I stayed here in mid-January. Our stay originally was for 4 nights (but thanks to a United Airlines snafu that delayed us 22 hours), we were able to stay only 3. The owners were extremely hospitable about our delay resulted in many emails, etc. about transportation, etc. Fortunately we were picked us, and that was a bonus as it would have been hard to find on one's own.
We had an upgraded room which presented a fine view overlooking the mosque. While we were there, however, it poured and poured and rain seeped in around our windows. Not a problem for us, but my heart went out to the owners. Seems like the problem is the flashing around the roof and windows, not an easy (and cheap) thing to fix on a tall old building. Various power outages during our stay, but not confined to the hotel but to Istanbul/Sultanhamet in general. Staying here reminded me more of staying in B&B or with a family friend than a traditional hotel. The bedroom included a hot tub (which neither of us used), and the bathroom was small but clean and functional. If you come expecting the amenities of a Fairmont or even a Hilton or Sheraton, you are likely to be disappointed.
Easy walking distance to major sites (Blue Mosque, Tokapai Palace, Grand Bazaar), etc. and easy access to streetcar that provides access to other parts of Istanbul.
We thought the breakfast was very nice...no, it was not the huge spread that big hotels provide, but a very nice assortment of Turkish dishes, coupled with quiches, crepes, that would appeal to others.
The view from the roomtop breakfast area was astounding. What was equally enjoyable were the other guests who were staying here -- a couple from Australia, an American living in Africa, etc. Lots of diversity, which is always great. We not only enjoyed the owners, but the sisters who served the breakfast!
We were much enjoyed our stay here and would return. That said, we did stumble across a very interesting looking boutique hotel also in Sultanhamet....Sura Design Hotel. Perhaps it was the time of year, but they had lower rates and the property and its amenities appeared to be a great value for the $.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoJanice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Most of the reviews here for Hotel Ada on Trip Advisor sound fake - there is no way Hotel Ada deserves 5 stars. Either most of these reviewers stayed at another hotel, or someone has been practicing their creative fiction.

To be fair to Hotel Ada, writing this review did leave me very ambivalent about how to rate the hotel. The greatest problem about the hotel is that it is not consistent. We met some guests at breakfast who loved it, and some who were having awful experiences. Cleaning, and level of cleanliness post cleaning, varied significantly from day to day. The hotel owner's and staff's ability to help varied markedly from day to day. There was simply no consistency. Sometimes it felt like we were entering a bizarre parallel universe, in which everything about the hotel was different from day to day. As a tourist in a strange city, it was unsettling.

The staff and owners are friendly, and seem to work hard. For instance, when we arrived, the owner personally explained everything in the room, rather than leave us at our devices. But despite liking them individually, the end product of a great hotel stay just isn't there.

The rundown:
The good
- Fairly central location to the tourist sites
- Free transport from airport
- Fairly friendly manager/owners of hotel
- Good wifi
- Thick blankets on bed (you're going to need it at night, since the rooms can get very cold)
- Depending on the day, cleaners can be very good
- Pretty view for breakfast
- Bottled water cheap

The mediocre
- Breakfast ok. Nothing particularly tasty, but nothing awful
- Owners/managers usually try, but will take their time getting things done. If you are only staying a few days, don't expect room problems to be fixed quickly
- If you are a light sleeper, the call to prayer from the mosque across the street will wake you.

The bad
- Broken things in room
- Could do much better cleaning! Dusty corners, mouldy bathroom, spiderwebs.
- Cold (on random days)! Room heater, even when turned up, failed to head room beyond double-sweater with scarf temperature. Very difficult to regular room temperature.
- Delays in getting problems fixed
- Strange smells in different parts of hotel
- If you leave your things out in the hotel room, such as scarves, or books, don't expect them to be left in place. They get "cleaned" away and placed in random locations. Or even put in your bags, which are also moved around the room. I usually leave things fairly neat, and it was discomforting to find that someone had opened up my bag and put things inside. Frankly, I started locking my bag after that started.
- After our first night, we began looking for other places to stay. But, at that point, many places we had been interested in were fully booked.

Our friends had a far better experience in another room. So it seems that it is just luck of the draw. Would I recommend this place? Definitely not. For a three star hotel, it seems great on paper. But a hotel that is that inconsistent is not somewhere I'd want to stay again. You deserve better - don't stay here!

Room Tip: Paying extra for one of the deluxe rooms is probably necessary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank inthesuburbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brunswick
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Ada hotel is a little gem, in the heart of Sultinahmet. Its location is ideal to walk to all the main attractions of the city: minutes away from the Grand Bazaar, the Spice Market, Topkapi Palace, the Blue Mosque, Agia Sofia, etc. and only 20 minutes away from Attaturk AIrport.
It is very clean, smoke-free, modern and is equipped with an elevator. There is a computer in the lobby reserved for guests, as well as free Wi-Fi. A printer is also available for boarding passes.

We had arranged for the hotel to have us picked up at the airport. While the greeter was there, the driver did not arrive until approximately 15 minutes later. We were tired after a full day of travelling and wondered if it was a sign of things to come. At the hotel, the host and hostess first appeared reserved, but it did not take us long to discover how helpful they were and genuinely interested in our comfort.
Our hostess checked us in and gave us some information about the city and the hotel as well as a tour of our room. We had reserved a standard room, but the hotel had upgraded us to a seaview room, with a jacuzzi tub. Although the room was smaller than we expected, it had all the conveniencess one could ask for: a phone with direct international access, in room safe, flat screen TV, real wine glasses, tea/coffee making facilities with real cups, etc. The linen was of good quality, with nice, plush towels. The bathroom was modern with a great shower, and very clean.

The breakfast is buffet-style and taken up on the 5th floor terrasse (which is winterized!), with a beautiful view of the Marmara Sea and the cuppola of the "little mosque". It is plentiful and delicious, with a large enough selection that even after a four-night stay we were not bored with the food. We were even able to help ourselves to some juice, cereals, yogurt, etc. before our 7:00 am departure on our last day. The two young ladies who help with the preparation and service are very friendly and helpful, without hovering.

If we had to say something negative, it would be that the walls are not very soundproof - as is usually the case with most small hotels - but given the type of clientele at the Ada, that is really not a problem.
Final word: would we stay there again? Definitely!

Room Tip: Rooms in the front offer a seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MonctonCanucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#8 of 1,149 in Istanbul
2,985 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#19 of 1,149 in Istanbul
756 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,149 in Istanbul
3,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,149 in Istanbul
1,733 reviews
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#4 of 1,149 in Istanbul
999 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#5 of 1,149 in Istanbul
2,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ada Hotel Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ada Hotel Istanbul

Property: Ada Hotel Istanbul
Address: Binbirdirek Mah. Sehit Mehmet Pasa Yokusu Sok. No:30 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#15 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#49 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Ada Hotel Istanbul 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ada Hotel, located in the centre of the historical peninsula, is steps away from world famous Blue Mosque, Saint Sophia, Topkapi Palace, Underground Cistern, Mosaic Museums, Islamic & Turkish Art Museum, Istanbul Archaeological Museum, Hippodrome, Grand Bazaar, Spice Bazaar. Ada House brings you comfort with its modern decoration and genuine quality of service. Our rooms have a panoramic view of the Marmara Sea and several historical mosques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ada Hotel Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istanbul Ada Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing