We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not a 5 star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Istanbul Gonen Hotel
Ranked #344 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed 29 June 2017

I can call it a nightmare, this is not a 5 star hotel. Even though I had reservation on hand I was not given the correct room, supposedly non smoking room but it smelled like cigarettes and there was cigarette damage to the furniture, dirty toilet and dirty shower; bloodstains. The gap between the bottom of the door and the floor is huge and to much light and noise came from the gap. And I was overcharged by the hotel even though I had a email proving what I was supposed to pay. The only good thing was the breakfast buffet and that is about it,

Room Tip: too loud not quiet enough
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Oscar456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KorayCetiner, Genel Müdür at Istanbul Gonen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2017

Dear Mr. Oscar456,


We thank You very much for taking Your time and leaving us a note on TripAdvisor which You inform us about your thoughts and experiences which You made during Your recent stay at Istanbul Gonen Hotel.

According to Your given feedback, we have to regretfully realize that we were not able to meet Your expectations regarding our hotel especially cleaning. Please allow me an opportunity to introduce myself. You may be sure that the necessary warnings are made and taken corrective and better actions for Your satisfaction… Next time You stay please allow us to upgrade your room to Suit room and a enjoyable dinner offer in our Hotel…

We hope to welcome You back to our Hotel in the near future that we will use as an opportunity to offer You further improved quality and hospitality to make Your stay a memorable one.

Best Regards,

Koray Çetiner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 349 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2017 via mobile

I visited the hotel and it was a great one . But the real reason for my review is the help I got from the personnel after I left a document behind by mistake, not only did they find and keep it but helped me get it back .Thank you for your prompt response and action.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
Thank mariaandgeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KorayCetiner, Genel Müdür at Istanbul Gonen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2017

Dear mariaandgeorge,

After Your last visit to Istanbul Gonen Hotel we would like to thank You for Your good comments and Your points on TripAdvisor about our hotel and staff…

Your overall satisfaction is what we aim for as a Hotel and as a whole team that stands behind it. Therefore we more than appreciate every suggestion, feedback and comment we receive; as it motivates and gives us the chance to develop and improve even further.

With the service understanding that we have developed, we will welcome You again in our hotel in the near future will honor us and be an oppurtunity for make You feel our Turkish Hospitality one more time…

Sincerely Yours,

Koray Çetiner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2017

We stayed 4 nights during the Evteks fair mid May. The hotel is very near to the CNR Fair ground and Ataturk Airport, and location is everything in these big cities. Nevertheless the rooms were clean and the staff helpful. I would recommend it any time for CNR visitors.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank charliezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KorayCetiner, Genel Müdür at Istanbul Gonen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2017

Dear Mr. charliezy,

After Your last visit to Istanbul Gonen Hotel we would like to thank You for Your good comments on TripAdvisor about our hotel…
Your overall satisfaction is what we aim for as a Hotel and as a whole team that stands behind it. Therefore we more than appreciate every suggestion, feedback and comment we receive; as it motivates and gives us the chance to develop and improve even further.

With the service understanding that we have developed, we will welcome You again in our hotel in the near future will honor us and be an oppurtunity for make You feel our Turkish Hospitality one more time…

Sincerely Yours,

Koray Çetiner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2017

I stayed first on May 3rd and 4th. because of prebooking I went back on 15th again. The 2 rooms I stayed both had toilet leak.

First night, they had to come to fix it twice, plus helped me shut of over noisy AC twice, So total of 4 service calls first night ,all settled until 1AM.

On the 15th stay(I still remember room number is 919), When checking in, I specifically addressed the toilet leakage problem and make sure I will get a different room--guess what? Toilet had slow leak again, I checked in midnight and was so tired, so I decided to leave it alone. Can you imagine on next morning when I found out there is no water to flush, I had to use shower head to flush the toilet?

On 15th night, It supposed to be a nonsmoking room, it is not--

On 9Am morning check out time, which is most busiest time I assume, I was going to address the issues, there were 4 customers waiting and only one clerk at counter and answering phone at same time. I had to catch the ride to airport, So I just left--

I could not find the hotel shuttle pick up location at airport, in spite of having both e mail and phone instructions. and it is every other hour. So I ended up using taxi every time. Luckily hotel is close to the airport.

Breakfast buffet is medium quality.

Fro sure, I will never go back again--

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank wluo999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KorayCetiner, Genel Müdür at Istanbul Gonen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2017

Dear Mr. wluo999,


We thank You very much for taking Your time and leaving us a note on TripAdvisor which You inform us about your thoughts and experiences which You made during Your recent stay at Istanbul Gonen Hotel.

According to Your given feedback, we have to regretfully realize that we were not able to meet Your expectations regarding our rooms. Please allow me an opportunity to introduce myself. We have shared Your complaints with our Hotel Management to take corrective and better actions for Your satisfaction…

We hope to welcome You back to our Hotel in the near future that we will use as an opportunity to offer You the same and further improved quality and hospitality to make Your stay a memorable one.

Best Regards,

Koray Çetiner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

I know that nothing stays the same but this hotel is sill good. It has been one of our base hotel from its opening, years passed, rooms became a bit tired but the rest - breakfasts, service - is at the same level. What i like also - is walking distance to the shopping center and supermarket.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Natallia-BY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KorayCetiner, Genel Müdür at Istanbul Gonen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2017

Dear Mrs. Natallia-BY,

After Your last visit to Istanbul Gonen Hotel we would like to thank You for Your good comments and Your points on TripAdvisor about our hotel…

Your overall satisfaction is what we aim for as a Hotel and as a whole team that stands behind it. Therefore we more than appreciate every suggestion, feedback and comment we receive; as it motivates and gives us the chance to develop and improve even further.

With the service understanding that we have developed, we will welcome You again in our hotel in the near future will honor us and be an oppurtunity for make You feel our Turkish Hospitality one more time…

Sincerely Yours,

Koray Çetiner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
1 km away
Gorrion Hotel Istanbul
Gorrion Hotel Istanbul
#282 of 1,163 in Istanbul
170 reviews
2.3 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Istanbul Ataturk Airport
3.2 km away
Elite World Business
Elite World Business
#118 of 1,163 in Istanbul
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Divan Suites Istanbul GPlus
Divan Suites Istanbul GPlus
#387 of 1,163 in Istanbul
126 reviews
23.9 km away
Byotell Hotel Istanbul
Byotell Hotel Istanbul
#313 of 1,163 in Istanbul
206 reviews
7.8 km away
Ramada Plaza Istanbul Tekstilkent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Istanbul Gonen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Istanbul Gonen Hotel

Address: Degirmenbahce Avenue No.15, Yenibosna, Istanbul 34197, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #344 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: €43 - €135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Istanbul Gonen Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 305
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Istanbul Gonen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing