We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Sapphire Def a Little Gem”
Review of Hotel Sapphire

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Sapphire
Ranked #97 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 February 2009

What can i say ... This hotel was fab.

As sson as we got there they upgraded our rooms to the new superior rooms. The rooms on this floor have recently been redecorated and in excellent kitchen.
The bathrroms are spotless and something that you would expect to find in a 4* hotel in europe.
The staff are very nice and always attentive and will try and help. Communication with them is sometimes diffcult as not all of them speak english however the manager and the recpetion staff peak perfect english.
The location is very good with you beeing within 5-6 minutes to the nearest tram line. You will be able to walk to all the major sttaractions within 10-12 minues. If someone has a disability that effect their walking or in a wheel chair then getting up the hill might be a bit of a struggle without help. We took our 1 yr old daughter in a buggy and at times that was a struggle to manage. Aya sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace and the Bhosprous is all within 10-15 minutes leisurly walk. The grnad bazar is a little bit further but you can get a tram there in 6-8 minutes.
If you stay at this hotel you will not need to get a taxi at all.
The hotel has a nice size pool which is brand new. A small sauner and small hammam.

Breakie is normal for this part of the world which is cheese, savory stuff and lots of cold meats. Not my vup of tea but when its free you cant go wrong.

we traveled with our 1 yr old and the hotel provided a cot free of charge.

We really enjoyed our stay. Th only 2 downpoints -
1. The hotel is siuated 1 road away from the main road where no cars can acess although our lagage was carried for us both on arrval and departure.
2. The views in the room are of a derelict site. No worls are going on at the mo.

apart from these minor points this is a excellent hotel which is great value. BTW try and book with the hotel direct they will more than likely do you a deal.

PS. we got apple tea and a set of glasses as a departure pressie.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RashLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,170 - 1,174 of 2,204 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2009

Warm welcome, excellent staff: helpful, humorous, informative, nice dialouges, fantastic breakfast, nice and clean room, good bed. First choice next time in Istanbul!!

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Winter2urist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2009

Before going to Istanbul, we were sceptical about the reviews of Hotel Sapphire on TA. Like many others, we thought that the hotel was too good to be true, but at less than £90 for three nights we booked it anyway. I am glad to say that the hotel is worthy of the reviews that we read.

On arrival at the hotel (after a nightmare taxi drive), we were given an orange juice cocktail and some turkish delight by the hotel. We were shown to our room which was a twin room - not a double as we had booked. We called reception and asked for a double room and they politely sent the bell boy up. However, once we were shown our double room (Room 305), we were dissapointed as it was nowhere near as nice as the twin room. It obviously was one of the non-refurbished ones as reviews had previously stated, and the bathroom was worn and the shower door was broken. Therefore we called for a second time, and despite our fussiness they took us back to the original twin room (Room 113).

The room was on the small side, but very clean and had an LCD tv which impressed my OH... The bathroom was nice and modern with a very powerful shower.

As we were in Istanbul in late January, the hotel was very quiet with only a few tables at breakfast. The breakfast was ok. There was a wide variety of things, but all were very turkish - cheeses, meats, olives, hummous etc.

The pool and sauna area surprised us as they were really nice. We used them on two occasions and both times we were the only ones down there.

The location of the hotel is perfect - all of the main sites are within a 5/10 minute walk and the tram station is just round the corner. There are quite a few bars and restaurants on the road of the hotel, which we mainly decided to avoid as they hassled us quite a lot. I would recommend walking to the Galata bridge at Eminou and trying one of the fish sandwiches at Aruna cafe - they were delicious!

When we checked out at the end of our stay we were asked where we heard about the hotel, to which we told them trip advisor. They then asked us to write a good review on here giving us apple tea and a box of turkish delight.

All in all, for the money we paid we were impressed by the hotel, the room, the facilities and the service. We would definately go back to Hotel Sapphire if we were to go back to Istanbul.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2009

At check-out the staff asks the satisfied guests to visit "tripadvisor.com" and give a good review; this could be the reason why it has got the high points.

Nevertheless, its a decent hotel. The rooms are clean, the staff is always friendly and there is a nice sauna and a pool which is included in room price. Even if it was a bit cold outside, the heating in the hotel was satisfying. The interior is however as uninspiring as seen on the homepage and the breakfast buffet in the basement had some weak points, for instance the mandatory orange juice was replaced by a sugarfilled lemonade.

My aim with this review is to tell you that the hotel is reasonable, but probably over-rated on this webpage. Unfortunately, it doesn´t have "that extra". Later we stayed in a hotel nearby which was much cheaper but offered the same service and a better breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank skrotnisse99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelsapphire, General Manager at Hotel Sapphire, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2009

Dear Sir or Madam,

i just readed your review about our hotel.You can be sure that we can be very worry about it.Because i want to have a great time in our hotel.We are so sorry.ifyou write me when did you stay our hotel and what is your room number than i can have much information about your stay?Also if you write to me your compline and what sould be better if we have our hotel,maybe we think about it and be better service to our guest.

You wrote that you stay near to ourhotel and the have a better service than us.Can you pleasewrite me ,if you like this hotel too much why don't you write areview about this hotel and just write a review our hotel.....????


Best wishes from istanbul...


i hope Day by day we will try to be better and makes our guest happy....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2009

Hotel Sapphire is great value for the money. The hotel is within walking distance of many of the great sites of Istanbul. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They were pleased to help us with reservations, questions and arranged transport for us.

The room was immaculately clean, beds were comfortable and the water pressure in the shower was great. The windows are sound proofed so we were not disturbed by outside noises.

Mr. Harun and all the staff are to be congratulated on running a quality hotel and the welcome drink and Turkish Delight upon arrival was a nice touch. We also appreciated the apple tea and more sweets on the day of departure.

Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank TravelistaDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Orient Express Hotel
Orient Express Hotel
#62 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,777 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Evsen
Hotel Evsen
#217 of 1,163 in Istanbul
336 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#28 of 1,163 in Istanbul
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Best Western Empire Palace
Best Western Empire Palace
#49 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,557 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#22 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,806 reviews
Sultanahmet
Premist Hotel
Premist Hotel
#99 of 1,163 in Istanbul
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sapphire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sapphire

Address: Ibn-i Kemal Cad. No:14 D:16 Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul 34410, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#63 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#68 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#73 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#101 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: €29 - €88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sapphire 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sapphire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sapphire Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing