We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Tomtom Suites(Istanbul)
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$134
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$155
US$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$250
US$208
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Yasmak Sultan Hotel(Istanbul)
US$145
US$115
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Neorion Hotel(Istanbul)
US$136
US$129
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$272
US$247
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$521
US$415
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
US$426
US$388
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,251)
Filter reviews
2,251 results
Traveller rating
1,467
630
119
23
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,467
630
119
23
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstopkapi palaceold citypool and saunablue mosquewithin walking distancemajor attractionsrooms are smallminute walkhotel is locatedthe location is perfecttram linemini barairportsightssultanahmetdelightsgulhane
Filter
Updating list...
1,180 - 1,185 of 2,251 reviews
Reviewed 2 February 2009

Warm welcome, excellent staff: helpful, humorous, informative, nice dialouges, fantastic breakfast, nice and clean room, good bed. First choice next time in Istanbul!!

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Winter2urist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2009

Before going to Istanbul, we were sceptical about the reviews of Hotel Sapphire on TA. Like many others, we thought that the hotel was too good to be true, but at less than £90 for three nights we booked it anyway. I am glad to say that the hotel is worthy of the reviews that we read.

On arrival at the hotel (after a nightmare taxi drive), we were given an orange juice cocktail and some turkish delight by the hotel. We were shown to our room which was a twin room - not a double as we had booked. We called reception and asked for a double room and they politely sent the bell boy up. However, once we were shown our double room (Room 305), we were dissapointed as it was nowhere near as nice as the twin room. It obviously was one of the non-refurbished ones as reviews had previously stated, and the bathroom was worn and the shower door was broken. Therefore we called for a second time, and despite our fussiness they took us back to the original twin room (Room 113).

The room was on the small side, but very clean and had an LCD tv which impressed my OH... The bathroom was nice and modern with a very powerful shower.

As we were in Istanbul in late January, the hotel was very quiet with only a few tables at breakfast. The breakfast was ok. There was a wide variety of things, but all were very turkish - cheeses, meats, olives, hummous etc.

The pool and sauna area surprised us as they were really nice. We used them on two occasions and both times we were the only ones down there.

The location of the hotel is perfect - all of the main sites are within a 5/10 minute walk and the tram station is just round the corner. There are quite a few bars and restaurants on the road of the hotel, which we mainly decided to avoid as they hassled us quite a lot. I would recommend walking to the Galata bridge at Eminou and trying one of the fish sandwiches at Aruna cafe - they were delicious!

When we checked out at the end of our stay we were asked where we heard about the hotel, to which we told them trip advisor. They then asked us to write a good review on here giving us apple tea and a box of turkish delight.

All in all, for the money we paid we were impressed by the hotel, the room, the facilities and the service. We would definately go back to Hotel Sapphire if we were to go back to Istanbul.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2009

At check-out the staff asks the satisfied guests to visit "tripadvisor.com" and give a good review; this could be the reason why it has got the high points.

Nevertheless, its a decent hotel. The rooms are clean, the staff is always friendly and there is a nice sauna and a pool which is included in room price. Even if it was a bit cold outside, the heating in the hotel was satisfying. The interior is however as uninspiring as seen on the homepage and the breakfast buffet in the basement had some weak points, for instance the mandatory orange juice was replaced by a sugarfilled lemonade.

My aim with this review is to tell you that the hotel is reasonable, but probably over-rated on this webpage. Unfortunately, it doesn´t have "that extra". Later we stayed in a hotel nearby which was much cheaper but offered the same service and a better breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank skrotnisse99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelsapphire, General Manager at Hotel Sapphire, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2009

Dear Sir or Madam,

i just readed your review about our hotel.You can be sure that we can be very worry about it.Because i want to have a great time in our hotel.We are so sorry.ifyou write me when did you stay our hotel and what is your room number than i can have much information about your stay?Also if you write to me your compline and what sould be better if we have our hotel,maybe we think about it and be better service to our guest.

You wrote that you stay near to ourhotel and the have a better service than us.Can you pleasewrite me ,if you like this hotel too much why don't you write areview about this hotel and just write a review our hotel.....????


Best wishes from istanbul...


i hope Day by day we will try to be better and makes our guest happy....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2009

Hotel Sapphire is great value for the money. The hotel is within walking distance of many of the great sites of Istanbul. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They were pleased to help us with reservations, questions and arranged transport for us.

The room was immaculately clean, beds were comfortable and the water pressure in the shower was great. The windows are sound proofed so we were not disturbed by outside noises.

Mr. Harun and all the staff are to be congratulated on running a quality hotel and the welcome drink and Turkish Delight upon arrival was a nice touch. We also appreciated the apple tea and more sweets on the day of departure.

Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank TravelistaDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2009

We stayed 3 nights at Sapphire Hotel and was impressed by its grand interior. Plush sofas lined the lobby area and it was tastefully decorated. We arrived at 8am and the staff allowed us early check-in and invited us for breakfast while the check-in process was being carried out. The buffet area was impressive with a wide array of choices. Free internet services are available and the toilet and room are clean and very comfortable.
I will definately stay again. Mr Harun, the staff member who attended to us was very attentive and made our stay wonderful.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank puxadoraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews