We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheap cheerful frıendly”
Review of Mavi Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mavi Guesthouse
Ranked #109 of 1,074 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 June 2016

Sıtuated only 100 metres from sultan ahmet mosque and ın the centre of the dıstrıct , mavı guest house ıs probably the most popular optıon for solo travelers and backpackers.
ıts offers dormıtory accomodatıon , as well as prıvate rooms.
Great management (Alı bey) and staff , frıendly and very helpful , ıt also offers a range of tourıst related actıvıtıes and servıces ıf requested.
Very good meetıng poınt , fabulous rooftop vıews , wıth a laıd back , frıendly atmosphere.
the approach ıs welcomıng , ınformal , and very homely.
Great.

Room Tip: Dormıtory for solo and backpackers. I opted for prıvate room wıth en suıte for a couple of nıghts t...
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Stacy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
There are newer reviews for Mavi Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2016

After finding Mavi Guesthouse on Hostelworld, I did my usual Tripadvisor review search and found majority of reviews were very favourable, these reviews don't paint the whole picture.
Mavi Guesthouse is owned and operated by the most incredible bloke I've ever met in my travels, Mehmet or Ali as he likes to be called, is so helpful and is always more than happy to help where ever he can. Less than a day after I had booked our accommodation, I received an email from Ali offering a transfer service from the airport to the hostel, as I would later find out this was just the beginning of Ali's assistance throughout our stay.
The hostel is excellent for the price, the beds were comfortable and had fresh clean sheets and covers on them, the rooms were also very tidy and clean and the small downstairs area was perfect for breakfast, again it is excellent for the price of your stay. The location is so central and perfect for any tourist as you are literally a couple minutes walk to the Aya Sofia and Blue Mosque.
But the real draw card is Ali, he helped organise a cruise for us, the transfers there, the overnight bus, he basically walked us through step by step where we were going, what stops we'd be taking and what transfer buses we needed. All this and he got us a 12% discount on the cruise.
100% will be back there when we make our way back to Istanbul.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RTWafter30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2016 via mobile

This guesthouse is really great. For all traveller that wish to visit Istanbul , this is the best place to stay . Trust me its worth . Ali yes is the best ! I miss him so much . This guesthouse is located near Blue Mosque so its is easy for us . And the most important is the price is really affordable !

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Syahir R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2016

Ali was the best! He was very helpful and accommodating. He scheduled a hot air balloon ride and tours for us in our next stop in Cappadocia and he gave us tips around Istanbul, too. My 4-bed dorm (that I had to myself for one night and with only one other girl the other night) was nice and clean, although the bathrooms could be a bit cleaner. I would advise to stay away from booking a bed at the top floor though, it's a huge messy dorm and it's not worth a saving a few euros for. But do check out the rooftop! It has a nice view of the Hagia Sophia and you can also see the Blue Mosque. Also, Ali has some gym weights in the lobby and on the rooftop so if you're craving a workout like my friend and I were, these were an extremely nice plus to have! The wifi worked pretty well here, I didn't really have many problems with it besides it going out for a moment a few times and not being high-speed, but you can get everything done with it, in both the dorm room and downstairs in the lobby. Also a huge plus is a full kitchen here! And a nice and simple continental Turkish breakfast of a hard boiled egg, jam and butter and bread, and tomatoes and cucumbers. The best part about this hostel, besides Ali, was the location! Only a few minutes walk from the Hagia Sophia and the Blue Mosque. Definitely best hostel in Istanbul!

Stayed: June 2016
1  Thank Brittany S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
31
Reviewed 4 June 2016 via mobile

Ali the owner and his staff are the kindest of people! They will help you with anything. Staying here felt like being apart of one big family. Beds aren't the comfiest but the toilets always worked and showers were always hot. Great traditional breakfast included. Fantastic location! Just steps away from the main attractions and restaurants.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#4 of 1,161 in Istanbul
3,043 reviews
Sultanahmet
Angel's Home Hotel
Angel's Home Hotel
#83 of 1,161 in Istanbul
815 reviews
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#690 of 1,161 in Istanbul
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Agan
Hotel Agan
#156 of 1,161 in Istanbul
781 reviews
Sultanahmet
Recital Hotel
Recital Hotel
#60 of 1,161 in Istanbul
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mavi Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mavi Guesthouse

Address: Kutlugun Sok. No:3 Sultanahmet, Fatih | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 1,074 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range: €13 - €21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Mavi Guesthouse Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing