We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome view!”
Review of Mavi Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mavi Guesthouse
Ranked #111 of 1,070 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 May 2016

Great location in Sultanahmet, walking distance to tram, mosques, aya sophia, grand bazaar etc. Little breakfast plus coffee and tea given-even to late sleepers. Helpful staff. I had a super comfy stay

Room Tip: I stayed in the 24 bedroom dorm. It was as expected when choosing the cheapest route + TWENTY FOUR p...
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
There are newer reviews for Mavi Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2016 via mobile

Sometimes you stay at a place because of its luxuries and amenities, other times it's for convenience and company. In the case of Mavi I would say it's the latter. If you need an affordable safe nights sleep in Istanbul, close to many sights with an amazing staff, this is the place to stay. The staff here, including the owner Ali, were the absolute nicest of any staff, anywhere I have ever stayed. I felt welcome, safe and at home almost immediately. They sent a driver to pick me up at the airport (extra fee) and arranged for my transfer back to the airport. No problems at all. They warmly received me at midnight with a hot cup of tea, smiles and efficient check in.

I stayed in Room 4 which is on the second floor. Ali himself helped me carry my bag upstairs. The room was nice, bright and clean with a view to the street.

They must be working on the hostel now. The center part of the floor tile in the lobby is missing and there is a rug over the missing pieces. The ground floor toilet is also unusable and under construction. It's a lovely house and when they finish the repairs I'm sure will deserve 5 stars.

The included breakfast is good. I've included a photo. They serve you one hard boiled egg, cucumber slices, tomato wedge, few olives, butter and jams with a choice of coffee or tea. There is unlimited fresh bread in a basket on the table.

The location is fantastic. You literally are around the corner from everything so you can walk and see the best of Istanbul at your doorstep.

I hope to visit again one day, have longer to explore and spend more time with these lovely people.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
Thank designerd0212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2016

The guesthouse is located very close to Sultanahmed, Blue Mosque and Topkapi palace (Touristic place). Staff were very friendly. For the cleanliness, which was not so adequate. Plus, they have terrace on the rooftop.

Room Tip: If you are travelling solo and need some privacy, take the rooftop room.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Magsarjav B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2016

The owner Ali and the staff are very friendly. One could also book a place in shuttle for a nominal fee to airport. It is located just beside the Palace. The best thing about this hostel is it's location. The rooms are pretty cosy and I could see the palace through the window. It has got a good view from the terrace too and it is a good place to meet other travellers. I travelled to Istanbul alone and here I got to meet wonderful people who made my trip an unforgettable experience.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms which faces the palace
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank deepthi g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2016 via mobile

Mavi Guesthouse is very well located near Ayasofya and Blue mosque.
View from rooftop terrace will leave you speachless.
Breakfast included in price and free tea and coffee whole day.
Plenty of dinning options very near.
Guys working in hostel are always ready to help you with recommendations and basically everything you need.
It looked like they had a wireless internet issues at the time I stayed with them but hopefully it all sorted by now.
There's also a fully equipped kitchen available for those on low budget.
Well recommended

Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
Thank Marian_Lipnicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,159 in Istanbul
3,046 reviews
Sultanahmet
Angel's Home Hotel
Angel's Home Hotel
#85 of 1,159 in Istanbul
815 reviews
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#688 of 1,159 in Istanbul
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Agan
Hotel Agan
#144 of 1,159 in Istanbul
782 reviews
Sultanahmet
Recital Hotel
Recital Hotel
#61 of 1,159 in Istanbul
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mavi Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mavi Guesthouse

Address: Kutlugun Sok. No:3 Sultanahmet, Fatih | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 1,070 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range: €13 - €21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Mavi Guesthouse Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing