We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,996)
Filter reviews
2,996 results
Traveller rating
1,621
928
295
100
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,621
928
295
100
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the executive lounge taksim square tennis courts health club outdoor pool main restaurant business trip rooms are large turkey five star hotel very nice hotel old town turkish bath top floor public transport bosphorus concierge
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 2,996 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a lovely hotel situated beautifully overlooking Istanbul and the Bosphorus. It was a treat to have tea or turkish coffee on the terrace every morning and enjoy the view. This hotel has many amenities, you can smoke Nargiie, there is a turkish bath, indoor and outdoor pool etc etc. Staff are prompt and attentive, the food is well prepared, rooms are attractive and comfortable. Breakfast was outrageous, catering to many international ideals of breakfast arrayed all at once. One was spoiled for choice. Certainly my very best Istanbul hotel experience and one I hope to enjoy again in the future.

It is easy walking district to Taksim square, and taxis from the hotel are dependable and honest, the metro puts historic district in easy reach.

Room tip: ask for a room facing the Bosphorus
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TripMember09272017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TolgaAytan, Manager at Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago


Dear Valued Guest TripMember09272017 ,

Thank you for your kind words and 5-star rating.

We take great pride in providing our guests with an unforgettable luxury experience, and it is a real treat to see that you were impressed with your room accommodation and the service received.

Our guests' satisfaction is very important to us, and we try hard to make sure all our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel.

Thank you for your kind words and please come back soon.

Kind regards ,

Tolga Aytan
Hotel Manager
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

everything about this hotel is absolutely amazing. rooms were very clean, facilities and restaurants are excellent, they have beautiful Spa and Turkish bath, must be tried.

location is fantastic, 10 minutes walking from Taksim Square, 30 minutes walking to Sultan Ahmet area where all historical and touristic places are. the Hotel is facing the Bosphorus, my room had a balcony with Bosphorus view, can't say enough about the view. it is surrounded with shopping areas and beautiful landscapes, restaurants and coffee shops. Hotel area is very safe.

Hotel staff were very helpful and they did everything they could to make our stay comfortable. special thanks to people in the reception, Zaynap, Esraa and Bahic

Room tip: choose a Basphorus view
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khaldoon2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TolgaAytan, Manager at Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest Khaldoon2000 ,

It was a pleasure to read of your satisfaction on your last stay with us since it is our intention to see that each and every stay meets or exceeds your expectations.

Thank you for your special recognition in regards to the service of the team members you have mentioned, it seems that the friendly atmosphere has always made you feel welcomed .

We hope your travel plans will allow you another visit to Istanbul and we will have the pleasure of welcome you again in the nearest future.

Best Regards ,

Tolga Aytan
Hotel Manager
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Here’s a little test to gauge how well a hotel is run and which I occasionally put into practice when going somewhere for the first time and which I did in this case. A week prior to arrival, I emailed the concierge to ask about taxis from the airport (trip time and cost) and also opening hours for the executive lounge. To be fair, they were very quick to respond but not with the answers I actually needed which was frustrating and it took a total of 3 emails copying and pasting the same questions over and over again to finally obtain the answers. This set the scene for me as being all show and no substance.

Arriving at the hotel, no assistance is offered and you have to put your bags through the security scanners yourselves. Not a huge problem for us but it might be for the elderly or less mobile and it did call into question what the employees at the entrance actually do.

Check-in was sort of ok but the locals don’t believe in queuing which is an experience. We were just about to go to the executive lounge to check in there instead as Diamond members when a clerk became available. He was very polite and the young lady with him was incredibly enthusiastic although asking us just the once how our journey had been would have been more than sufficient. She did show us to our room which was a nice touch but we didn’t receive an upgrade.

The hotel is quite large but feels like its trading on its history somewhat as a star studded destination from years gone by. Indeed, there are lots of pictures of Conrad Hilton and other celebrities in the lobby from the 50’s, 60’s and 70’s and whilst this might work at places like Raffles or Reid’s Palace which are still visited by the rich and famous to this day, the lack of such pictures from recent years is very noticeable and it doesn’t really sit well in a dull, tired and communist era looking 1950’s piece of architecture.

The rooms are tired too and with considerable mould in our combined bath/shower and a very long hair stuck to the bathroom wall, we complained to the front desk. We don’t have mould in our home so why should we accept it in a 5-star hotel? I think that’s the problem though - without wishing to sound too snobby, the values of many of our fellow clientele appeared to be a little lower than ours and it’s possible that the property doesn’t receive too many complaints. However, from our point of view, it was unacceptable. That said, the management resolved the situation to our complete satisfaction but it’s a shame that we had to experience the issue in the first place. Talking with the duty manager, he said the hotel is being refurbished but he admitted that it’s more of a refresh than a deep project. Given the electrical sockets are falling off the walls in the corridor, the outdoor pool is an absolute disgrace of filthiness and there’s a strong smell of smoke in the corridor of a no-smoking hotel and on a non-smoking floor, perhaps something a little deeper should be considered?

Our new room without mould was very nice but one of the TV’s didn’t work and there was no seal on the bottom of the shower door so the bathroom flooded and also leaked into the hall which wasn’t great. The air conditioning was none existent throughout the hotel and probably turned down centrally for cost savings which is a pet hate of mine. Don’t advertise aircon if you’re not going to provide it. On the plus side and once the concert noise had stopped which we understand is a regular occurrence in close proximity to this hotel, we did have a superb night’s sleep.

The Executive Lounge is a very good size with plenty of seating (mostly tables and chairs) and serves canapés and a very good selection of alcoholic drinks from 18:00-20:30. Food choice is decent but luke warm and either incredibly good (meat balls were delicious and perfectly flavoured) to shockingly bad (lasagne was all cheese with little pasta or meat). I asked the chef about it who popped out to check the food levels (very good as this doesn’t always happen) and he said you get carbs from the lasagne and protein from the meat balls so it all balances out which was a bit odd. What if you only want lasagne?! Personally, I’d prefer to have superb all round rather than a mix of good and downright awful.

Breakfast in the main restaurant is ok but nothing to write home about. Some staff don’t look happy (and it shows) but some do (which also shows). Being a Muslim country, you have to ask for bacon (don’t, it was dreadful and we don’t understand how it could taste so awful and so salty - it’s possible it was fried in some very strange oil?) but somewhat surprisingly, they were cooking cheese and ham omelettes for non-Muslims on the same griddle as omelettes without ham for Muslims!

I think this sums it up really - the property is nice enough and with a little TLC, it could be very good. Overlay this with a little more thought to the overall guest experience and it would be super, and it wouldn’t take too much. It’s not often I give such a low rating but currently, it deserves it - it’s all very well staking a claim as the Grand Dame and iconic hotel of Istanbul but if you do this, you have to deliver and as of now, very simply, this property does not.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank PaphosUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SylvieW199, on behalf of the staff at Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear PaphosUK,

thank you for your review.

We are sorry that you had a disappointing experience during your stay with us. At Hilton, we always aim to ensure every guest feels cared for, valued and respected. Your feedback will help us deliver this brand promise. guest satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us again.





Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2018 via mobile

I was for 3 night in this hotel and i had many times in in it in past 12 years but my last stay in this hotel was 6 years ago .it has big rooms with big balcony and it is near to taksim square (taksim means distribution and comes from arabic world تقسیم ). By 5 min walk and metro station and special bus stop for airport .this hotel has a good and beautifull lobby .nice breakfast and kind staffs .but some things must be said : 1.room bath needs renovation .2.in below lobby rooms in A Floor the internet Wifi not working and if you have not laptop with wire connection and only have mobile phone you will be in trouble for your business internet connections .
3.there was a bad smell in my room from air condition also and i said to the reception but not corrected and it needed to open balcony door always .
You will have a amazing stay if you have upper floor rooms with see view .

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank yasham2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TolgaAytan, Manager at Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2018

Dear Valued Guest yasham2015 ,

First of all, we were delighted to be able to host you in our legendary hotel! It was a true pleasure for us to read your constructive feedback .

We are glad to learn that you continuously enjoy the time you have spent with us .

Your kind feedback regarding the condition of your room bath is much appreciated. We would like to inform you that we continuously carry out improvement plans and maintenance works to ensure the comfort of our guests.

We apologize for the inconvenience you faced with regards to the internet connection however we have the leading wifi provider in the reception and they are continuously working on strengthening the signal in our rooms. Please be assured that we are monitoring the progress and we are aiming on providing a problem-free wifi service.

In terms of your concern regarding the bad smell coming from air condition, we are truly sorry if this has negatively influenced your trip.Please rest assured that it has been investigated and addressed to prevent any similar issues from re-occuring.

We thank you once again for the valuable honest feedback, you are one of our valuable guests and we hope that your experiences will not deter you from choosing Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus on your next visit to Istanbul.

We sincerely hope to have a chance to welcome you back .

Best Regards ,

Tolga Aytan
Hotel Manager
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus






Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2018

I recently stayed at the Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus. I paid a premium to stay at a Hilton property because normally you know what to expect especially in a big city market. Istanbul is a very competitive market and I can say that given my stays at other non-Hilton properties on the current journey Hilton has lost their edge. Unfortunately the Hilton Bosphorus has really declined since the last time I stayed at the hotel. From the take or leave it attitude of the front desk staff to air conditioning that doesn't work Hilton just does not care. When I called the maintenance people regarding the AC, I was told it does not work and I should open the window and turn off the ventilation system. Thanks Hilton, I really needed the noise from the street and adjacent construction as well as the Istanbul smog. I would have thought that the second time I stayed at the property they would have improved their attitude and fixed the ventilation system. No such luck.

Room tip: Check another hotel brand
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brucec617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SylvieW199, on behalf of the staff at Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Bruce C,

Thank you for your review.

We are sorry we were unable to provide you with the quality of amenities and service you expect from Hilton during your recent stay. We apologize for the issues in your room and will work with our maintenance team to ensure this does not happen again.

If you return to our area, we hope you will consider staying with us again.





Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews