We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant food with a lovely atmosphere”
Review of Kayikci Restaurant

Kayikci Restaurant
Ranked #149 of 13,594 Restaurants in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$45
Cuisines: Seafood, Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Sultanahmet
Description: It resembles a Greek tavern restaurant by the Aegean sea with its white and blue coloured decoration and frescoes on the ceiling. It is located in a cobbled stoned street in Sultanahmet ( oldtown) and offers more than 30 different traditional cold appetizers, hot appetizers and special home made mezes with very fresh seafoods.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant food with a lovely atmosphere”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We visited here last week and although I don't usually write reviews I really wanted to add something for this. Beautifully decorated with lovely open fire. Food was lovely with really beautiful flavours. The house wine was great and the service was fantastic. This place is really worth a visit!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank wi n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    318
    138
    35
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect fish restaurant”
Reviewed 4 February 2012

I had best fish meal in that small nice restaurant. Staff was very friendly.There is a not luxury restaurant.only for eat perfect meal with acceptable price.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Namro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Overall great experience- highly recommended”
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Ate at Kayikci 9/1/12 and have only good things to say. We were shown a huge tray of mezze and after selecting several dishes were also brought some delicious homemade bread. Our mains were huge and delicious.

The staff; Omer, Duran and particularly Alper were so friendly and helpful, with Omer even going to a nearby cafe to get a water pipe for us to smoke while we sat outside which was incredibly well heated. We were also given complimentary drinks at the end of our meal.

This restaurant is very reasonably priced but is not cheap. I believe the food we received was definitely worth the price we paid. (lamb shish with rice and vegetables 26 Turkish lira)

The restaurant is located just off the main street (where the trams run) in Sultanahmet. The kebab restaurant next door is owned by the same man as Kayikci and was very busy.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Nadia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent staff tasty food!!”
Reviewed 9 January 2012

I was very satisfied with this restaurant during my visit to Istanbul.
From the beginning, the staff was so polite! BRAVO and thank you to all of them!
The decoration of the restaurant is very cozy and makes you feel at home.
The food is very tasty and very well prepared and presented by the chef and the cooks who are also very polite, always smiling and most of all, professionals.
The waiters and the maitre are wonderful people all of them.
I recommend it without any doubt.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Alexandros C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
Reviewed 17 December 2011

We actually went hunting for a different restaurant but ended up going back to this one twice. Food very good, not overly expensive, waiters very attentive and you could sit outside under the heaters during December which was very pleasant. Spinach ravioli one of the best I have had. thankyou

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank bibbo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kayikci Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Kayikci Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing