We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveller rating
20
12
2
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
20
12
2
2
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 38 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Stayed at Masala Apart for 5 nights at the end of February. I am a budget traveller, so the price was important oart of the deal, but also the guest review score and location. Also this is property of apartment flats with daily housekeeping, so do not exoect the same service as in the hotel.
I prefer to stay in apartment as they are usually cheaper and offer bigger size than hotel rooms and you have kitchen.
We stayed in apartment on the first floor. It was lovely. Nicely decorated with Ikea furniture, open plan kitchen dining area, living area, bedroom as shown on few pictures and nice clean bathroom. House keeping cleaned the apartment daily, so the apartment was kept nice and clean during our stay.
We got offered complimentary airport pick up. We could not find the driver, but once we called the masala apart, the driver showed up in few minutes.
The location is just great, with blue mosque just few minutes away.
The only negative thing was that the airconditioning outside the bedroom window was very noisy and it run 24/07. It did not belong to our apartment. We have to actually use the central heating, which worked very well.
Also on the booking.com confirmation is that apartment has a spacious terrace, but there was not any terracce nor balcony. I asked the cleaning lady, if we can go to the top floor to take few pictures from the roof terrace, and she said no.
In general, I would reccommend this apartments and should I will be traveling to Istanbul again in the future, I will stay in Masala Aparts again.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pochrv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We booked this place based on the Trip Advisor reviews and the photos on Expedia. When we got there we couldn't find the place - eventually we discovered that the "hotel" is actually just an ordinary house. It's been divided into 4 or 5 apartments, accessed via a very steep spiral staircase, on which the lights weren't working - we had to go up and come down the stairs in total darkness.

We were offered a choice of two apartments. I don't know where the photos on Trip Advisor were taken but they are certainly NOT of the apartments we were shown or anything like them. The ones we saw were small and very cheaply furnished with what looks like old secondhand furniture - the one bed I sat on was broken - and they didn't look at all clean. There was no nice tiled walls (they were bare), no nice bedlinen (the bedding was plain sheets), no pictures on the walls, no modern bathroom fittings (they looked very old and plain), no modern furniture, no air-conditioning, no TV, and so on.

We didn't see all the apartments, so it's possible the others are fine, but certainly the ones we did see were terrible, certainly not worth the money they were asking. We refused to accept them and went elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geoff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
masalapart, Gerente at Masal Apart, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Dear Guest, we totaly renovated,decorated and painted the Masal Apart. We care about what our guests suggests us. Normally aparts are ordinary houses,they are not hotels,that is the reason they are called aparts. As you mention the stairs are not dark, I dont understand the total darkness,it's not true. About bedlinen : I dont know what kind of hotels you are used to stay. Our all bedsheets and towels are standart hotel bedsheets and towels, it means they cant be low quality.. NO AIR CONTION, NO TV AND NO SO ON....YOU ARE TOTALY LYING. As you can see on the pictures of the apartment WE HAVE AIR CONDITION, WE HAVE TV AND WE HAVE WHAT A PERSON CAN NEED IN AN APARTMENT.
But anyway, we have new cleaning personal and others who cares about the Masal Apart. But when you make comments please just say the truth, only the truth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013 via mobile

Negative: different room fron the photos (we booked room with balkony and window with view in the bedroom and the room had no balkony and a small window in the bedroom that looks at a skylight!!), very dirty room at the arrival (food remains in kitchen cabinets, dirty bathroon and floor), no cleaning for the entire 5 night- stay, no sheet change for the entire 5 night- stay (the manager's excuse was: "they were not dirty... Why should we've changed them??"), absent manager (there was no one responsible there to take charge of the mistreatment, complaints, search of the shuttle driver at the airport, lapse of towels in the bathroom, etc. Only a young boy who works as a waiter ar the owner's restaurant). Also, not receipt was given for our payment and there was no official document tagged behind the door as most of hotels, houses and hostels have. When we demanded to talk to someone responsible the answer we got when we argues than the value for money of the room was inadequate was : "yes, it is expensive, but you are in Istanbul!!"
Positive: central location, easy to find, spacious room.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Evitaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
masalapart, Gerente at Masal Apart, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Dear Guest,
First of all I checked your reservation and you didnt especialy booked a room with balcony. Unfortunatly we dont have all rooms with balcony. We have a cleaning lady who cleans all the apartments everyday and we change bedsheets every second day.
We totaly renovated,decorated and painted the Masal Apart. We care about what our guests suggests us.
But anyway, we are new managment of the Masal Apart and we have new cleaning personal and others who cares about the Masal Apart.
Hope to see you again to change your opinion to positive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

It is very good located, clean and very kind people...new reformed,the price is okey comparing the service..it is near by almost all museums and mosques...
If you are staying more than three nights they offer you shuttle service. And if you want transfer back to airport you just have to ask for it...or any private tour of the city, they will be pleased to help you about anything...

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katibi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We spent 8 nights in the third floor apartment in September 2012. All the arrangements went according to plan (airport pickup at 06.00, the concierge ready to accept us that early). We had booked the apartment with a balcony but were given the one below without...no matter, it was pretty hot so we were pleased to have a slightly larger sitting room with aircon! The kitchen equipment was basic but we managed.
Position was the huge plus! minutes from Sultahamet Square, a fantastic view of a Sinan mosque and its byzantine ruins and water tower as well as down to the Mamara.and easy access to everything. All in all, very good value for money.
Agree with the comments regarding contact with the management...we had to phone a couple of times before the card machine was brought for us to pay! But the concierge, with little English (but then we have less Turkish!), was always willing to try to help..

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews