We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Madrid Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$238
US$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Tomtom Suites(Istanbul)
US$182
US$177
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$164
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$109
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$156
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$183
US$130
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Neorion Hotel(Istanbul)
US$161
US$145
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Yasmak Sultan Hotel(Istanbul)
US$147
US$127
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$577
US$469
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveller rating
4
8
3
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4
8
3
7
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 26 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2013

The hotel is located 20 minute-walk from the major sights in Sultanahmet district, e.g. Hagia Sofia, the Blue Mosques, the Hippodrome etc.

The rooms and bathrooms are large and clean, recently redecorated and refurbished. There's free Wi-fi service.
The breakfast is served on the top floor from where you can have a beautiful view of the Istanbul bay. The breakfast menu is diverse, offering both traditional Turkish food and continental breakfast.

The receptionists are kind and helpful, don't mistake their brisk tone for unkindness, they are always at service.

Room Tip: In some rooms there's a problem with the WC toilet - they won't flush due to poor water pressure, so make sure this works in your bathroom, or keep phoning the reception (as we did) asking them to send someone to fix the problem. They're used to having this kind of problem and they respond quickly, so no need for you to feel embarrassed or annoyed.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mirjana007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

I stayed in this hotel in may 2010 and I can only describe this as my worst nightmare, the hotel advised that a taxi would be waiting for us when we arrived at the airpost (cost included in the hotel price), when we reached the airport to no suprise there was no taxi arranged, we tried to call the hotel twie but the person who picked up could not understand or speak english and hung up rudely. Majority of the staff were unable to speak english so as you can imagine it was really hard to communicate with them. When we arrived at the hotel we were given a filthy room with holes in the bathroom ceiling and the room smelt of smoke, we asked to be moved the same night but were told that there are no other rooms available until tomorrow. The next day after insisting to be moved asap we were moved to a better room nothing spectacular. the breakfast is nothing special, theres no iron in the rooms or hotel, a member of staff use to take our clothes to a shop opposite for ironing at cost. Beware of this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sam a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This hotel bills itself as a 4 star but realistically it was a 2 star at best. It is located in a very noisy and congested location in Istanbul. It was almost impossible to reach by taxi as the traffic was so congested in the area. The rooms were pretty bare and run down with the furniture needing an update. The Wifi was free and worked ok, but all in all not a very highly rated hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OttawaTravellingDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

I spend one night in this hotel, but I don't like it.

The room is not clean, it seem too old hotel, I feel that the door is can be open easily by anyone try, this hotel is not good choice for stay in Istanbul

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AriHussein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Having read the previous reviews we didn't expect much of this hotel (booked it last minute so it was the best of options that were left) but our stay was actually very pleasant.

The room was big enough, the shower as well. Everything seemed renovated or maybe we were just lucky to get a room in a nice floor (5th). Wi-fi worked perfect. Windows were sound proof (really helpful!) and a various and plentiful breakfast on the rooftop terrace was amazing.

Negative:
Upon booking we selected a non-smoking room but were given a smoking one. The ashtray in the hall made me doubt they even have nonsmoking rooms.

What seemed strange was that not once in 7 days (6 nights) did they change the bed linen and towels despite the fact that the room was cleaned daily. With the exception of one young boy with glasses, staff can be friendlier and more welcoming (no smiles, no greetings upon entering and leaving the hotel or restaurant).

Location:
The best way to get to the hotel is to get off the tram (not metro!) at Aksaray station, which makes 2 stops to grand bazar and 2 more to Sultanahmet. Coming from the airport, take the metro to Zeytinburnu station and change there to the Tram line 1. You will need 2 jetons for this ride (one for metro, one for tram). When you get off the tram at Aksaray station, take the big street that is on your right side (don’t cross any road) and walk towards the first traffic lights. Turn left there and walk cca 200 m. The hotel will be on your left side.

The area seemed like a Russian district as there are many shops around with Russian signs and lots of people speaking Russian on the street. Nothing wrong with that though.

Room Tip: Rooms in 5th, 6th and 7th floor have a view over the Bosporus.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank pepca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews