We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful boutique hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Maywood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maywood Hotel
Ranked #143 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful boutique hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

My husband and I stayed 4 days at this hotel. It was a wonderful vacation and the hotel made it so. All of the staff was fabulous. They made any reservations we wanted and helped us with all of our itinerary and directions. The breakfast buffet was the best! So much to choose from, we never got tired of our breakfast. Our room was nice size with a mini bar. They sent a car to pick us up at the airport, free and then on the return we had the same car service, however we did pay for that ourselves. It was fine and not expensive. The location was great! Right in Sultanhmet and we could walk everywhere and felt perfectly safe. We absolutely loved Istanbul and the Maywood Hotel!

Room Tip: Choose a room to the back of the hotel where it is nice and quiet. Hotel is on a side street though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelqueen059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    578
    282
    53
    7
    2
See reviews for
167
421
86
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

This hotel was brilliant. The room was lovely and the location of the hotel istelf was perfect as we were able to walk everywhere or get the tram which is 2 minutes away. Breakfast was great with a huge selection so there is something for everyone.
For anyone stying at the hotel, don't go to the restaurant opposite the Maywood as we went there once and the food really wasn't that great.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ClaireSheffield_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

We stayed in the Maywood for 5 nights during our trip to Istanbul. We found the hotel to be nice, clean and cheap enough.
Good location and friendly staff. Nice breakfast with fresh fruits, cold meats, cheeses, pastries and cakes, toast and tea or coffee. Our room was well-furnished and the bathroom was okey.
I can really recommend Maywood Hotel to everyone who goes to Istanbul.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mickey77London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

The staff was very friendly and helpful and the hotel was nice, well-kept, comfortable and clean. Definitely conveniently located - within walking distance of most of the major sites.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aidil_o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level Contributor
105 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

We stayed at Maywood for 3 nights during Thanks Giving holiday in November 11. As we had booked 3 nights we were provided free transportation to the hotel which is fantastic considering you do not have to worry about public transport after a flight. We also paid 20 euro on the day of our return and got the same driver back to the hotel.

Needless to say what others have mentioned about location is true. The nearest tram station is Sirkici and not Gulhane. From Eminonu which is a 10 min walk over a pedestrian bridge you can get ferries to Kadikoy and Uskundar which are great for photos especially late in the afternoon. Eminonu also has a bus station. Bus 99 will take you to the Orthodox Patriarchy, Bulgarian church of St Stephen, the Greek boy school (Megali tou Genous Scholi) Our Lady of the Mongols and also Eyup for the Pier Loti Cafe with a stunning view. Bus 77 will take you to Taxim. If you take the tram and get off at Karabas there are a number of buses to Ortakoy and Besiktas. So get yourself a public trasport card (istanbulkart) and travel.

We had room 405 which was clean and pleasent. Heating was more than adequate so we left balcony doors open. The balcony was minute so only one foot could stand on it but when in a city like this who needs a balcony.

My one point of disagreement with all previous commentaries was the quality of breakfast. It is true that the is quite a large table to choose from but there were also many things I could not eat. There was a whole section of food I feel would be more appropriate for lunch like fried aubergines and courgettes, boiled greens with yogurt, yogurt with herbs. There was nothing warm like puff pastry, omelete, eggs (ok I will not ask for bacon in a muslem country).

Another issue that I did not like was he fact that when tables were cleaned, table cloths were not changed. In stead a brush for the crumbs was produced and a wet cloth for the stains.

Otherwise, it was a great stay.

PS where is my goodbuy present of teacups and apple tea?

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Ectoras_gr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotellino Istanbul
Hotellino Istanbul
#54 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sapphire
Hotel Sapphire
#97 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,162 reviews
Sultanahmet
Barbera Hotel
Barbera Hotel
#115 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#56 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Sultanahmet
Askoc Hotel
Askoc Hotel
#550 of 1,129 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Sultanahmet
Eurostars Hotel Old City
Eurostars Hotel Old City
#237 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maywood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maywood Hotel

Property: Maywood Hotel
Address: Nobethane Cad. No:25 Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#74 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#92 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#108 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#182 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Maywood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maywood hotel good choice and best hotel in old city..... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maywood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maywood Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing