We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Maywood Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Sultania(Istanbul)
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
US$121
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$152
US$113
Movenpick.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Byzantium Hotel & Suites(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
US$535
US$427
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Tomtom Suites(Istanbul)
US$295
US$286
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Midtown Hotel(Istanbul)
US$116
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sirkeci Mansion(Istanbul)
US$173
US$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$239
US$169
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
US$163
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Amira Istanbul(Istanbul)
US$839
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (935)
Filter reviews
936 results
Traveller rating
588
284
54
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
588
284
54
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrand bazaarwalking distancespice markettram stationhagia sophiatourist attractionsbreakfast was excellenteminonufimr
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
246 - 251 of 936 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2012

This hotel was brilliant. The room was lovely and the location of the hotel istelf was perfect as we were able to walk everywhere or get the tram which is 2 minutes away. Breakfast was great with a huge selection so there is something for everyone.
For anyone stying at the hotel, don't go to the restaurant opposite the Maywood as we went there once and the food really wasn't that great.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ClaireSheffield_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2011

We stayed in the Maywood for 5 nights during our trip to Istanbul. We found the hotel to be nice, clean and cheap enough.
Good location and friendly staff. Nice breakfast with fresh fruits, cold meats, cheeses, pastries and cakes, toast and tea or coffee. Our room was well-furnished and the bathroom was okey.
I can really recommend Maywood Hotel to everyone who goes to Istanbul.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mickey77London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

The staff was very friendly and helpful and the hotel was nice, well-kept, comfortable and clean. Definitely conveniently located - within walking distance of most of the major sites.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aidil_o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We stayed at Maywood for 3 nights during Thanks Giving holiday in November 11. As we had booked 3 nights we were provided free transportation to the hotel which is fantastic considering you do not have to worry about public transport after a flight. We also paid 20 euro on the day of our return and got the same driver back to the hotel.

Needless to say what others have mentioned about location is true. The nearest tram station is Sirkici and not Gulhane. From Eminonu which is a 10 min walk over a pedestrian bridge you can get ferries to Kadikoy and Uskundar which are great for photos especially late in the afternoon. Eminonu also has a bus station. Bus 99 will take you to the Orthodox Patriarchy, Bulgarian church of St Stephen, the Greek boy school (Megali tou Genous Scholi) Our Lady of the Mongols and also Eyup for the Pier Loti Cafe with a stunning view. Bus 77 will take you to Taxim. If you take the tram and get off at Karabas there are a number of buses to Ortakoy and Besiktas. So get yourself a public trasport card (istanbulkart) and travel.

We had room 405 which was clean and pleasent. Heating was more than adequate so we left balcony doors open. The balcony was minute so only one foot could stand on it but when in a city like this who needs a balcony.

My one point of disagreement with all previous commentaries was the quality of breakfast. It is true that the is quite a large table to choose from but there were also many things I could not eat. There was a whole section of food I feel would be more appropriate for lunch like fried aubergines and courgettes, boiled greens with yogurt, yogurt with herbs. There was nothing warm like puff pastry, omelete, eggs (ok I will not ask for bacon in a muslem country).

Another issue that I did not like was he fact that when tables were cleaned, table cloths were not changed. In stead a brush for the crumbs was produced and a wet cloth for the stains.

Otherwise, it was a great stay.

PS where is my goodbuy present of teacups and apple tea?

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Ectoras_gr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

We stayed at the Maywood on a family trip of 4 adults so we had 2 rooms. Both rooms were very comfortable and had a little balcony. What really made this hotel special was its location (5 minutes walk from most of the major sites) and the staff - right from the front desk to the staff cleaning the rooms. They were extremely helpful with advice on how to get to places, the best hamam location, the best Turkish Delight...they helped us organise some of our tours and the front desk was manned 24*7. At the time of departure each couple was presented with a present of Turkish Delight and Apple tea. A very nice gesture. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a King size rather than a twin single configuration. It provides more space in the room.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank lluv2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews