We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful 30th birthday weekend stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Witt Istanbul Suites
Ranked #5 of 1,175 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 November 2012

The term boutique hotel is widely used these days but it was originally coined for hotels like this. The Witt is a small hotel over the river from the old town, in a hip young neighbourhood full of interesting little restaurants and bars. The hotel itself is lovely and welcoming with a glossy and clean lobby opening out from a candlelit entrance. The lift has been touched upon various times by other reviewers but sufficient to say it was a cute touch. We stayed on the fourth floor and fell in love with our suite as soon as we walked in. The view wasn't panoramic but you could see the Blue Mosque and the Aya Sofia from the bar area window. The bar itself was magnificent, with marble fixtures and a really unusual metro mirrored wall opposite. We were touched to see that after being told that it was Mr Lisbonite's 30th, they'd left us an entire chocolate cake in the room, along with candles and sparklers. The room was spacious and squeaky clean and the bathroom was extremely comfortable and came complete with a rainfall shower big enough for two. The bed was enormous and the sofa area was perfect for stretching out with a book. Service was generally good. The only slight hiccup came when the concierge mixed our destination up with someone else's, sending us on a twenty minute taxi ride in the wrong direction. That said, they did send up a couple of glasses of wine that evening upon our return and offered to refund us the taxi fare. We also found it paid to pass by the bar on the ground floor for more water every time we came in as room service would bring one small bottle at a time. Overall, we loved the hotel so much that we actually spent most of one afternoon there reading and enjoying the view. We have told everyone we know that they shouldn't even think of staying anywhere else!

A couple of tips - yes, the hotel is on a steep hill but we found that taxis were generally very cheap and there's a tram stop about four minutes walk away. Ask taxi drivers to take you to the Italian Hospital. In general our strike rate when trying to get home was better once we realised that the hospital was practically next door. The hotel does give you a card with directions for taxi drivers but to be honest, very few of those that we used actually knew where the hotel was located. That said, we might just have been very unlucky with taxi drivers. Breakfast was good, if a litte unvarying, and excellent value for the relatively cheap room price.

Finally, take time for a local evening. The area feels like it's full of university students and ex-pats and there are loads of tiny bars and restaurants around. We walked further up the hill and then just wandered for ten or fifteen minutes before finding a lovely little place with huge windows and great food.

Room Tip: Ask to be put in one of the top floor suites - the view is worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonLisbonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,053)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

462 - 466 of 1,053 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2012

We stayed here at the end of October. Originally we booked for 3 nights but then decided to change and arrive a day earlier. We had originally booked a Grand Panoramic but there was not one available for the extra first night for of our trip. We were given a Grand King , which was beautifully designed and magnificently spacious. There was a slightly obstructed but impressive view of some of the city. The next day we moved room and were thrilled to have been upgraded to the Super Grand King Panoramic on the top floor, with a wrap around terrace, and incredible views over Istanbul, a wonderful gesture that we were not expecting. The view was so amazing that we never closed the curtains so we enjoyed the views at dusk, all through the night and early morning with the call to prayer. The only bad thing is when we return we will have to book this room!

The hotel is beautiful, small and quiet, and the service faultless. There are plenty of nice touches, for example the beautiful showers and choice of having breakfast downstairs or in your room. Everything in Istanbul is within reach and although I have seen some people mention the steep hill to the hotel, it only makes it more worthwhile when you arrive in your oasis of a room. Can’t recommend highly enough.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank londoners1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

My wife and I stayed at this small boutique hotel near Taksim Square. The service was amazing and it was close enough for us to walk to Taksim (about 5 minute walk, all uphill) but was far enough that it we were able to get our rest at night (no noise). The only part I wasn't happy with was that I had expressed to the the concierge that we had heard that getting a Taxi from the airport might be too expensive so instead they set up a private ride from the airport to their hotel and charged us 115TL. Later I found out the ride from the airport was only about 45 to 50TL. Other than that everything was great.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hkashani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuncel, General Manager at Witt Istanbul Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

Thank you for your time for sharing your experience. We feel great that we could meet your expectation other than the transfer service. There must have been a misunderstanding about the relative costs of a private pickup service and public yellow cabs. The yellow cabs can accommodate 2 people with luggages or 3 people without hardly any luggage. Our private van can accommodate up to 4-6 people with luggages. So I am assuming you were a group more than 2 which means you needed 2 yellow taxis. If you were a party of 2, then there must have been a misunderstanding obviously since private pickup service is more expensive than yellow cabs all over the world. If there was a miscommunication on our part, I apologize for it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Nice designer hotel with great nice breakfast in the lobby. Small hotel, unique, good location. Good view of Istanbul. Good and fast service. Nice and friendly staff. small unique boutique hotel. Mattresses were a bit hard but maybe I am more to the very soft ones:-).

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

This review is long overdue. I stayed at the Witt Istanbul Suites for a week in February. The hotel is absolutely wonderful. The rooms (suites) are spacious with so many different amenities. It was so nice to be able to stretch out & enjoy myself in a wonderful hotel. On top of the amazing rooms, the hotel offers a great breakfast. I truly enjoyed the made-to-order eggs each morning. Add to that wonderful service & good Wi-Fi and you've got a great hotel. On top of all of that, the location of the hotel truly assists it in gaining an edge over any hotel in the more touristic locations. Cihangir is a great neighborhood located close to the main action, but just far enough away to provide a sense of seclusion from the hustle & bustle of the city. The only "negative" regarding the hotel's location would have to be the trek up the hill after returning from a long day of sightseeing. The grade is fairly steep & you really need to take your time to keep from getting winded. The hill is, however, manageable when you consider there is a tram stop right at the bottom that can take you to all areas of the city. The Witt is a great hotel that makes Istanbul an even better experience than it already is.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JHBingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,175 in Istanbul
3,176 reviews
Beyoglu
Tomtom Suites
Tomtom Suites
#14 of 1,175 in Istanbul
1,044 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,175 in Istanbul
3,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#4 of 1,175 in Istanbul
3,065 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#11 of 1,175 in Istanbul
3,024 reviews
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#69 of 1,175 in Istanbul
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Witt Istanbul Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Witt Istanbul Suites

Address: Defterdar Yokusu No:26 Cihangir, Beyoglu, Istanbul 34433, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#11 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#31 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: €78 - €109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Witt Istanbul Suites 4.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Witt Istanbul Suites has an excellent location within walking distance from Istanbul's business district, Istanbul Modern museum and the buzzing bars and boutiques of both Beyoglu and Cihangir. All 15 suites span a generous 60m2. They are popular for long-stay guests as each has a Carrera marble-clad kitchenette with microwave, fridge and Nespresso machine. The super-cool beds with curved headboards and the laptop desks have been especially designed for Witt Istanbul Suites by Autoban. Sheets and towels were also commissioned from Denizli, a famous purveyor of Turkish linen. Cable TV, an excellent DVD collection, ipod docks and a welcome gift of multi-coloured macaroons are indulgent touches. But it's the bathrooms that make these suites really special. The ergonomic Corian sinks with pebble-shaped handles and the cluster of shower-heads that create a cocoon of misty hot water are all from designer Ross Lovegrove's Istanbul collection from Vitra. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Witt Istanbul Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Witt Istanbul Hotel Istanbul
Witt Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing