We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Colombo(Colombo)
US$172
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$205
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$218/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (358)
Filter reviews
358 results
Traveller rating
123
141
60
12
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
123
141
60
12
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barmarine driveindian oceanrail tracksfamily roomtravel deskrooms are cleanocean facinghousekeeping teama wonderful place to staynice hotelvisited this hotelsri lankacomplimentary breakfastthe hotel offersrestaurant staffmajestic city
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 358 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2017

First time in Sri Lanka with family vacation, amazing view, clean room, good food,very friendly and helpful front office staff Ushani and Dilini.
break fast menu was repeating, I request a chef to make one local Sri Lankan dish with in time he made and send to me ,I was so happy . Thanks

Room Tip: good view and clean room
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Vibin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren J, General Manager at The Ocean Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Dear Vibin,

Thank you for taking time to comment on TripAdviser. We are so delighted you have enjoyed our facilities and services. Once again its proved that our team go the extra mile to exceed our guest expectations.

We look forward to welcome you once again to The Ocean Colombo Home away from Home.

Kind Regards,
Warren Jesudhason.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017

I stayed there with two of other female friends for one night. We had a visitor who had to show the identity card when entering. However in like 1 hours time a lady came with a room buy and tapped our door. When we opened she questioned about the visitor and insisted her to leave. Further she questioned us as is there a male in your room. when we replied no she asked are you'll sure? she repeated the question 3 times. That was so unprofessional and so unwanted. Why would she ask four girls if we have a male inside the room? However when she left they called us again and asked the NIC of the visitor. And then we went down to speak to the hotel manager she proclaimed herself as the manager, and we did explain her it was is not nice to come tap a room door and disturb us like that. However later in the night, again there was a room boy who came and tapped on the door and when we opened he told us he got a call from the room saying the AC is not working. But we never called the reception. In the morning when I was checking out I met a gent who told me he was the hotel manager.

It was not a pleasant stay.. Would not recommend anyone.

Room is very tidy and the view is very beautiful.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank keerthi12311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren J, General Manager at The Ocean Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the comment on TripAdviser. Firstly apologize for the inconvenience caused. This is not how The Ocean Colombo treat our valued guests as it is evident from all genuine comments written by guests. However I will investigate the same and check our CCTV footage and respond to you.

Let me express the intention of this was not to inconvenience guests. The gent you met at check out was the manager. Please write to me on gm@theoceancolombo.com which will help us to improve and me to take necessary action.Hope this isolated incident would not stop you from coming to the Ocean Colombo.

Thank you,
Warren Jesudhason.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

The ocean Colombo mint restaurant is an amazing place to eat. Wonderful service especially by Dalsie. She is very nice and helpful. Food is nice and westernized but Sri Lankan food is available. Also I left my handbag at this restaurant which had my passports and important documents in it and almost as soon as we left we got a call saying that we left it. Dalsie is a very sincere person. Thank you again to Dalsie and the rest of the staff.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank pouja t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren J, General Manager at The Ocean Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Dear Pouja,

Thank you for taking time to comment on TripAdviser. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Ocean and thank you for the recommendations.

I will share this comment with Dulsie and our team as once again it proves the secret of The Ocean Colombo success is our Team.

We look forward once again to welcome you to The Ocean Colombo Hotel Home away from Home.

Kind Regards,
Warren Jesudhason.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017

Ocean Colombo is a very comfortable hotel in the outskirts of Colombo. We stayed there on our first and last night of holidays in Sri Lanka and we found it very nice an clean. The staff is very polite and friendly and the food is good. As it is next to the see, the view from the bedrooms and rooftop is stunning! The only detail is that is not in the centre of Colombo. Other than that, our experience was very good!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea have an amazing view
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank MariaMCosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren J, General Manager at The Ocean Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Dear Maria,

Thank you for taking time to comment on us on TripAdviser. We are delighted you have enjoyed your stay the Ocean.

The success of The Ocean is our team and it has proved once again from your genuine comment. Thank you for all recommendations.

We look forward to welcome you again to The Ocean Colombo Hotel Home away from Home.

Kind Regards,
Warren Jesudhason.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017 via mobile

The ocean colombo had a such a great view of the Indian ocean which we never expected & the room was very clean & spacious. Me & my wife experienced a good hospitality service throughout the stay from every outlet staff member.

Food was delicious & I would like to suggest more varieties for the breakfast buffet. Don't miss to visit the rooftop bar "Cloud 9" to experience an awesome view of the sunset with the sky line of Colombo.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank sarinda100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren J, General Manager at The Ocean Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Dear Sarinda,

Thank you for taking time to comment about our services and facilities on Tripadviser. We are so delighted you have experienced our warm hospitality at The Ocean Colombo.

Your comment on B'fast is well noted and we will discuss with our Chef on improvement and thank you for the same.

We look forward to welcome you once again to The Ocean Colombo hotel Home away from Home.

Kind Regards,
Warren Jesudhason.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews