We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mutton dressed as lamb”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Ranked #4 of 55 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2012

This place is trying to be something it is not! Yes, it is fine...a nice hotel, not far from the Galle Face Green (about 200m) and not a bad ambience. However, it is attempting to be like one of the grand 5 star hotels of the world and it just doesn't meet the mark.

What do I mean? You have to dress up to go to dinner, there is a grand open foyer, it towers over the surrounding buildings....but the foyer is not well air conditioned, the entrance is too small and cars pile up, the rooms are nothing special and the executive breakfast (which I snuck into...oops) is no different to the main breakfast- in fact there may even have been fewer options. The room was not well cleaned either (room decorations very dusty for example).

I suggest not bothering with Executive rooms, just ensure you are in the new section and ask for a standard room. Or stay in the Galle Face Hotel- much less salubrious, but for the same price you can get a suite in the old section (Classic wing) which has a little class and history at least.

Room Tip: Don't bother with Exec rooms- just ask for a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peripotetic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2012

Thank you for staying at Cinnamon Grand Colombo and for your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcome you back, should you visit Sri Lanka in the future.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,867)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,132 - 3,136 of 3,867 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2012

Smart hotel catering for business and passing tourist trade. Lovely pool, helpful staff and good food. Large, so a liitle impersonal, but would definitely stay there again if in Columbo.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fallopian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2012

Thank you for your stay at Cinnamon Grand Colombo.

We are pleased that you enjoyed our service, facilities and food. It is a pleasure to know you will stay with us again and we assure you of our best in service and hospitality.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

I absolutely love Cinnamon Grand. I stayed here for a month in February 2007 and then again in April 2010. Rooms are good though I haven't stayed in the newly refurbished rooms. Amazing restaurants and love the coffee shop. The Hotel has a special energy to it and is the 'must stay' place in Colombo.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amrita J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2012

Thank you for staying at Cinnamon Grand Colombo and for your very complimentary feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back, on your next visit to Colombo.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

I stayed 2 nights in the GC and was not disappointed with the perks. Complimentary bottle of red wine daily fruit and newspaper. Complimentary afternoon tea ( Im talking dainty sandwiches, hot sate, spring rolls cold sushi, homemade cakes cookies etc coffee tea drinks etc approx 1500 -1700 then 1800 to 2000 open bar as in complimentary drinks and nibbles and then........................ at 2300 hours supper complimentary. Your probably thinking ah well you must have paid for it well yes but Im saying fantastic value for money. Room Service food was fantastic and so cheap..... The building was a little tired in need of a little touch up and TLC. The bed and bedding not forgetting the pillows were brilliant. I wish I could have taken the pillows home. I only have one negative comment and that is why to large established 5* hotels insistent on wanting your money before you have completed your duration. ~This really irritates me. The booking should have been guaranteed when booked yet another 25% was taken on guarantee for incidentals which I didnt even use a quarter of. Prior to saying in the GC I had stayed in the D Villas for 2 nights and almost had half board done some laundry and they didnt tkae or bother me for money until my departure. I believe you should pay when your trip is over and your ready to check out. However on that small note I would highly recommend the executive option.I would revisit for sure

Room Tip: Take the Executive Rooms with the perks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pauline1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2012

Thank you very much for your kind and appreciative review of Cinnamon Grand Colombo. We are most pleased that you enjoyed the service, facilities and comfort of our executive floor rooms and thank you very much for complimenting on the charges.

We are delighted you will stay with us again and look forward to indulge you with more of our hospitality.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in February 2012. We were impressed with the beautiful hotel, surrounds, gardens and restaurants. However, the service was really disappointing. On quite a few occasions, there seemed to be more staff than guests but still we waited for too long for drinks or meal orders to be processed.

On one afternoon, we ordered one round of drinks in the lobby bar before we left to an event. The girls sent the champagne back as it was flat and the waiter brought replacements out (which was a different brand). When the bill arrived, we were charged for 2 glasses of Moët when clearly neither the first or replacement glasses were this particular brand. The waiter brought out the bottle of Moët and claimed that he himself had poured all champagnes from the same bottle. At that time, a guest sitting at another table approached the staff with exactly the same complaint. We can draw no other opinion that the staff had refilled an empty bottle of Moët with a substitute and were trying to fool unsuspecting customers.

Since we checked out, we have received an email from the hotel asking if we could authorize our credit card to be used to cover a food/beverage charge incurred by another guest as they had disputed the charge at the time of their check-out.

All in all, we loved the hotel and facilities but the poor service has left a really sour taste. The service we have received at other Sri Lankan hotels has been much better which has reinforced this point to us.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ello1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

Thank you for your stay at Cinnamon Grand Colombo and for your valuable feedback on TripAdvisor.

Whilst we are pleased that you admired our hotel, its environs and enjoyed our facilities, we very much regret your disappointment over the issues encountered. Whilst thanking for bringing this to our attention, please be assured that we will definitely investigate into these complaints and keep you posted of the outcome. We certainly hope you will continue to stay with us in the future and look forward to welcome you back.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
1.2 km away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.4 km away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
1.6 km away
Hilton Colombo
Hilton Colombo
#12 of 55 in Colombo
2,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#6 of 55 in Colombo
2,018 reviews
0.5 km away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#9 of 55 in Colombo
2,274 reviews
2.4 km away
Colombo Court Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Grand Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Grand Colombo

Address: 77 Galle Road, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Colombo
#2 Spa Hotel in Colombo
#3 Business Hotel in Colombo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
Price Range: €119 - €180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cinnamon Grand Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 35 kilometers from the Bandaranaike International Airport (BIA), luxurious Cinnamon Grand Colombo is located in the heart of Colombo City’s business, shopping and entertainment center. Elegantly designed, spacious rooms at the Cinnamon Grand offer a wide range of in-room amenities, king size beds, and a pillow menu to ensure your comfort and pleasure. All rooms feature carefully attended-to bathrooms and toiletries, large flat screen TVs, a mini bar, and WiFi access. The hotel’s 14 restaurants provide an electric mix of international cuisines, including award-winning Sri Lankan seafood at the Lagoon Restaurant & Garden, and the best of European fine dining at the London Grill. To wind down, guests can patronize Cinnamon Grand’s poolside ‘Breeze Bar’ or typical British pub style ‘Cheers Pub,’ and enjoy a wide range of cocktails, beer and fresh juices. There are two gymnasiums, a spa retreat, a tennis court and two pools. Cinnamon Grand is also located right next to Colombo’s high end shopping mall, Crescat Boulevard. Cinnamon Grand Colombo is fully accessible and is an environmentally friendly property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cinnamon Grand Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinnamon Grand Colombo Hotel Colombo
Cinnamon Grand Hotel Colombo
Cinnamon Hotel Colombo
Colombo Cinnamon Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing