We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A quiet and charming escape from the chaos of Colombo” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Havelock Place Bungalow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Havelock Place Bungalow
Ranked #8 of 130 Colombo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A quiet and charming escape from the chaos of Colombo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights and found it to be exactly what we'd hoped for. Location is fairly central but at the same time it's situated down a quiet road and is off the beaten track. Colombo is a slightly hectic place (to say the least) so it was really nice to stay somewhere more chilled and away from it all.

Absolutely loved the outside restaurant area, particularly at night when they put candles on the tables. Menu was primarily international cuisine - slightly disappointing that there wasn't more authentic Sri Lankan food to choose from, but in fairness the food we had was pretty good.

Room was spacious, bed extremely comfortable and the shower was hot and powerful. One criticism however would be that the room wasn't as clean as we would have liked. This wasn't a major issue for us, after all this is Colombo so expectations need to be realistic; for the price we paid however we did feel that this was something that could have been improved.

Staff at Havelock Place were very friendly and made us feel really at ease. The manageress in particular was very welcoming; looking after us as though we were part of her family. When we wanted to go into town she walked us to the bus stop and made sure we got on ok and when we left for Kandy very early in the morning she made sure that we had sandwiches to take with us for the trip. Small touches like this mean a lot when you're far from home, and for that reason we'd definitely stay here again if we ever find ourselves back in Colombo

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dulwich W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
havelockplacebungalo, Owner at The Havelock Place Bungalow, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Thank you for your comments.

Since the rooms are cleaned daily as are the toilets. Linen is new and is changed daily We are surprised to see the comment regarding cleanliness..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    113
    33
    7
    8
See reviews for
85
160
22
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

My wife and I chose to wed in Colombo. Coming from Australia and not having much luck getting information from both the Sri Lankan High Commission and DFAT we found Shamala's help in organising everything invaluable! As we were getting married we splurged a little and opted for the suite, which was worth every cent! The bed was perfect, the bathroom luxurious and the swimming pool a life saver (considering the heat & humidity). Service was impeccable and the staff more than willing to help. The quality and price of the food was exceptional, particularly the Sri Lankan breakfast and dinner options (which were all amazing). As for the actual wedding, not only did they organise the registrar but also sought out a private area of the garden and decorated it with intrinsically weaved flowers on string and beautiful flowers. The wedding meal was wonderful and no expense was spared (upon returning to our room they had strewed flower petals everywhere). If we were to have one complaint, it would be that we couldn't stay longer! A memorable visit, helpful and friendly people, and as it boasts in the brochure it is without doubt an oasis set away from the hustle and bustle of Colombo! Finally, the owners and the staff make this place relaxing, welcoming and more than a pleasure!

Room Tip: The suite we stayed in was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ErikAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
havelockplacebungalo, Owner at The Havelock Place Bungalow, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you at The Havelock Place Bungalow again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Beautiful grounds and a colonial style and feel to the rooms and common areas give you the instant impression of 'boutique'. Unlike your run of the mill hotel or guesthouse, Havelock Place Bungalow has a charm and uniqueness to it which makes it feel special. With some modern touches, it keeps itself from being too traditional and allows a bit of trendy in - see the pool.

Rooms are quite different depending on the number from pictures seen on here - we had number 4 which consisted of two double canopy style beds with mosquito nets. The beds were comfortable and clean, and the dark wood of the bed and floors created a warm sense, even with a cool AC blowing. It had a large modern simplistic bathroom, a contrast to the bedroom itself. Having a 3 month along for the trip, a charming wooden crib was provided as well.

The location of the bungalow was great, within walking distance to a few unique shops. A tuk tuk or taxi could take you to restaurants or clubs if you choose. A block in either direction will find you amid loud honking traffic and city bustle, yet somehow the bungalow is tucked behind some buildings and walls which stifle the noise and give you peace.

Breakfast wasn't too impressive, but their open faced sanwiches were great, and homemade icecream was awesome. The staff had some traits to be desired however, as speed and smiles weren't greatly present.

Overall a great place. With some better service, it may have gotten a 5 star mark. Definitely unique and a nice stay in Colombo.

Room Tip: Room 4 has the posted canopy style beds and a great feel to it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jnichol13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
havelockplacebungalo, Owner at The Havelock Place Bungalow, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to send your review. Our staff have always been known to be helpful and friendly and we are surprised that you found them to be otherwise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
136 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

This was our first hotel in Sri Lanka. Arriving after the flight from London and a tour of the city, it was a lovely place to relax in the garden, full of birdsong despite being close to the city centre. A real oasis of calm.

Our suite was attractive and comfortable with doors opening onto the hotel's small swimming pool.

The menu for dinnner was chalked up on a blackboard on the terrace where we ate. It was quite extensive for a place with only a few rooms and was very imaginative, focussing on local ingredients. The home-made ice creams and sorbets were especially good.

After dinner, the charming owner came and chatted to us for a few minutes.

We also took breakfast on the terrace - freshly prepared and excellent quality.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KentManKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granada, Spain
Level Contributor
295 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

I echo all the other reviews in their praise of the location. It's such a welcome retreat from the stinky bustle of trafficky Colombo. And the cute lap pool is such a bonus after hours of tourist tramping and sweat. We stayed in a suite. 2 airy spacious rooms. Like the whole hotel the room has seen better days, but that's part of the appeal. You get the feel of staying in a real home. Having read about the food we had high expectations. The menu itself is imaginative and sustains those expectations. The reality, however, was disappointing. "Roast pork with fig salsa" sounded enticing. I think the pork must have been roasted some time before and reheated. It was awfully tough - and camouflaged with what tasted like fig jam. The accompanying roast vegetables were tasty - but cold! My partner's chicken still harboured strips of rubbery sinew. The desserts were good. Another aspect that shocked us was the absence of a welcome drink upon arrival. This is our second visit to Sri Lanka (we were there in April 2011). Every place - EVERY place - we stayed we were greeted with a glass of cool fresh juice (and a wet towel). We arrived here right from the airport and a tiring journey and within half an hour were signing for the pot of tea we'd been offered. 300 rupees. Get a life!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IntrepidHector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
4.4 km away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
3.2 km away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#6 of 52 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
1.7 km away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#9 of 52 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#10 of 52 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,174 reviews
0.9 km away
Casa Colombo
Casa Colombo
#14 of 52 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
3.5 km away
Taru Villas - Lake Lodge
Taru Villas - Lake Lodge
#1 of 130 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Havelock Place Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Havelock Place Bungalow

Property: The Havelock Place Bungalow
Address: 6, Havelock Place | Colombo 5, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 130 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Havelock Place Bungalow 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Governor, Hand-written Deed and Peppercorn The year was 1892 and what was known as "Ceylon" was under British rule. Governor Havelock transferred the title to the land (on which the bungalows are built), by a hand-written deed to the Havelock Building Company on the payment of Rs. 1307/- and a Peppercorn. The present owners purchased the properties in the mid 1980's and lived there. The Havelock Place Bungalow was first opened to guests in December 1999. In the city, yet miles away... If you've ever visited the Bungalow, you would have noticed how discreet we have been about our presence. To the casual passer-by, the Bungalow appears to be nothing more than an old colonial home. Only a plaque with the name 'Havelock Place Bungalow' engraved on it, indicates that we are open to guests. No wonder the Bungalow continues to be Colombo's best kept secret! We are conveniently located so if you are in the mood for a visit to the Museum, Independence Square, or Temples, or would like to go on a shopping spree, you can get to your destination in a matter of minutes. It's a jungle. But definitely not the concrete type... When you enter our gates and walk along the paved pathways, you realize you are in an oasis, away from the bustle of the city. Trees are an intrinsic part of the Havelock Place Bungalow experience. You can enjoy your breakfast while watching our garden come alive with a variety of birds and butterflies, or relax on a bench and gaze at the stars as night approaches. The surrounding foliage lends a quiet charm to every part of the Bungalow. Welcome to the Bungalow! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Havelock Place Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Havelock Place Bungalow Hotel Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing