We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Two stopovers - both excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Colombo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilton Colombo
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
303 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
“Two stopovers - both excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

We stayed here twice during our recent holiday in Sri Lanka.
On both occassions our rooms were large, comfortable and well appointed. We found the reception and portering staff very efficient and welcoming.

We dined in Il Ponte, their italian restaurant on our first stay and enjoyed a very good meal and wine at reasonable prices. Three courses including a bottle of wine(£16) for £66 for the two of us. The service was excellent.

On our return we had time to use the pool which was busy but the staff were very attentive and made sure we had loungers.
As it was the final night of our holiday we decided to dine in the hotel's more upmarket Spoons restaurant where we had a truly spectacular dinner. The best while in Sri Lanka. The service was attentive and the food was nicely and imaginatively presented and tasted wonderful. The three course dinner with a bottle of wine(£20) came to £96 for the two of us.
Breakfast was served from a large buffet where there was a vast choice of international foods, the service was very good.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Walton2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rudolf_Troestler, General Manager at Hilton Colombo, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Dear Walton2,

Thank you for your encouraging review of Hilton Colombo. It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed both your stays with us and that you were happy with your rooms, facilities and service, especially our restaurants.

We very much appreciate your compliments to the team, from the Front Office to our restaurants and our pool. They do indeed work hard to ensure the comfort and well-being of all our guests.

Thanks again, we hope your future travels will bring you back to Colombo and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,
Rudolf Troestler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,861 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    699
    715
    304
    103
    40
See reviews for
260
450
183
744
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
272 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

Overall we are pleased with the stay at the hotel and can point to a number of "well dones" to the staff on site from the moment we touched down in Colombo airport. We had agreed a pick up through a friend but the driver failed to show. The Hilton man at the airport immediately helped, arranging a driver for us into the hotel with a smile and a "Welcome to Sri Lanka". It was an excellent start for the hotel and all thanks to Jerry at the airport.
We were upgraded when we got their and the sea view from the room was great. The room itself is the "older" type of comfy furnishings and less sharp business furnishing, but since Sri Lanka is rebuilding it's tourist industry I think that is going to be this way for a while until investment comes in. For us it was a reasonable size room and no complaints.

The Curry Leaf restaurant was great - we had a superb buffet dinner there on our first night.

We had the exec lounge which was staffed by some interesting smilnig characters but at one point noisy kids had to be told off by another guest, and we had breakfast served with one hand by a waiter whilst he talked on his mobile with the other. I've only seen this in Sri Lanka and it is really rude. It cost the hotle a mark on this review.

The ground floor layout is odd. Once outside there's a couple of restaurants, but you have to take a bride over the road to the gym, pool and Karaoka bar. Strange, but probably indicative of how the hotel has grown.

Location wise it's really good, with the sea front two minutes walk away and 10 minutes walk to the Fort railway station.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen_Lloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rudolf_Troestler, General Manager at Hilton Colombo, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Dear Stephen_Lloyd,

We are very pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay at Hilton Colombo. Thank you for your feedback on our airport service and the hotel, especially our rooms and Curry Leaf restaurant.

We sincerely apologise for the inconvenience you experienced in our Executive lounge. Rest assured we are addressing this matter to ensure consistent and high service standards for all our guests.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback and we hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Rudolf Troestler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

My wife and 1 year old daughter and I stopped for 5 nights here, the hotel is very impressive, with pleasant reception staff and a very clean and spacious room. Sea view room was great too. Room service was very good too, orders arrived promptly and rooms were serviced every day and fresh towels provided. With the wide choice of restaurants on site, the food options were good, with quality food provided at the restaurants that we went to. The Curry Leaf restaurant and Spices breakfast were particularly impressive.

Negatives were that although the hotel and staff are well mannered and well kept, I expect more from some of the Hilton staff. By this, I mean we had pre-booked one room in advance - upon arrival, we were told we had pre-booked two rooms! Which wasn't a problem for me, the extra room I had supposedly pre-booked and had already paid for apparently! I spoke to management to clear this matter eventually.

More concerning and disappointing was that on the only two occasions we asked the concierge to order us a private taxi, they called us a taxi - which didn't have a meter - which seemed very suspect. As tourists/foreigners, we thought this must be a normal taxi and paid the driver at the end, which he said was 1000 SLR. On our return, we managed to get our own taxi back - and this one was metered and the cost came to 560 SLR. The point being I expect Hilton staff to order 'proper' private taxis and not ones without a meter where tourists can get ripped off.

The second bad experience was again at the concierge, where this time they ordered a private taxi for us, this time with a meter. However, the taxi had no air con and also the driver had no idea how to get to our destination. Also, when it came to settling the bill, he said he had no change at all! Again, I expect Hilton to order private taxis from professional and reputable companies rather than from any old company.

Finally, we booked a Hilton day trip to Kandi. The driver we had been allocated offered no suggestions of where to go and any recommendations at all. He gave us no tips on what to expect in various places and simply dropped us off at various locations and left us to it. As this was an official Hilton booked day excursion to Kandi, I expect a whole lot more from the driver. It should not simply be a chauffeur driving you to places - should offer advice and suggestions for an excursion, else we could simply hire a private taxi externally! Especially when this excursion cost us 23000 SLR.

We found that the travel shop is quite useless too - they literally just simply take bookings that you request, offering no advice or suggestions or recommendations.

All in all, besides the above negatives, the hotel is a good one, especially the interior and rooms.

Hilton Colombo simply needs to be aware of tourists and foreigners who are staying at the hotel and give advice and suggestions to help them enjoy their stay in Sri Lanka.

Room Tip: Sea view room on 7th floors was great, higher floor would be even better. Do not order any private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frohlich99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rudolf_Troestler, General Manager at Hilton Colombo, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Dear frohlich99,

Thank you for reviewing Hilton Colombo, we are pleased that the hotel, our rooms and food offerings were to your satisfaction.

We sincerely apologise for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. Rest assured we have taken your feedback regarding our Concierge seriously and are taking the necessary steps to improve our communications and pro-active service. Thank you for your valuable insight.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Colombo.

Yours sincerely,
Rudolf Troestler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
106 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

Had a good stay at The Hilton Colombo in Dec 2011. Efficient staff, great breakfast buffet and good clean rooms helped start our Sri Lanka trip on a good positive note.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mumbaiya41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rudolf_Troestler, General Manager at Hilton Colombo, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Dear Mumbaiya41,

Thank you for your kind review of Hilton Colombo. It is a pleasure to know that your stay with us set a positive tone for the rest of your Sri Lankan holiday!

We appreciate your valuable feedback on our rooms, service and breakfast buffet, and hope that you you will plan to visit us again in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Rudolf Troestler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

I have stayed in the Hilton, Colombo several times and I can honestly say it's my home from home in Colombo. I love this hotel - from the front of house staff and their very warm welcome, to the wonderful (helpful) Business Centre staff to the variety of wonderful restaurants - the health spa - the gym - the pool and the service - all perfect. The only problem is I could spend my whole stay at the Colombo Hilton and not walk outside. The rooms are comfortable with great views - I always opt for a sea view room rather than a city view as it is quieter that side of the hotel. BTW the breakfast is the best on Planet Earth. Can't wait to go back and I just hope this hotel never changes.

Room Tip: A Galle Face room is more peaceful than a City view or Harbour view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dogwalker2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rudolf_Troestler, General Manager at Hilton Colombo, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Dear dogwalker2011,

We are most delighted that you consider Hilton Colombo your "home away from home".

Thank you for your encouraging feedback on our service, facilities, rooms and especially your compliments on our breakfast offering.

We certainly look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Colombo!

Yours sincerely,
Rudolf Troestler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.6 km away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
1.6 km away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
1.3 km away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#6 of 51 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,542 reviews
1.0 km away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#7 of 51 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,996 reviews
0.3 km away
The Kingsbury
The Kingsbury
#15 of 51 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Colombo

Property: Hilton Colombo
Address: 2 Sir Chittampalam A Gardiner Mawatha, Colombo 00200, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Colombo
#4 Business Hotel in Colombo
#5 Spa Hotel in Colombo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
#9 Family Hotel in Colombo
#10 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 384
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Colombo Hotel Colombo
Hilton International Colombo
Colombo Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing