We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second visit, better than the first!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Garden Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Garden Guest House
Ranked #18 of 134 Colombo B&B and Inns
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
199 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Second visit, better than the first!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

We visited here again after about three years. We were amazed to see the level of service was still amazing, but this time, pretty much every room was booked. All the guests we spoke to commented on how much they enjoyed staying here. The Wi-Fi worked great.

The breakfasts in the morning are really something special. The attention to every detail, with high-quality fruits, presentation and cooking techniques made each breakfast an experience on its own.

We spent a total of eight nights here, in between two trips around the island. We had people to visit in the Colombo area, and so this was a convenient base for us. Some guests we spoke to liked to walk to the downtown (galle-face) area, while others prefered the Tuk-Tuk. In either case, it's an easy ride, or a long walk...with our kids, we preferred the ride.

Good shopping is very close by, and this rest house is in a quiet area away from the very busy Colombo traffic. We spent the first couple of days just relaxing from our 30 hour flight from Canada, so the peace and serenity of this place was very much appreciated.

I think another reviewer commented this is a luxurious stay at a very modest price. I would totally agree. This is the perfect place for someone who wants to be pampered but does not want to pay the high prices of Colombo area hotels, which are 2-3 times the price of this place.

I think the type of experience you will have at the Garden Guest House goes back to Colonial Ceylon, and will soon be lost in the modern-day Sri Lanka. Stay here while you can, to experience something truly unique.

Room Tip: The "Whiskey room" sleeps four people, making this great for families. Air Conditioning w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DBM24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    60
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
52
94
29
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

I will start with one single warning, taxi drivers will have no idea where this place is, they will say they do but they don't. So make sure you print out a map & take down the telephone number before leaving home

However once you are there you can look forward to a very good stay

Stayed for single night, very much a family run guest house, think we met mum, sister & son
All very friendly & helpful, organised transport to the station in the morning at local rate not tourist
Room was very good, fitted wardrobe magically open to reveal bathroom with separate bath & shower.
Wi Fi too

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canarytraveller72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

We stayed at the beginning and end of our trip around Sri Lanka. What amazing hosts we had, providing such genuinely friendly service.....unlike anything we have ever seen. The attention to detail was un-matched.

Although this place is much less expensive than Colombo area hotels, the service is much higher. If you are coming in after a long flight, I suggest staying here for a three days to help getting over your jet-lag before heading out for more rustic accommodations around the rest of the island. If you are a back-packer type who is looking for the most basic place to sleep...go somewhere else. We spent a couple days at the end as well to unwind and feel pampered before our long flight home.

Room Tip: For a family of four, select the family suite. If your kids are pick eaters, they will cook your bre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CADFAM9902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

We stay one night in this hotel. We do love everything about this property. The room, no doubt, is the most clean and comfortable one. Everything is well maintained including A/C, Fan, toilet and Wifi. The Wifi is excellent in terms of speed and stability. It is unlike the other hotels as we spent 17 days around Sri Lanka.
Especially the owner, she is just like a kind grandma to both my wife and I, is truly friendly and care about customers. At the end, they help me to hire a taxi to airport with reasonable price.
Definitely, I strongly recommend this hotel. If one day I came back to Colombo I will choose Garden Guest House again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlieCYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

We stayed for two nights, were collected from the airport and really well looked after throughout.

The room was big and had A/C the breakfast was great and it was hassle free.

I'd recomend this as a good place to stay and a different option to the same boring hotels which all look the same.

The house is full of interesting bits and bobs like cuckoo clocks and orniments and there is a fish pond in the living room with a fountain which is interesting!

It was a little bit like going to stay with long lost relative but in a nice way.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
2.6 km away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#6 of 51 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,655 reviews
3.9 km away
The Steuart by Citrus
The Steuart by Citrus
#18 of 51 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
3.4 km away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#8 of 51 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
3.8 km away
CityRest Fort
CityRest Fort
#5 of 134 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
3.6 km away
Drift BnB Colombo
Drift BnB Colombo
#2 of 134 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Guest House

Property: Garden Guest House
Address: No 7, Karlshrue Gardens | Colombo 08, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 134 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Home-Stay is situated in Colombo in a very quiet residential area within close proximity to the City Center. The National Museum, Places of Worship, Park,Restaurants,Shopping Malls, Casinos, Golf Links and International Cricket Grounds,Central Bus Stand and the main Railway Station could be reached within quarter of an hour.We have WiFi which is free of charge accessible to the Bedroom. This is a Family Run business and we go out of our way for them to feel at home and experience the Sri Lankan Hospitality. As we are a Bed & Breakfast unit main meals could be ordered from Internationally Recognized chains such as McDonald's, KFC ,Burgher King or leading Italian, Indian, Chinese or Eastern and Western restaurants in Colombo. Thirty minutes drive to the International Airport on the Expressway. Airport Transfers and Tours and Excursions could be arranged for nominal fee with English Speaking / Driver Guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Garden Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Guest House Hotel Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing