We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food in a clean restaurant, economical but sans the Chettinad grandeur”

Ponnusamy Chettinad Non-Veg
Ranked #379 of 720 Restaurants in Colombo
Cuisines: Indian, Pakistani
Restaurant details
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We dined twice within a week and found the food tasty and authentic Chettinad style. The weekday dinner was served quickly (15 minutes) but the Sunday lunch took more time (30 mins).
The staff are courteous and very helpful in deciding on an appropriate mix of menu items. Our steward, whom we requested the second day too, explained what ingredients went in to a dish and the cooking process when inquired.
The interior is simple, unlike luxury Chettinad palaces. That is to be expected at the very economical pricing offered. They have a separate section on ground floor for vegetation food.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NeilPerera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018

Went across to Ponnusamy's down Horton Place with my workmates for lunch today. I had pre-booked a table and was told that a "family room" could be booked for 10 people. This is not a high end Indian resetaurant so I was a bit worried about the standard at first.

When we arrived we were ushered upstairs and the seating arrangement and ambiance was pretty generic and what you get in many mid range South Indian restaurants in Colombo. Indian music played in the background and the seating was comfortable enough. A senior manager of the hotel took our order not the young waiters so he was able to recommend fast moving dishes etc.

Service was quite slow. It took more than half an hour for the food to arrive by which time we were all starving. However, the food was fresh and well prepared, and while in most Indian restaurants all the curries have the same base, it was clear that the spice mixes used for each dish was different (and probably freshly made). The tandoori chicken starter we ordered was spectacular - juicy, crispy and packed with flavour. The garlic naans were hot, cruchy and extremely tasty. So were the curries - vegetable kurma, channa masala, mushroom masala and a prawn dish. All had unique flovours and were really well done.

So overall, tasty and fresh food, long wait for service and the younger waiters while being good natured weren't too knowledgable. I wouldn't rate it high for cleanliness either as it was pretty basic. But overall it wasn't a bad experience and I can highly recommend the Indian food.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DulaniSirisena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Visited this restaurant with colleagues since its nearby to office and offers Indian varieties. The food was tasty and the portions generous. Liked the Thali and the carrot halwa,, Yummilicious..! Would visit again soon with family.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank Thishanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

Just ordered a garlic chicken and 2 other sides. It has been more than 30mims and i am still waiting For my food. Not sure about the quality of the food as I am still waiting to taste it. Very slow service.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Shamil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2018 via mobile

Last night we went to have dinner around 9pm and there were no table fully packed. So waited for 15 minutes time and finally got the table. Once we seated A/C was not working and we called a waiter to switch on it for more than three times. There were 3 to 4 waiters just standing and around the cashier table and chatting. After fourth call a waiter came and switched on.

We ordered a masala dosa and and the waiter brought a mutton dosa.... pfffff.... waiters are not trained well I would say. This is not my first time. I'm a regular customer who visits the restaurant once a month. Please trained your staffs in a professional manner. Other than that food is good.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank RajMenisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ponnusamy Chettinad Non-Veg also viewed

Colombo, Western Province
 
Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 
Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 

Been to Ponnusamy Chettinad Non-Veg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing