We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food and atmosphere”
Review of Black Pepper

Black Pepper
Ranked #100 of 663 Restaurants in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$38
Description: BLACK PEPPER which promises “It’s More than Just Crab!” specialises in bringing you mouth-watering, authentic dishes from the North, South, East and West of Sri Lanka, presented with a sensational, signature twist!. At the BLACK PEPPER, we honour two local celebrities, which are both special and are highly sought after around the world - Pepper and Crab. Being a multi-cuisine restaurant, our menu is diverse, so take a pick from old favourites to our Chef's own creations. We take pride in offering an outstanding service with an authentic dining experience.
Restaurant details
Description: BLACK PEPPER which promises “It’s More than Just Crab!” specialises in bringing you mouth-watering, authentic dishes from the North, South, East and West of Sri Lanka, presented with a sensational, signature twist!. At the BLACK PEPPER, we honour two local celebrities, which are both special and are highly sought after around the world - Pepper and Crab. Being a multi-cuisine restaurant, our menu is diverse, so take a pick from old favourites to our Chef's own creations. We take pride in offering an outstanding service with an authentic dining experience.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

At black pepper the crab was simply great. We loved the negombo prawns and batticaloa mutton curry. The cuttlefish was a bit of a disappointment for the first time here. We informed the waiter that it was overcooked. The dara poranu paan went down well with the crab and added to the flavor. We simply loved it

Thank Lukshan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Earls R, Manager at Black Pepper, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you Very much for your recent visit and the time taken to write such an wonderful comment. Glad to hear that you enjoyed the mud crabs . We at BLACK PEPPER mud crabs & make sure that they are in best Quality.

Please do visit us again when you are back in Sr Lanka and we look forward to welcome you back.

Best Regards
Hilary Smith
Manager Black Pepper.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

We were originally thinking about going to Ministry of Crab but after reading reviews for this place we decided to give it shot and we weren’t disappointed. We had the jaffna crab curry (it’s priced by the 100g so make sure take that into consideration when ordering or you will get a big surprise when you get the bill - this actually happened to a table while we were there they didn’t realize ) we also had the garlic butter prawns plus bread (you definitely need this to soak up the delicious sauce) It was without a doubt one of the best, most flavorsome meals we had & the service was also really good. Would go back again in a heart beat.

Thank MeredithGibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Earls R, Manager at Black Pepper, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you Very much for your recent visit and the time taken to write such a wonderful comment. Glad to here that you had a great experience on our food and the service staff.

Please do visit us again when you are back in Sri Lanka & we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards.
Hilary Smith.
Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile


After much debate whether or not to eat at the black pepper or the other seafood restaurant just 10m away. We decided to try black pepper. And the experience was not disappointing. They restaurant ambience is good, not too many people when we were there. We ordered hot garlic crab and Negombo clay prawns curry and they were delicious. The prawns and crab were fresh.
The most impressive dining experience was coming from the staff. They are very attentive and took notes on every little thing. We were looked after very well. We will definitely go back when we visit Colombo next time.

Thank Putri F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Earls R, Manager at Black Pepper, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you Very much for your recent visit and the time taken to write such a wonderful comment. Glad to here that you had a great experience on our food and the service staff.

Please do visit us again when you are back in Sri Lanka & we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,
Hilary Smith,
Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018

Even if the prices were European, the food was very good, fresh and professional made. The service was very good.
Overall i can recommend it!

Thank Raizis86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Earls R, Manager at Black Pepper, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the recent visit to Black Pepper - Colombo and the time taken to write such an wonderful comment about our staff, food and Restaurant.

We thank you once again for your feedback and looking forward to well come you at the Black Pepper - Colombo.

Best Regards,
Hillary Smith,
Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

A very good restaurant in the heart of the old town. Located at the Old Dutch Hospital, this restaurant like most around are very busy with tourists and locals. I recommend making a reservation ahead of time so you are not disappointed.

The food was very good, lots of seafood as well as meat and vegetarian options.

The décor is modern and the service is very attentive.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Earls R, Manager at Black Pepper, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2018

Dear Andrew,

Thank you Very much for your recent visit and the time taken to write such a wonderful comment.
Glad to here that you had a great experience on our food.

Please do visit us again when you are back in Sri Lanka & we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,
Hilary Smith,
Manager..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Pepper also viewed

Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 
Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 
Colombo, Western Province
 

Been to Black Pepper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing