We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Poor”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Janaki Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Janaki Hotel
Ranked #43 of 50 Hotels in Colombo
Muscat
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely Poor”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

Totally Unclean, unkept and smelly rooms, leaky bathrooms, noisy or non-working A/c broken TV remote......not a place to stay, Restaurant serves horrible food, and was charged LKR500.00 for the free wifi.

Changed Rooms three times, but all rooms similar. Breakfast served seemed to be stale.

Would NOT RECOMMEND staying at this so called "hotel" for any traveller.

Room Tip: Never rely on websites....make bookings throuhg a local agent, who could be taken to task for provid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Honed T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    10
    20
    11
    17
See reviews for
9
8
4
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Suva, Fiji
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

Stayed at this hotel for a business trip for few days in August 2011. Wouldnt say it to be a great place but ok for business trips where you will be out of the room most of the time. The hotel smelt mold-like and lots of old half broken furniture around the conference room. I particularly didnt like the taste of the food - must be because my Fiji tastes. Basically the hotel needs overall renovation and upgrading particularly rooms, air conditioning etc. the staff were very helpful and friendly - very polite i might add as well. taking a universal charger to charge electronic equipment is mandatory. the hotel's wireless facility was not functioning either

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Shabina29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Islamabad
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

They charged us $95 plus tax. Services against this amount were pathetic. Dirty towels, broken furniture, torn curtains, dirty bathrooms. Worms were floating in the juice served during breakfast. Served stale food in breakfast. The hotel owner is just ripping tourist off. I rented far better hotels in Europe in half price. Surprisingly, this hotel was booked via www.booking.com and I am surprised that why booking.com will have such a fake property.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rageshri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Colombo hotels

Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

I stayed for only two weekend nights and it served its purpose of providing a comfortable bed, a hot shower and a space to relax from the hustle and bustle of Colombo.

Pros:
The room was better than I thought it would be based upon some other people's reviews, and especially the chaotic concrete filled interior/walkways of the building.

Reasonable value for money although this was my first ever trip to Colombo, so I did not know what to compare it with. The twin room was $75 per night but taxes and exchange rates bumped it up to about $80.

Quiet....even though my room faced the main road.

Cons:
The Wi-Fi reception was very poor from the 3rd floor.

The buffet breakfast is not that appetising to look at, especially with many flies landing on the food. The Western styled food was atrocious, but the Sri Lankan food i.e. curries, stringhoppers etc, was quite tasty. The cafe in the front of the hotel is ok, nothing fancy, but if you really are hungry, have a bite.

They charge you for the water that they deliver in your room.

Service: no smiles, but efficient. The security man was very friendly and helpful though.

Not so close to the centre of town, but it was only a 10 minute three-wheeler ride away (About 300-400 rupee to Galle Face area).

Overall: It was close to work, I slept well, and it suited my purposes. I would not necessarily stay here for a holiday, but for a quick business trip it was fine.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aikiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Male
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2011

the room was large, clean and confortable.....with very high speed of internet.
that all was the good thing in the hotel.the pool not so nice,no proper restaurant,we had snack and drink at the bar,while the worker fixing the door,and pipe was leaking around the pool.the breakfast was kind of buffet,but its does'nt look like proper restaurant.
so in the room is just best place to be.

this hotel is just good for bussines peoplle to stay,not for couple or enjoying....and better to go out for eat.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank divadimple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.9 km away
Hotel Sansu
Hotel Sansu
#46 of 50 in Colombo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
2.8 km away
Sai Sea City Hotel (P) Ltd
Sai Sea City Hotel (P) Ltd
#44 of 50 in Colombo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
2.7 km away
Great Southern Hotel (GSH) Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Omega Regency
Omega Regency
#39 of 50 in Colombo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
2.0 km away
Global Towers Hotel
Global Towers Hotel
#31 of 50 in Colombo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
1.5 km away
Ceylon City Hotel
Ceylon City Hotel
#26 of 50 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Janaki Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Janaki Hotel

Property: Janaki Hotel
Address: 43 Fife Road | Havelock Town, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 50 Hotels in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Janaki Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Janaki Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing