We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (579)
Filter reviews
579 results
Traveller rating
358
167
42
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
358
167
42
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews japanese restaurant heated seat food and beverage manager breakfast buffet rooms are large the general manager restaurant staff wonderful hotel ulaan baatar front desk staff business trip central square the wi fi yogurt peace avenue kk sakura
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 579 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2018

The hotel is beautiful. The staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly. The rooms were clean, spacious and comfortable. The pillow were amazing! Food was great and the baklava in the KK lounge was to die for (ordered it every day).

Room Tip: They rooms with king size beds are fantastic.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Raydel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KempinskiUlaanbaatar, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Dear Raydel A,
Thank you for the fabulous five star rating. We are delighted to hear of your memorable experience from your recent stay at Kempinski Hotel Ulaanbaatar.
Your kind comments regarding to our staff, room oppoinments and F&B experience has been warmly received and I will be sure to pass it onto our entire team, especially to our Executive Chef!
It was our pleasure to make sure all of your needs were met and we would love to see you again in the near future.
Yours sincerely,
Oliver Kuhn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2018 via mobile

I am well travelled and stayed in many hotels around the world. This is not a 5* hotel unless for local standard. Room was good size and clean, with really comfy bed, yet our shower was constantly overflowing and so the bathroom floor was constantly wet (and slippery).
Annoying was that we had to call room service for nearly everything... iron board, yes, iron, yes, toiletries (room booked for two but set for one), yes, towels, yes.... In my opinion the staff would benefit from more training, so one would not have to wait 20 mins for suitcase to be delivered to the room when in rush. Also language was a barrier. For example there is a spa in hotel and we have booked 60 mins jet lag massage (from the spa treatments list) only to receive 30 mins back massage. No point to try and explain....
To finish on a positive note however breakfast was really nice, great choice of food and drinks, including fresh juice and power shots!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Filizanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KempinskiUlaanbaatar, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2018

Dear Filizanka,
We appreciate you choosing us and providing valuable feedback about your stay and we are pleased that our staff provided great service, and that you loved our room amenities and our buffet breakfast spread. Our goal is for each guest to leave completely satisfied, and we are disheartened to learn that some aspects of our property did not meet this goal during your visit. Thank you again for sharing your observation. We hope to welcome you back in near future to provide you with the outstanding experience Kempinski is known for.
Yours sincerely,
Oliver Kuhn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2018 via mobile

I stayed here because my friend is a black member of the kempinski hotel club... The hotel is in my opinion a 3.5-4 hotel. Very friendly staff and always there and ready to help with whatever you need. The building is old and needs an overhaul if it wants to be a better rated hotel in my opinion. You need to ask if.ypur room is in a noisy area.. the food was good, breakfast and lunch. The bar is nice and again very friendly staff.
The cleaning ladies were either unprofessional or trying to save money for the management. I used up the body wash several times and kept it on the floor of the shower and it ended up back in the rotation, second time I threw it in the bathtub and again put in the spot where the others are and it was empty. A bit strange.
Perhaps for the fact that it's in Mongolia it thinks it's a 5 star hotel.. but done expect too much.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
Thank dennistei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KempinskiUlaanbaatar, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Dear dennistei,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. We are glad to know that you enjoyed our renowned Kempinski service. Also thank you for commending our F&B out-lets & buffet breakfast spread. Please allow me to thank on behalf of our staff for your recommendation to their efforts.
We are saddened to learn that your stay with us was less then exceptional in some areas. Rest assured that your recent experience clearly does not reflect our usual attention to detail and overall hotel services.
We sincerely appreciate your comments and look forward to welcoming you back at Kempinski Ulanbaatar in the near future.
Yours sincerely,
Oliver Kuhn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2018 via mobile

We went to Kempinski for a business trip.
Everything was good: staff are lovely, room is big and clean, the restaurants offer a big selection of dishes and the bar is nice.
Very professional and dedicated team, the hotel’s location is near by the CBD.
Excellent value

Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
Thank Guillaume G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KempinskiUlaanbaatar, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2018

Dear Guillaume G,
Thank you for your time sharing the experience of your recent stay at Kempinski Ulaanbaatar.
I am thrilled to read that your stay was fantastic all around! Your valuable feedback is what drives us to continuing deliver exceptional services to all guests!
I look forward to welcome you back again at Kempinski Ulaanbaatar in near future.
Yours sincerely,
Oliver Kuhn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2018 via mobile

We visited UB and decided to book at Kempinski because prices are interesting for an international 5 stars hotel. The location is pretty good, all taxi drivers know the hotel and could drive us to it very easily.

Reception received us very well even if we showed up 3 hours earlier.

The bedroom is spacious, really clean and the housekeeping lady was so nice.

Many options for food in the hotel: European cooking - sooo good
Mongolian food - the best we had in town
Lounge bar - awesome cocktails
Japanese restaurant - yummy
Tepanyaki - 20$ for a beef wagyu !!

All restaurants were excellent and the staff, no word to describe their kindness.

We have been helped for every need or thought we had while organizing our trip in the area.
Thank you for the experience, we felt like home .

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Manar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KempinskiUlaanbaatar, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2018

Dear Manar K,
Thank you very much for sharing such glowing feedback of your experience at Kempinski Ulaanbaatar, it was great to read that you were able to enjoy so many of the hotels facilities & renowned Kempinski service during your recent stay with us. Your comments are a true inspiration to the team!
Thank you again Manar, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Kempinski Ulaanbaatar again in the near future.
Yours sincerely,
Oliver Kuhn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews